We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where did they find these people?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
23060
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“where did they find these people?”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We were told that this Hotel was located next to the D.C Mall...it is not. It is located in a nice area close to a Metro Station, White House and many fine restaurants but that is not what we were sold. The room was clean enough but the air conditioning was loud and ineffective. My real problem with this place was the unbelievably bad service. The people who work here act as if they are doing us a favor just being there. I can't understand how these rude people found jobs in the service industry. It was the worst hotel experiance I've ever had.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 111010011000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    1,153
    286
    91
    34
See reviews for
950
716
154
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Location is excellent for visiting museums and to see the white house, howevere there aren't that many GOOD restaurants nearby. Rooms are spacious although little worn out. Air conditioning loud as well as the traffic outside (take your earplugs with you). Pillows and linen were not 100 percent cotton, which made them too hot and sweaty. The amenities were good (neutrogena). Reception staff was friendly and helpful (especially Michael).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matkailija58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, air conditioning was lovely on the boiling hot days, reception staff were quick, friendly and efficient and the location was great just a few blocks from the white house and across the road from a metro station. Also plenty of restaurants around and fast food places. I really find it hard to find something bad to say, maybe just that breakfast wasn't included in the price and when we did go for breakfast there was a queue but we weren't bothered. Also I loved the Internet room with free access and printing and a 24 hour snack room selling sandwiches, pasta and chocolate etc next to reception.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Thanks Cardiff, that is great to hear! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us next time you are in the States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The location is wonderful for sight-seeing in DC. Across the street from a Metro stop and within walking distance to the Mall. The hotel was clean, not lavish, but comfortable. The staff was exceptionally friendly. The only complaint was noise from the street late at night, stay on an upper floor (we were on the 3rd).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partyoffive_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
We appreciate your comments, Orlando, and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn on 14th Street in Downtown DC is a great value if you're coming in to DC to do some sightseeing. It's only 4-5 blocks to the National Mall and monuments, there are a variety of places to eat nearby for any budget, the room was clean and spacious (especially for a downtown hotel), and the staff was friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayhawkinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Hello Boston! We're pleased that you found the hotel so comfortable and convenient. The proximity to the Metro, White House, and museums makes getting around a snap! Please visit us again, and "Rock Chalk Jayhawks!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We have no complaints about our stay at the hotel. The kids loved the lower level indoor pool, the rooms were clean, staff was very friendly, buffet and even dinner one night was good (try the crab cakes!), location was absolutely perfect! We didn't use the metro...didn't need to, even with 2 small kids and 3 teenagers that our friends traveled with. Took the bus one day from Union Station (only $1!!) and got off only about 2 blocks or so from the hotel. Near great restaurants too. For the price, location, this is a great choice! Will definitely recommend them to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
MommyJoy,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel, and thank you for the kind words. That circulator bus is an easy and inexpensive way to get around (it goes to Georgetown, too), and picks up just a short block from the hotel.

We're delighted to hear you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We only stayed for two nights but the hotel and rooms were 5 star. Very large rooms, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and made room to store our bikes over night. The food in the hotel is amazing.

Fantastic location! We will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
LadyDiana1, we really do try hard and we're pleased you had such a lovely time! Chef Christopher Willis is great at cooking up some flavorful meals; he's our little hidden gem.

Safe travels, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
975 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,962 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing