We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for 3 days in a one bed room suite on 11th floor. The hotel has a very central location and it was with in walking distance from National Mall and White House. The staff was very helpful and coordial. The morning breakfast was very good. We will stay again if we visit Washingon again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heatflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    1,103
    273
    87
    30
See reviews for
900
688
150
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I brought our ten year old son to DC for Spring Break March 9-13, 2014. We shopped hotels extensively, because rates were outrageous the week we were in town, and we wanted a location near everything and especially the Metro. This hotel was right across from the McPherson Square Blue/Orange line. We had to walk about half a block to get to it due to needing to go to the crosswalk and back around, but it was very close. The immediate neighborhood had a Five Guys, Cosi, Pret a Manger and a CVS very near. We walked to quite a few things and took the Metro all over town. The lobby was small, but had coffee, fruited water, and oat bars set out for guests coming and going. There was a lobby restaurant but we didn't eat there. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. We upgraded to a suite, which had a sitting area with sofa bed and tv divided by the closed off-bathroom from the bedroom with a king sized bed and separate tv. This was good for our family's sleeping arrangements. The hotel had an indoor pool and exercise facility, but we didn't use it since we were too busy sightseeing. The hotel's staff were very helpful. Our room was 417--it was low and in the back. Monday morning's trash pickup was very loud, but it was fairly quiet for a city hotel, all-in-all. Our only complaint, outside of hotel costs for the week we were there, was the wifi was not very reliable, although they said they'd just upgraded. It may be that our room was too far from the access point, but I wouldn't plan on doing serious bandwidth activities. There was a hard-wired option, but we were all using tablets. Overall, the hotel was comfortable and definitely did the job of providing a good home base for a family vacation to the nation's Capitol!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FtworthMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel was pleasant with nice and clean accommodations, however, the kingsize bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful and the overall ambience was very welcoming. I appreciated the complimentary internet service and in room microwave and refrigerator. Aside from the hard bed everything else was quite pleasant. I do wish the hotel would consider changing its mattresses if the one I had was typical for the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

the capitol garden inn is truly a premier venue, everything or place for business or vacation is within walking distance or the metro; the staff and the services are excellent and the facility is top notch. I have stayed there at least a 6 times and have never been disapointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Staff was friendly, except the hostess in the restaurant.. She was rude. Pool is really small and the sitting area is even smaller, not to mention it was cold (the pool room). First morning they were out of coffee, by time they refilled it, they put away their creamer. Room service was ok. French onion soup was good, grilled cheese was horrible. Maid cleaned up our room, but then came back later (while we were in room) to see if the room was done. She knocked quick then used key to enter room. We barely had time to say anything before she was almost in the room. Overall, valet and concierge were friendly, I could do without everything else. Wouldn't stay here again...

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Strongly recommended for the people which is looking for hotel in downtown DC. Free internet in room and Lobby and always have free coffe/tea service in Lobby. Location is very good. I strongly recommend this otel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Huseyin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is right across from the metro station which is nice. All major tourist attractions are within 2 miles. We walked to all with no issues. Room is small but cozy. Pool is tiny.

The highlight is the staff. Every one of them were very friendly and helpful.

The lowlight is the cost. I understand DC is expensive. Any other city this is a $129/night hotel. The other major lowlight is that there is a park about 200 yards away just filled with homeless people. We experienced no problems at all but it just felt like we had to be extra vigilant walking around with our nine year old.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jwertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing