We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Promising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #10 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Promising”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The hotel was being renovated when I stayed there but it seems that when the renovations will leave the place very nice. The rooms are comfortable but the layout is kind of awkward. The hotel bar seems to be a hip place to hang out. Another great thing about the hotel is that it's across the street from a Trader Joe's.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review on the Avenue Suites! Our renovations are complete now, you should definitely come back and visit us again soon to see the end result! The hotel bar, A Bar, is a great place to relax while you are with us as well. As you mentioned, we are very close to a Trader Joe’s, which is great if you want to utilize the kitchen in your suite. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    347
    61
    16
    2
See reviews for
692
249
28
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

We visited Washington during our summer vacation and had booked the Avenue Suites online from the UK. We drove down from New York. The hotel was in a great location and just round the corner from the metro at Foggy Bottom. We were able to walk downtown to see the attractions within 20 minutes.

The hotel was very pleasant. We were welcomed by very friendly staff. The lobby was bright and clean. The decor was very smart with great photos of film stars on the walls. There was a bar (which we didn't use) and a fitness facility (which I used twice), with treadmill, cross trainer and bike.

The suite we were in was lovely. Separate living area with TV and dining area. Well appointed kitchen with fridge freezer and microwave meant that we could have a change from eating out and, after a visit to Trader Joe's over the road, cook for ourselves for 3 nights. The bedroom had 2 queen sized beds which were very comfortable.

We were able to park our hire car at the hotel for around $30 a day and didn't need it whilst we were in Washington.

I'd recommend this hotel, particularly if you have a young family.

👍

Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OpsMgrWas, Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your recent stay at the Avenue Suites! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Location is a great benefit to staying with us, since we are so close to public transportation and the shops and restaurants in Georgetown. The large suites and kitchens are very handy for when families come to visit, especially with Trader Joe’s being across the street! Thank you again for your visit, and we hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gainesville FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed 4 days with my 2 kids (9 and 11) to tour the museums and monuments. The hotel is very central, close to metro. The restaurants in Georgetown provide plenty of choices to eat. There is a fantastic supermarket Traders Joe just accross the street.
The hotel and rooms are very nice, modern and clean. The staff is super friendly. We liked the athmospare of this smaller hotel and the walking distance to the Georgetown area (shops, waterfront, cinemas and restaurants) The kids say it is "The Best" hotel and we travel a lot.
If you like real Italien Pizza, try to eat at Il Canale at 31st Street. The pizza is fantastic.
We would certainly be back and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your great review on the Avenue Suites! I’m glad to hear that our hotel was able to accommodate you and your family during your visit to DC. The location is perfect for checking out the restaurants and shops of Georgetown, as well as the typical DC attractions such as the Smithsonian museums and the National Mall! The Trader Joe’s across the street is very handy for families like yours, especially during longer stays. Thank you for your recommendation for Il Canale, I have heard great things about that restaurant so I’ll be sure to check it out! Thanks again, and we hope to see you on your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My family stayed for one week and we loved it. The rooms were nicely decorated and updated. We had a queen suite, which has a separate bedroom and living room. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The location is between foggy bottom and Georgetown. We could easily get a taxi to get around. The metro was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants and a Trader Joe's across the street.
I was disappointed that the hotel doesn't have a pool. We also tried the breakfast one morning as it was closing, I think it was 9:30, which is rather early.
Overall, a great stay, helpful staff and lovely rooms!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Greetings! Thank you for your review on the Avenue Suites. Our rooms were recently renovated, so I’m glad that you enjoyed the new décor. The hotel’s location is ideal for both the Metro and catching a taxi out on Pennsylvania Avenue. With Georgetown a five minute walk away and a Trader Joe’s across the street, you can never go hungry! Our hotel unfortunately does not have a pool, but our front desk staff is more than happy to provide you with information on pools within walking distance of the hotel upon request. Thanks again for your great review, and we’d love to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

For our family of six, I reserved two King Suites adjoining or close to each other since my kids are young. When we got there, the front desk manager said that they were low on King suites and upgraded us to two Queen Suites. The Queen suites were across from each other at the end of the hallway. There was a door to the outer hallway that could be closed off. I felt very safe with the kids going between rooms. It was very kind of him to go out of his way to help us.

The rooms are very large with a separate living room, bedroom, and kitchen. The bedroom and living room have been nicely renovated. The kitchen is still older, but very functional. Great Keurig coffee maker in kitchen. There is a Trader Joe’s right across the street. So, we were able to get breakfast stuff and snacks. Even made a frozen pizza in the stove since my youngest didn’t like the Thai Restaurant we went to.

The location is great. Five minute walk to either the GWU/Foggy Bottom metra stop or to Georgetown. A lot of good restaurants in Georgetown for families including Pizzeria Paradiso and Tacklebox (great fish tacos).

I highly recommend the hotel for families visiting DC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family4chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words on your stay at the Avenue Suites! I’m glad to hear that you really enjoyed your two suites. I agree that they are very spacious. The kitchens are a nice convenience as well, especially with the Trader Joe’s being right across the street. Our location is another big draw for our guests, since we are close to so much! Tacklebox is actually one of my favorite Georgetown restaurants, so I’m glad you enjoyed it as well. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My family and I stayed here for two nights in July. I called ahead on the day of our arrival to ask if we can have our two reserved rooms adjoining or as close to each other as possible. The gentelman who took my call, Milan, was so helpful that he even checked the floor to see if the two rooms he was holding for us were next to each other or across the hall from each other. That type of exceptional service is hard to come by these days. Both rooms we had (we were a family of 10) were impeccably neat and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpful. This hotel is also great walking distance to Georgetown and other sites. The continental breakfast was also a wonderful bonus. Only down sides: there is no pool and no restaurant on the premise.

Room Tip: Call the day of your arrival if you have special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your kind words about your stay at the Avenue Suites! I am glad to hear that our front desk staff was able to assist you in getting rooms close to each other for your stay. We all do the best we can to help out our guests to make you comfortable and to ensure you enjoy your time at the hotel. In addition to the great staff, the hotel’s location is another major draw for our guests. Unfortunately, we do not have a pool on site, but the front desk staff is more than happy to provide walking directions to the closest pools upon request. The A Bar is now open at the hotel, but if the food there is not what you are looking for, our sister property The River Inn has a great restaurant called Dish + Drinks, which is about a five minute walk away. Also, we can’t forget about the great restaurants of Georgetown! We hope to have you stay with us again someday at the Avenue Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I wanted rooms with full cooking facilities and preferably, separate sleeping spaces. Achieved the latter by using the pull out bed in the lounge area.

The thing that really got me going was that at the time I booked, a free continental breakfast was included. While we were there, they changed the policy so that breakfast could now be bough (nothing complimentary) . To be fair, they offered a voucher to cover the remainder of our stay. The value of this gesture was ruined by mean-spirited restrictions on what constituted a continental breakfast.

My wife and I were struggling up the steps with our heavy bags. The bellman decided to be helpful by pointing out that there was a ramp we could use.

The rooms were clean and serviced daily. There was no compendium informing of where things were and how things worked in this hotel.

The hotel is superbly located for access to tourist attractions and Georgetown.

The A-Bar in the lobby is expensive.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor over the entrance. Events outside got noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your review on the Avenue Suites. I am glad to hear that you found the rooms to be spacious and clean with good service being done each day. Also, your comment on the hotel’s location is true, since it is close to so many local attractions in the area. However, I am saddened to hear that other elements of your stay weren’t up to your expectations. We will definitely look into these items and offer feedback to our staff. I hope that this does not deter you from returning to us. We hope to see you again sometime at the Avenue Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing