We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel in quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,239 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Good hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

You may not find this hotel on most tourist maps. It is about a 15 minute walk from metro at either Dupont Circle or Farragut North. Also 15 minute walk to Georgetown. Nice place, can get good deal using 3rd party booking sites on weekends. Pool on top floor is neat, but its really small [only 3 ft deep]. We did not use restaurant, but a lot of people did, so I am guessing its good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    1,095
    266
    84
    30
See reviews for
888
681
148
622
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clean hotel. Busy, great location. Service was fantastic. Even though it was a busy hotel on a busy street, we did not have trouble sleeping. Our room's windows overlooked the area between two buildings so no major street noise. Do the valet parking. Breakfast and lobby super active on a Sunday morning at 9am (but I think that's normal for this area for this time of year). We would stay here again when we visit DC. Close to so many attractions!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows that look onto 14th St if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsfallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Staff friendly and helpful Always greeted Room was clean and fresh Convenient location Quality of food was good Check out and check in quick and easy Value in comparison to other city locations Security of vehicle was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in this great hotel on business and personal trips. It is a short walk to the White House and many other attractions. Only a few blocks from the old Ebbitt grill which is a great place to eat with local atmosphere. The hotel has a fantastic happy hour in a great setting with very low prices on appetizers and drinks around the fireplace and nice Lounge area. You really can't find a better value for your money in this great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shreveporttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great hotel with a friendly staff. Called me by name after the first day. Location is excellent. Food is good. Rooms are clean and ample. The hotel has a garage but you do not need a car as the metro station is across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jo R. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved this hotel! It's in the perfect location - walking distance to the White House, across the street from a metro station (McPherson), near other metro stations, walking distance of lots of restaurants and shops, and more. There's a restaurant and bar in the hotel that is a little pricey but decent. There is a 24 hour pantry where you can buy water bottles (the vending machines don't have water, at least the ones on my floor didn't). My one negative of this hotel is that at the other 2 Hilton hotels I've stayed at this year (Hilton Garden Inn Times Square and Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall) I've been given 2 free water bottles everyday, and at the NYC one I even got a free cupcake upon arrival. At this DC Hilton Garden Inn, there was no free water. The rooms were a decent size, shower fine (although water pressure wasn't what I'm used to at home), the view was decent, and the rooms were clean. The AC worked (a plus in a DC summer) and the staff was very nice. I would definitely stay here again and I had a very enjoyable 6 nights here (7/17-7/23/14). Thanks Hilton Garden Inn for a great experience!

Room Tip: My room was facing 14th St. away from the elevator on the 8th floor (non-smoking as well). It was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad4oboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The staff are very helpful with a nice sense of humour. Within walking distance to quite a few of the attractions plus a subway directly across the road. I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again if I was to visit Washington.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor facing the street and it is very quiet of a night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing