We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My second home”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Over the years I have stayed at this hotel, previously known as Washington Suites and indeed it has come to feel like a home away from home. This is especially so when the weather is bleak and dreary compared to the great all year round weather in the tropics where I hail from.
Right from the moment you walk in the customer service at the front desk is great. The suites have a bedroom and a living room and fully equipped kitchen. The living room seat is also convertible into a bed hence if you have more company there is ample room.
The location is walking distance to the restaurants in George Town and within reach of a traders Joes supermarket as well as a whole foods which is located at the Foggy Bottom metro (two blocks or so away).
I prefer higher level floors (but avoid the top most 10 ) as they are away from the noise of passing cars.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Njere,

It is so wonderful to hear that you have been one of our loyal guests from the days of Washington Suites. We are elated that you are happy with our new renovation and continue to return frequently. While our hotel looks different, our standards and service have also been altered to work towards a goal of perfection. Please reach out to me directly at the e-mail address below so I can make sure you continue to have memorable visits with us here at the Avenue Suites.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    354
    63
    17
    2
See reviews for
714
253
29
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
abensteinjp
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just stayed there last night, 3/18/2013. Very new, modern, HUGE room - it counts as a large studio suite. Very nice bathroom. Kitchen is just a microwave and coffee maker. But has a half fridge. Only thing I didn't like it the room didn't have blackout curtains like most hotels - wood blinds instead.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK, inexpensive, but limited offerings

I'd go back in a second

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abensteinjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
abensteinjp,

Nicest hotel in Wahington DC. - thank you for such a memorable compliment! Our rooms are indeed apartment-sized and are convenient for both families and single travelers alike. While you stayed in one room type, others have full kitchens which I would be happy to block you in on your next visit. In fact, please e-mail me at the address below so that I can make sure your return visit is extra special.

I look forward to speaking with you soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My experience at Avenue Suites was nothing short of superb and I booked my next stay even before I left. The accommodations are excellent with everything necessary to make for a comfortable stay. With a separate sitting room, bedroom, and kitchen, the hotel is a perfect place for a short or long stay in DC. The location is ideal close to just about anything one could ask for. Most importantly, the service is impeccable. Karam, Seck, and especially Sophie go out of their way to make sure the stay is nothing less than great. I am excited to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcaf35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Greetings Jcaf35,

We love when our guests from the Big Apple have a good time here in the Nation's Capital, Washington DC. I have passed your fantastic praise onto Karam, Seck, and Sophie who were elated to hear how impressed you were with their service. The best news is that you will be returning to us again soon and can't wait to impress you once again.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Comfortable, well maintained and superbly managed hotel. Entire staff deserves congratulations particularly Front Office Manager Mitchell Turow who seemed to go above and beyond expections for all guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfside01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Greetings Surfside01,

Thank you for bringing some of the California sunshine with you to Washington DC last week! It is great to hear that you were so pleased with our "above and beyond" service that we work hard to provide to all of our guests. Please shoot me an e-mail the next time you are planning to visit the Avenue Suites so I can work hard to make it as memorable as your first visit.

I look forward to speaking with you soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have stayed for the past several years over memorial weekend at the former Washington Suites Georgetown and now at the Avenue Suites Georgetown. The updated Avenue suites is modern and relaxing. The rooms are suites and have a separate bedroom. There is a sitting area with pull out bed, and a full kitchen. They have a nice included breakfast. The best thing about the hotel is it's location. A short walk to the metro at Foggy Bottom gets you anywhere in DC. Walking 10 minutes the other direction towards Georgetown and you have all the shopping and dining. There is a Trader Joes across the street. This is a safe area great with a family!

Room Tip: We picked the deluxe room which i think is a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahalo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Mahalo123,

It always feels so great to get positive reviews from very experienced TripAdvisor travelers. I must agree that our location can't be beat and is a very safe part of the city for families and single travelers alike. Thank you for being such a loyal guest at both the Washington Suites and now the Avenue Suites. We are happy that we were able to receive such a great renovation and combine it with the stellar customer service of the Washington Suites.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Love the rooms and the service. Karam and Sophie did more than expected to make sure we had a great stay there. Would definitely stay there again next time in DC. Recommend this place to anyone visiting DC or staying for a longer time. Location is perfect for getting around DC. The staff does everything you can need during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Fusc88,

Thank you on behalf of Sophie, Karam, and all of us here at the Avenue Suites for writing such a great review about your recent visit. I must agree that our location and staff are the best in the city and are working hard towards a goal of service perfection. We are very much looking forward to your return visit with us soon.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Overall, this was a nice place to stay. On the plus side:
* suite and kitchen were very nice for family of five
* kitchen clean-up was awesome!
* Kids loved separate TVs (not that we stayed in a lot)
* right on bus line to major attractions, museums, etc
* Trader Joe's right acros the street
* new furnishings
* nice lobby
* helpful staff
* great Georgetown location
* decent view if on upper floors and facing north

Needing improvement
* kitchen stove looked quite old (but worked fine)
* elevators looked old
* no free breakfast
* tiny gym
* low ceilings that need to have popcorn texture removed
* no room safe (though overheard those are coming soon)
* hallways need improvement and better lighting

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
lantc1995,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent visit to the Avenue Suites here in Washington DC. While I am happy to hear about all of the positive remarks, I would like the chance to speak a little more personally about the negative ones. I have provided my phone number below in hopes that you can call me at your earliest convenience

I look forward to speaking with you soon,
Mitchell Turow
phone: 202-464-5609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,635 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,460 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
321 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing