We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare taste of Thai street food in DC”
Review of Beau Thai

Beau Thai
Ranked #320 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beau Thai is a Washington, DC restaurant serving authentic, fresh & delicious Thai cuisine. We are open for lunch & dinner 7 days a week, feature a full bar of craft cocktails, wine & beer, and offer dine-in, delivery & carryout service. Since opening in 2010, the restaurant has earned accolades from loyal customers & critics alike.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rare taste of Thai street food in DC”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I came to this Beau Thai location for their brunch - they serve Thai-style breakfast on the weekends. I was extremely excited to find rice porridge and their version of fried bananas in the city, though they definitely put a Western spin on everything. My favorites were the rice porridge and the little coconut cakes, one of my favorite Thai street foods. They obviously weren't cooked the traditional way, but I can't blame them for not having all the specialized equipment fired up for the 1 in 10 people who come into their restaurant and order that every weekend. I would return for the rare tastes of street food, and enjoy myself, though I would probably lament the inauthenticity.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Good Thai Place”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Quaint little place not too far from the mall and reasonably priced. Had the pad thai and curry and both were above average!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ralter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood Thai”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Neighborhood Thai place, very typical menu done nicely but not exceptional. Order delivery from here frequently and they are always friendly and fast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCdArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good little Thai place”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good local Thai restaurant with some special dishes of their own plus old standbys. We ate there twice--one in the restaurant, and once as take-out. Both times food was well-prepared. I am a West Coast person and there are Thai restaurants all over the place, but this stacked up well against other Thai meals I've had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHCNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
213 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious Hot Stuff”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were recommended by family who live in the neighborhood as a place to get good Thai food, and it didn't disappoint. We took advantage of happy hour drink prices and were surprised at how reasonable the menu items were priced. Shrimp cake appetizers were very tasty, as were our entrees of drunken noodles and a hot & spicy noodle bowl. The waitress recommended rice noodles over the egg noodles, and we concur. The coconut ice cream and mango sticky rice desserts were good ways to top off the meal. A word of caution, however: we found the "heat rating" of our dishes to warrant caution for those not accustomed to how spicy Thai food can be. Beau Thai's "medium" was pretty firey, the equivalent of a #5 in our regular Thai haunts on the West Coat. It's a heat that doesn't destroy the flavors, but it was hot! By the way, it's located at 3162 Mt. Pleasant St. NW in DC.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeadingOut98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beau Thai also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Beau Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing