We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, cool hotel, best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #10 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big rooms, cool hotel, best location”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed 4 nights in June. We got a nice room; a little kitchen, a sleeping room and a living room. We were a couple with a son of 17. Perfect location for walking to Georgetown ( 3 minutes ), walking down to the White house ( 15 minutes ) and to the tube ( 5 minutes). Washington was much more interesting and prettier then expected. A lot of nice restaurants nearby. We took the train to New York from Union station. Fantastic journey and the best way to go to Manhatten. Comfortable beds :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasOslo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear ThomasOslo42,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you and your family had a pleasant stay. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our location, amenities and comfortable beds. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest Regards,

Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    347
    61
    16
    2
See reviews for
692
249
28
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed there for 6 days and felt more at home than in a hotel. The décor was warm and cozy. Rooms are spacious. Bed was comfortable. Best feature of the room was the amazing shower head which felt like a rain shower. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The only complaints are that the cookware needs to be replace as the handles were all loose and not enough kitchen ware were supplied, ie no bowls for mixing etc. Had to wash all the cutlery on checking in as food were stuck on them. The vending and ice machine were located in basement along with laundry room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

FT

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebonyirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Ebonyirie,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that your six day stay with us was so delightful and that it felt like a home for you. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our location, amenities and comfortable beds and great rain showerheads. I appreciate your feedback regarding the cookware in your kitchen. We are in the process of replacing all the cookware, dish/glass ware and utensils in all the kitchens. On behalf of my team, we thank you for recommending us to others and look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in DC very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very good price with a full kitchen included...nice beds and sleeper sofa. great service and friendly staff..hard to get a cab late at night....a great choice for a lengthy stay....came in and out all hours of the day and night...the staff was always on the job

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Andrea J,

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that we provided you with a great value for you money. I appreciate your comments about the kitchen, beds, sofa bed and most importantly about the service. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here with my family while seeing all the sights of D.C. Great location that's walking distance from Georgetown and close to the Metro for access to all the central attractions. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Trader Joe's is right across the street which makes it very convenient if you want to get some breakfast food so you can make something simple in the included kitchen. Otherwise, there is no shortage of great restaurants in the area for any type of meal you want. The only knock on this hotel is that while they seemed to have done renovations in the changeover from being the Washington Suites, apparently they decided to leave the dated Kitchens....at least in the room we had. It really takes away from the modern, comfortable surrounding to have an adjoining kitchen that is run down and ugly. If they ever get around to finishing the job, this place would get the top rating....especially for families with kids.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms have kitchens that have been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear tuckstas,

Thank you for your visit and your review. I appreciate your comments about our convenient location, amenities and attentive service. I also thank you for your feedback regarding the kitchens. We are in the process of doing some upgrades to all of our kitchens so that they are more on-line with the rest of the rooms. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back from Denver very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend with an infant and there were some issues at the hotel that the staff was very helpful with. The power company actually had scheduled a planned power outage in the area. This created a problem for us, but the staff were very gracious and accommodating considering these issues were out of their control. Our room was spacious, stylish and clean. We would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbug187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear jbug 187,

Thank you for your visit and your review. I apologize about the city planned power outage and for the inconvenience it may have caused you. I am glad that my team was able to address the issue to your satisfaction. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back from New York very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This hotels location is perfect. It is walkable to the monuments, surrounded by amazing restaurants and stores, and has easy access to the metro and buses. The staff are extremely helpful and give great suggestions for food and sight seeing. The hotel is spotless and our room was spacious yet comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Meag M,

Thank you for your visit and your review. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our great location, cleanliness and helpful staff. On behalf of my team, we appreciate you recommending us to your friends and look forward to welcoming you back from Chicago very soon.
Warmest Regards,

Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I chose Avenue Suites because of its location and price and that the accommodation was more of an apartment than a hotel room. The suite had a kitchen with full size appliances. The refrigerator held all of my purchases from Trader Joe's which is right across the street. The hotel is just over the bridge from Georgetown so it was a convenient walk. The facility is clean and has a modern look. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdcldco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear pdcldco,

Thank you for your recent 5 night stay and your wonderful review. I am delighted that your accommodations felt more like an apartment than a hotel due to the size of the suites. Thank you for your comments about the kitchen, full refrigerator, location, cleanliness and friendly/helpful staff. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back from Florida very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing