We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Cookies waiting for you each night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm Cookies waiting for you each night.”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Reallly small cozy hotel downtown...with warm cookies that were always waiting for us...we had an ongoing joke with the front desk...when we'd come in...they would say we kept these cookies waiting just for you...they were warm chocolate chip cookies...it was a good way to end our day.

Our room was quiet and clean...late one night we heard lots of noise down on the street...it was an alley...we called the front desk...and within minutes it was quiet again...we never heard anymore noise after that night.

Found the CVS...good find...just down the street...cheaper to get snacks and supplies here...the DC store is more like a grocery store.

Across from the hotel there is a restaurant and the underground train....since everything downtown closes around 4pm...we got salads and fruit from the restaurant and keep it in our fridge.

We were two ladies out in DC...so we took caution, since it was downtown...but having the train just across the street made it an easy run into our hotel at night.

My suggestion to you...is to find the restaurants and the attractions you want to go to and plan your day....everything opens and closes at different times...you need to get tickets far in advance for some attractions....some places you can only get to one way...so make sure you have all your ducks in a row....it sucks to get almost there...only to find out you missed the last bus by just minutes.

Wear wore comfy shoes...cause you never know...one day we figured out we had walked over 5 miles.

Best place to eat..."Old Ebbitt Grill"...great crab cakes and burgers.
Best view to have a drink..."Sky Terrace" at the Hotel Washington.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Basques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,142
    284
    90
    34
See reviews for
937
709
154
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

The hotel was good in terms of location. everything was in close proximity but the sound from the road was so loud that it really didnt give us much time to enjoy the hotel. but the fact that it was centrally located was one good thing that made our money worth. but if someone is really looking for a romantic getaway or something i dont recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ajay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Mattress and bed linens were great, room was nice, very good location BUT my room was on the back side and the beeping sound of garbage trucks in the alley starting at 4:30 a.m. was horrible. Make sure you are picky about the room location you reserve.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tropical33301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Stayed here at the end of March to see the Pompeii exhibit. This Hotel is great! We walked
to everything and our room was quite nice. Staff was very friendly and we felt completely safe staying in this section of downtown D.C. Will stay here again next time we visit Washington.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec City, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We wanted to be near all the major DC attractions. The HGI was indeed the perfect location for our family getaway, 2 blocks away from the White house and within walking distance of the all the museums situated on the Mall and 6 blocks away from the Verizon Center. The staff was welcoming. Front desk very efficent. Maids polite and friendly. The hotel has an indoor pool which the kids loved after a day visiting. The room was standard size and well appointed with a large flat screen tv and free Internet. The parking fee is expansive ($30/night), so we used it only on the first night and took advantage of free parking on the street during the weekend to save some $. The Metro is just accross the street. The neighboorhood is clean and safe, so we would definitely go back to the Hilton Garden Inn at Franklin Square.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juneau67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

For the price you cannot beat it. We prepaid for 140 a night for 3 nights and we loved our stay. Arrived a Reagan got on the metro and 10 mins later we are at the hotel right across the street. The rooms were very nice for a 3 star hotel and we loved the bed and pillows. The staff was relatively good and helpful. I do not know about the noise factor complaints, but we did not notice. I do not think you can always blame the hotel for the people staying across from you. You’re in the city and the rooms are close to each other. Sometimes you just luck out.

Location!!!!
We walked 5 mins to the White House and Ebbit grill one day and on the next to the Oceanaire Restaurant the next day was about 10 mins. Hop on the Metro and 3 stops later your in the Mall area. The only time we really took a taxi form the Hotel is to Georgetown and the National Cathedral because the Metro does not go there

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beanersts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My wife and I have stayed in a number of hotels in and about the Capital District during the last few years. For this weekend visit (March 27-29, 2009, during Cherry Blossom Festival), we decided to stay at this HGI once again – we previously stayed there in February 2008. I must say that once again, we were quite pleased with our stay at this hotel.

The plusses: Location – The hotel is in a great location for visiting DC. The National Mall is just a few blocks away, as is the White House. Theatres are also nearby as are museums (this time we visited the newly refurbished Museum of American History on the Mall – crowded with families, but good. The hotel is across the street from the McPherson Square Metro stop. There are many dining options within easy walking distance. For dinner we tried the Bistro D’oc (the steak frites was very good) and DC Coast (very good but somewhat pricey). Both were within blocks of the HGI. Room rate: we got a reasonable “Double Points, Double Miles” Hilton Honors promo rate (under $140), 'reasonable' especially considering it was Cherry Blossom time in DC. The bed was comfortable and the wide screen high definition TV and refrigerator and microwave were plusses. We did not have any noise issues at all. The breakfast buffet, which is included if you are a HHonors member (otherwise it’s $15), was really quite good. The dining room was very pleasant and the service was attentive.

The decor of the refurbished hotel was tasteful and our eleventh floor room overlooking 14th Street (not much of a scenic view) was OK. I’m not sure what the rooms not overlooking 14th Street have as a view (alleyways, or, based on other reviews, a brick wall, perhaps?), so I’d be sure to request a street view room on a high floor (as I did). We had more than enough space in which to feel comfortable. There is free internet (hard wired and WiFi) which should be standard in hotels but in many cases is not. The staff (housekeeping, valet parking, front desk, restaurant) was very attentive, helpful and friendly.

The minuses: The valet parking was a pricey ($30), but that’s a given in DC. The small exercise room had only four pieces of older equipment, no weights and was inadequate in my wife’s opinion. We once again enjoyed our stay in this hotel and being in this part of town.
As I’ve stated previously, this HGI is certainly one of the better DC hotel options, taking various factors (price, location, value . . .) into consideration.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ENBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
956 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,143 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,929 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing