We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place just opened apparently and they appear to have learned that to stay ahead of the stiff competition they need to do things right. Perfect location. Super nice staff. Non run of the mill decor. And good rooms. Spacious, comfortable--and an amazing bathroom with one of the best-designed sliding doors I've seen in hotel room. Kudos to the architect and designer, and if all goes well they'll keep this good thing going.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views on the backs of other buildings; some face the city. More fun if you're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortimer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 3,049 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend to do some sightseeing around the National Mall area. Our room was very clean and tidy. The staff were polite and professional. Our bed was quite uncomfortable. I probably should have requested another room, "My Bad". As was mentioned by other reviews, you will hear quite a bit of street noise, after all you in heart of a major metropolitan area.

We had breakfast in their restaurant which was quite good. There is a Metro Station directly across the street which makes it very convenient for Sightseeing. If you bring a car, you are required to use their valet parking which is rather pricey, but everything in this city is expensive. Upon leaving, the doorman dashed inside and brought us several bottles of water for our trip home. If we were to go back to this area again, I certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobandbarbMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel for a family trip to Washington DC. The location is great. Literally 5 minutes from The White House.
We particularly liked the concierge service, with a guy named Jon. He gave us great suggestions of what to do and how to get to specific places. He also recommended very good cabs, and ways to save money.

Room Tip: We were on the 13th floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artbusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

One of the friendliest Hiltons, free upgrade to a suite! Nice adequate rooms but could do with a refresh. Good restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Very good location, just a block from the White House. Some good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GourmetNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On 14th Ave at H St, its close to everything, including the Metro. The blue line's McPherson Square Station is directly across the street from the hotel. The White House is only a few blocks away and there are coffee shops and cafe's everywhere. There's a self-serve sundry's shop (with reasonable prices - $1.50/bottled water) a lobby bar and restaurant. Coffee (regular, decaf and hot water for tea) are available - free - in the lobby 24/7.

The beds are comfortable as are the pillows. The in-room A/C is slightly louder than it should be, but tolerable. There's a Keurig coffee maker in the room, but mine DIDN'T work. Typically, a HUGE disappointment, but not at this hotel. I, simply, went to the lobby and brought several cups of coffee to my room.

The shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soap are top quality: Neutrogena. Plenty of towels, but don't expect luxurious bath towels. The ones in my room were average size and rough to the touch. The bathroom was spacious, with an operable hair dryer.

There was a mini-fridge and a safe. The LG TV was large with lots of cable channels. There were lots of electric outlets within easy reach of my two beds for charging my devices, overnight. My room was quite quiet and I got a good night's sleep - and, the 3 business associates that I booked at this hotel for our meetings told me the same thing.

A comfortable stay and a good night's sleep for busy business travelers (like me) often depends on the hotel's attention to detail. Although pricey, this hotel pays attention to detail and is located in the "heart" of the Nation's Capital. It's worth the price and I'll be back. Well done, Hilton Garden Inn DC!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
7  Thank Thomz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in a King Suite for 3 nights in early June 2014. The hotel is pleasant in most ways. Great location, clean, free lobby coffee, free wi-fi. My main issue was the room itself. It was a suite, but there was only windows in the sleeping area, so the sitting area really felt like a dungeon - not enough natural light. The window in the sleeping area was facing another building. The other shortcoming, in my view, is the gym. Again, no windows, very tiny. It's fine if you just go on one of the machines, which looked nice, but not really usable for weights, stretching, etc. It's a really small gym with a lot of stuff jammed in there. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The subway with access to blue and orange lines is literally across the street.

Room Tip: I'm guessing some rooms on street side of the building will have more light. Unfortunately, mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is great. Located close to the white house and the mall; there are not too many bars in the area but I did find one 1 block towards the WH and two or 3 blocks down; didnt try the hotel bar. Location is great though for a family if it is in your budget. The business center was not that great but the staff was awesome and a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Bradbieberusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
2,648 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £86 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing