We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Very Nice - Staff Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United States
1 review
“Hotel Very Nice - Staff Very Good”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and totally accommodating through our stay from check-in to transportation for our group. We were in a group of 10 and did not book a block of rooms together but the staff did a great job in getting our rooms close. The rooms décor is updated and they were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Olga Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,142
    283
    90
    34
See reviews for
937
709
154
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight to avoid having to drive home late at night after a friends party. Initially I chose it because it was close to metro but we later chose not to utilize metro at all, though next time we would.

Staff was friendly, even when we ended up parking our own car in the valet only garage--which I don't recommend doing. It was totally accidental on our part. We didn't know and garage said for guests only. Even though I'm sure they were annoyed with us they didn't let it show.
We got a king room which I felt was reasonably priced. Room was great. Clean. Great bed and shower. Can't comment on pillows as I bring my own. Only complaint is there wasn't a fan in bathroom. I opened the door a crack both times I took a hot shower and both times the smoke detector went off which is located right above the bath door. It looked like someone tried to remove the outer case of the detector before our arrival so I'm assuming this has happened to others as well.

Their restaurant has surprisingly good food. Crab cakes with no filler. Flatbread pizza app was yummy as was calamari. Can't comment much on drinks. Hubby had wine and I had a mixed drink that wasn't great but not by their fault. I chose the rail special and there's def a difference in rail vodka Vs grey goose.

Very convenient to downtown sites . We walked to White House, monument and holocaust museum. Spent $98 on double decker bus which was ok but not great. Only did one loop as we had time constraints but slot of that time on bus was sitting in traffic. But it's a good way to get around if you want to see everything. There's a few stops close to hotel. We would def utilize again if we stayed more than one day.

Parking was about $43 I think. I think next time we would take metro in. Valet hailed a cab for us to get to our party. Was abt $10 from hotel to get to Columbia heights.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah9540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Good concierge, reception, room cleaning. Quality 3 stars OK. But breakfast is not adaequate and breakfast service by some women (best service by to men garson). We were there for 8 days. Very good located at McPherson Square Metro.



Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden. Staff was very kind--especially the Concierge. We were within walking distance to most of the sites in DC. This hotel only has King size and Double beds. As we were 4 people we needed 2 beds. Double beds are small for 2 adults and they were very uncomfortable. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Grist Mill. The food was good and reasonably priced. We would highly recommend the Hilton Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights in DC with my 16 year old son and the HGI downtown was our base camp.

From check in to check out I was impressed with the customer service offered by the front desk employees. Allie worked every day during our stay and wowed us with her customer service. We also had positive interaction with Daniel at the front desk.

Rooms were clean, bright and up to date. Breakfast buffet / staff met expectations.

Location was perfect for walking the sights in DC.

I highly recommend this property for your next stay in DC.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bikeuphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and it was fine for our purposes. Check in could have been better - we arrived early and were told to come back at 3pm which is the official check in time. I arrived back at 3.30 and our rooms were not ready. Had to wait until after 4pm. Staff were friendly and helpful. Clean and comfortable. Street noise is a problem with a brass band playing on the corner at 7am. Out of the hotel's control but as we were on the 8th floor we didn't expect so much noise from the street. Lots of sirens going all the time and I guess Washington is just a really noisy city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

No issues recommending this hotel whatsoever. It isn't anything fancy but a reasonably new room and good service made it a great striking out point for touring DC. My only issue is the valet parking which at $39+tax/night is a bit steep. Cost of convenience. There is also a lot of road noise but they do provide ear plugs free of charge if you need them! Our family doesn't have issues with street noise so we were fine.

The kids enjoyed the hotel - and the proximity to attractions is extremely convenient. Nothing specific to the hotel but there are a lot of homeless people in downtown DC - it was a bit surprising to me. We never felt unsafe but the kids got to hear some colorful profanity when people didn't contribute to the panhandling. I'm not sure much of it was coherent to them but I sure understood it!

We had a great meal in the restaurant which I'll review separately. Recommend the Spy Museum and Newseum if you are looking for more family friendly activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing