We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, clean but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This is a downtown Hotel, very close to the White House which is fantastic, especially when the weather conditions are awful. There are some CVS nearby, Starbucks coffee is just one square away.

Rooms are spacious enough and clean.Unlike our 2008 trip to Miami, the sheets and the towels were changed everyday and they made the beds everyday. We found the microwave and the coffe maker quite useful (they provided us with free coffe and tea). Free WIFI was very convenient as well.

One aspect we absolutely disliked was the annoying noise of the heating. We had to configure it several times which was really uncomfortable. They need to improve this aspect. Another bad point was the static electricity located in the room, we were really worried about this.

Receptionist staff were helpful.

It seems to be an appropriate hotel for business people. I just found it expensive, but if we take into consideration that this is America and Washington is a nice city, It's worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeppelin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,942)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,390 - 2,396 of 2,942 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

Just returned from 3 nights at Hilton Garden Inn. Great hotel. Great service. We had a few problems during the stay but they were addressed immediately and graciously by the management team. They take the 100% satisfaction guarantee very seriously. There was a little street noise but otherwise everything was excellent. We booked room throught Hilton website and got fantastic rate. The only downside is the parking charge of $40 per night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

This hotel is easy to locate when entering the fast-paced DC area. As soon as we drove up, our car was greeted by 2 very nice valet who quickly started to unload and escort us inside to the front desk. Our room was ready and very clean and fairly spacious. Nothing very fancy about the lobby or bar/restaurant, but it has a cozy feeling with a fireplace and comfy sofas and chairs. Plenty of space for wireless connections, too. Breakfast was a very wide array of offerings and be sure to ask which rate includes it in your room cost. You'll end up saving a little by doing this. The coffee is wonderful and it's in the lobby in the morning and at night. Everyone we encountered could not have been more courteous or helpful. A tip: if you planning to stay and tour on the day you check out, keep your car in their garage until 4pm and pay an additional $16. It's much better than trying to find parking or worse yet, having to move your car every 2 hours if you do.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We just came back from a trip to DC where we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 3 nights. It was exactly what we were looking for and we will absolutely book this hotel whenever we return to the city.

Pros: Amazing customer service. Very friendly and kind service staff. Made our stay very enjoyable. Clean rooms, excellent maid service. The location was perfect. It was close to all the main attractions as well as having a Metro station across the street. The restaurant was good and the breakfast was excellent with a good variety including custom made omelets, eggs and Belgian waffles. The beds were very comfortable and I slept very good. Internet was free (big plus!).

Cons: Franklin Square is on the next block and full of homeless people at night. We walked by it one night and that was enough to insure we didnt do so again. But it wouldnt deter me from staying at this hotel again. The pool was small and the water colder than I expected. Otherwise no other cons.

I highly recommend this hotel. I felt very at home and will absolutely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rome904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stay at HGI's all over the country and have never had a bad experience, so we were concerned after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. However from check-in to check-out (Dec 22 to 25) we received nothing but prompt, courteous and helpful service.
Room was clean and comfortable and on the 13th Floor we heard little street noise.
Breakfast good and we had room service one night when we were just too tired to go out again after sight-seeing all day - no complaint with food quality and service received.
We shall be returning to DC soon and will have no hesitation in booking at the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyoBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

After spending way too much time on TripAdvisor evaluating DC hotels for a 4-day winter tourism trip with my two teenage / pre-teenage children, I ended up booking at HGI because of fabulous location, great rate, and hot breakfast included. (I was also in the mood for a more laid-back hotel than a super-luxury experience, which I don't usually find worth the extra money.) We've been here 24 hours, and so far all has been great. Staff very efficient, helpful when questions asked if not initially super warm. Great breakfast, including a very friendly manager on duty announcing this morning's arrival of Santa Claus. Couldn't be better location a 3 block walk from the White House and across the street from the Metro which goes to Reagan airport. Comfortably sized room with free Internet, 50+ channels of TV, and $120 per night to house all of us and feed us in the morning (no small feat with teenage boys). Though on a weekend the area gets pretty quiet at night, all seems very safe to walk freely in the evenings. Hopefully the good trip will continue!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The men at the front desk are cheery and make you feel welcome so you think you will have a lovely stay. Not the case thanks to certain staff persons.

Women at the reception or house-keeping need training. Front desk lady, is rude and lacks professional behavior and was unable to communicate to house-keeping that rooms had to be cleaned. First time, I let it pass, but the second time, reception just ignored me.

House-keeping is a bumbling mess. They dont get to your room until after 3pm (a joke really). Hilton, you need to hire more people? Or you need to track the people to make sure they are actually cleaning and not watching Y & R. House-keeping braged into our room (knowing we were in the room) without knocking and opened the bathroom door where my husband was. How rude! So embarassing was this situation for her and us. Next time, knock on the door people!

Luckily, the manager was aware of the rude staff person (probably not the first time) and poor house-keeping and he offered us one night free (good for the company!) and wine and cheeze platter. We were appreciative of this kindness.

Thanks to the manager he did let us know that this behavior was unacceptable for Hilton standards. Knowing there are quality people like him on board, we will stay at HGI again. But, what a bad experience to say the least.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyagerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £105 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing