We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled with girls Volleyball team for tournament”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Ranked #109 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
chesapeake
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Traveled with girls Volleyball team for tournament”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

8 families stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a volleyball tournament held at the convention center in DC. Dee with the hotel went over and above to make our stay the best. She was most helpful in booking our rooms and making sure everyone was comfortable. Our rooms were great, the breakfast was wonderful. Dee even helped us get a shuttle set-up to get our team and families back and forth from the hotel to the convention center (at an extra charge but well worth not having to try and find parking). All of the other teams (there were over 800 teams playing in this tournament) were more than jealous that we had curb service each morning and as soon as we finished playing every evening. I can't say enough about the staff here especially Dee. Thank you for making our trip wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klooster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guests; Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Northeast as your place to stay while in DC for the tournament. We take great pride in our hotel and always strive to go above and beyond for our guests to make their stay as worry free as possible. We are delighted to see that your team enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and for personally recognizing Dee for her outstanding customer service. We will certainly pass along the review to her. I am sure with the tournament going on you did not get the chance to really tour DC and see all that the city has to offer! We hope to welcome you all back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    109
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
114
73
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

While on business, I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express/Suites in Washington, D.C. This is an "ASTONISHING" hotel and it's in a great location! I have stayed at this location on 2 different occassions and during each stay I must say the Area Manager - Miss Shawnette, the Assistant General Manager - Jay, and the Front Desk Supervisor - Monique treated me like "ROYALTY!" They were accommodating and my suite was real nice. Thank you guys for everything. If you are ever in the D.C. area, this is the place to stay. REAL-TALK!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPOWELL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Northeast DC as your place to stay while one business. What a wonderful compliment it is to receive not only a 5 star review but such kind words and praise for our team members. It is great to see the pride we take in our hotel and customer service came shining through during your stays with us. Thank you again for being our guest, we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed because of a conference at the DC Armory. Dee, the hotel manager, went above and beyond to help us get to the conference and made our stay more enjoyable. The entire staff is above helpful and friendly!! I would recommend this hotel for any trip you take!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guests; Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are delighted to see that you had a great stay and appreciate the kind remarks and compliments for Dee and the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in DC. Thank you again for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights while in the DC area. At first we weren't sure about location safety (our GPS took us on somewhat of a back road that wasn't too appealing). The 1st night the family across the hall were a little noisy with kids in the hallway and left peices of food in front of their door. The father began knocking on our door thinking this was their room (?) The next night was much quieter.(no we didn't contact the front desk).

All the staff we encountered were friendly and assisted with any questions we had. For those who might be travelling to the DC area for the 1st time be mindful of the $15 parking fee plus tax each night. I'm familiar with this since the hotels I work at have a fee as well. Plus I would expect this sort of thing in any large city.

The rooms were extremely nice and looked brand new. We had a kind bed with an extra sitting area that included a couch, coffee table, dining table, a 2nd tv plus a small kitchenette (sink, microwave, mini fridge and storage).

2 gas stations in front of the hotel as well as a couple fast food restaurants. Convenient location not too far from the Monuments and the International Embassy'.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoel_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guests; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations and services a good fit for your travel needs. We appreciate the compliments for our staff, they take great pride in the hotel and will gladly pass along the praise to them. The best compliment we can receive is knowing that you had a great stay and you will return again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights we arrived late afternoon on Sunday, we were greeted with a smile and a friendly face. The guy at the front desk was very attentive and polite. We were in our rooms within a few minutes. The rooms were clean but the carpet could be clean.The room was equipped with a microwave and a mini-refrigerator which was nice to have. There was a message in the bathroom if you forget your essentials to just ask for it (like toothpaste, mouthwash, conditional, or shampoo).It was nice to have free WiFi which connected very fast. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the pancake machine was not working therefore we were unable to enjoy the pancakes. This was a nice visit and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiny812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guests; Thank you for being our guests and for the wonderful review you gave us. We are very pleased to see that your time with us was great and appreciate the compliments for the hotel, staff and services. Sorry about the carpet we have scheduled the carpet company to come in as soon as the weather lets up and we have been spot cleaning it as well as we could. We are delighted to see that you will return and thank you for making the Holiday Inn Express Northeast Washington DC your new hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Above average standard. Nice and clean. Friendly staff.

Free parking
Free WiFi
Free swimming pool
Free gym
Free breakfast buffet (did not try)

Stayed standard room with king size bed for one night with girlfriend late November 2013.
Rate $99 plus tax (booked on Hotels.com same night).

Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you again for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Northeast Washington DC as your place to stay while in town. We appreciate the wonderful review and kind words for our staff, hotel and services. We are delighted to see we exceeded your exceptations and you enjoyed your stay.

Please note we do charge a fee for parking as a convenience for our guests it is added separately to their folio. We were running a special at the time you stayed offering free parking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near futre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and arrived really late after a long drive. The room was clean and spacious but the staff was unfriendly.

We asked for 3 towels for our kids but were told they could spare only 2. We were way too tired to argue.

We managed to get to breakfast several minutes before they close and started filling up our plates, but one minute after closing time (exactly, I checked it), the lady who works there just came and took the food right under our nose while we were in the middle of it. It was really rude that she didn't wait until we sat down, especially since it was 1 minute after closing time. We saw this trick also in La Quinta Hotel, but we never expected it to happen at Holiday Inn. I tried to tell her that we arrived late at night, but that didn't impress her.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NuritGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guests; Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable guest room while offering an exceptional value, I am pleased to see we met that goal for you. We typically receive high praise for our team members and customer services and very surprised to see your experience was not a positive one. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and greatly apologize to you and your family that any of our staff was not professional and courteous to you, that is not how we operate day in and day out. We hope you consider staying with us again in the near future as what you experienced is not the norm for us. Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#113 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#85 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Address: 1917 Bladensburg Rd NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Northeast Washington is near many top attractions. Visitors enjoy a full American breakfast buffet included in the rate, on site parking at a reasonable cost. Union Station and Metro are within 2 miles, giving travelers easy access to our hotel. Our complimentary shuttle will take you at pre-set times to Union Station, from there you can see all the major attractions, museums and get to your meeting quickly too. Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA)is less than 10 miles away. Visitors can immerse themselves in history while visiting the 19 museums of the Smithsonian Institute or popular, downtown Washington, DC memorials. In addition, our 900 square feet of meeting space and a 24-hour business center can help you host a conference during your stay. Our hotel rooms overlooking DC offer entertainment for the whole family with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access in every room. Unwind anytime in the 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool or whirlpool. For a complimentary hot breakfast and a convenient stay, choose this Washington, DC hotel. The close proximity of our Washington, DC hotel to the US Capitol, local businesses and government offices makes the commute easy for business travelers. You'll find the Washington Times, the FBI and both Georgetown and George Washington universities within just five miles of our hotel in Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Washington Dc-Northeast
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing