We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Rate for a mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the location. One of the best in town. But I paid a high rate for both the room and for parking. I found out I paid at least $100 more than other guests.!!!!! I tried to negotiate a better rate and they would not offer me anything. Not even one night free parking. Pool was not a pool - it was a bathtub. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The food in the restaurant was nothing to brag about. Restaurant is ugly. Looks like a high end cafeteria. The buffet area was not appetizing. Comfort inn has a better buffet area than this hotel and Comfort Inn is not as expensive as this hotel. Overall, the staff is great the hotel value sucks for what you get. I've stayed at other hotels at the same rate and have had better experience than this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Vincenza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

I appreciate the review regarding your recent stay with us.

Located in the heart of Washington, DC space is a premium. Our pool is not large enough to do laps but good as a place to let kids burn off some extra energy. Our parking rates are actually lower than comparable hotels in our area.

Rates do vary from when you book, day of arrival, and length of stay. There is not just one flat rate. Staying Monday-Thursday is going to be the most expensive for any length of stay.

Thank you for your comments regarding out staff. We hope you will consider staying with us when the city is not in such high demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,566 of 3,054 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very clean and quiet (I am very picky on noise - and this hotel turns out OK). Requested for a quiet room facing back and got a room next to linen and ice vending machine. The room must have very good sound insulation, so it turns out OK. There was a constant background noise, seems to be central air. Very occasionally siren in the distant. The garbage truck makes big noise between 6 and 7 but I usually already woke up by then so it did not bother me. Very good location. 20 minutes walk to the mall. Metro is right cross the street. Cab fare is less than $10 to the Capitol or Lincoln Memorial, or union square. Excellent service, front desk is very helpful, so is the conceige. The pool is small but very nice. Breakfast is good. Love the omelet. Dinner on the first day is OK, not much choices though. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, we ordered delivery the remaining days. Overall, this will be my first choice to DC when visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesriver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

2 1/2 blocks to White House, 15 minute walk to the museums, 30 minutes to the Tidal Basin. What a perfect location! Arrived at the hotel at 11am. We had requested 2 double beds and they didn't have a room ready yet. We told them we just wanted to get checked in and really didn't care about the bed set-up and they happily found us a room with one king bed that was ready. Room was clean, good size, and had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe. Bed was comfortable. Need your room card to get the elevator to go to your floor - a security feature I like! Concierge was super friendly and booked us a private car and driver back to the airport that was the same price as a cab! Reasonably priced compared to the other hotels in the same area.

Room Tip: Some street noise if you face the front but ear plugs are thoughtfully supplied in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqlynnToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very good service, very good location, friendly, but ear plugs in room for a reason, very street noisy........new windows would do wonders............staff very good, right across the street from Metro!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street would be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwest2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked two rooms months in advance. Spoke to Hilton Honors and hotel staff requesting high room and rooms connected. Hotel staff assured me all would be right. Upon check-in, we got a second floor room. Traffic noise from street was bad. Hotel had no other rooms that would keep rooms together. Hotel staff should have made better accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review are hotel.

I am sorry that the room configuration was not what you expected. We assigned the adjoining rooms per your request however by the time you arrived, we could not find the same layout elsewhere in the hotel. We do our best to honor all requests and we offer some options the next day.

Please let me know the next time you visit Washington. I would like the opportunity to earn your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I'd call this hotel average. I was excited by the seemingly lower prices for suites, but they are shoebox-small with one small interior courtyard window in the bedroom so a bit claustrophobic. When I called about it, I was told that all suites only had one interior window. The hotel was also a bit less kid-friendly than I thought -- the room service menu is tied to the restaurant, which has nothing like a kids menu, so we were forced to get delivery pizza. The food options were sparse for adults as well. The indoor pool was tiny, but the 6-year-old (and the other 5 kids in it) did not mind at all. The bathrooms are fairly small and we had some issues with the rooms not being entirely cleaned (and we were switched for that). The beds were some very soft take on tempur-pedic so a bit uncomfortable and not supportive. The location was very good, across from the metro and on the Smithsonian line. The front desk staff were generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

We will look at some creative ways we can implement to make the hotel more kid friendly. We do offer a kids menu in the restaurant which may not be displayed in the rooms. On the weekends we will offer movies in the ballroom by the pool if not in use which during the week you may have missed.

I hope you will come back and see us to see the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location, good breakfast, great rooms. Ask for a room away from the street—there's a park a block away that has regular dance weekend parties—that's not bad, but many drivers honk their horns passing the fun. That's bad. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,652 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £86 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing