We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location to explore Washington DC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Suites Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Washington DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for our 5 day visit of the city in one of these spacious suites with our two teen boys and had a great, great time. The rooms are spacious, include a fairly well equipped kitchen (no real coffee machine though, just nespresso which they do provide...). We had breakfast in our pj's before heading out every morning. The Capital Bike Share stand is across the street, and one of the best ways to get around town. We toured the monuments, visited Smithsonian and enjoyed great view from the bike path. Trader Joe's grocery store is also just across the street, and kept us well-supplied with snacks and other amenities.
Highly recommended in the lovely Georgetown area, close to plenty of restaurants and night life, definitely walkable to White House and other attractions. But the bikes are really fun!
Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Lisa M,
Thank you for your recent 5 day visit. I am delighted to learn that your stay was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed our spacious suites, amenities, location and our service. On behalf of my team, we look forward to your return visit from Canada.
Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    330
    53
    14
    2
See reviews for
656
242
25
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Came for a DC visit with our granddaughter. The suite had two rooms plus a kitchen, bath and extra sink allowing plenty of space for everyone.

We stopped by the front desk on numerous occasions for directions, recommendations on restaurants, etc. Each and every one went out of their way to help us and provide guidance.

After a long trip back to the hotel we were steered toward a refreshing complimentary Mohito.

Thanks to all to all of the staff to help us enjoy our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeJim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear BuckeyeJim71,
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your home base during your visit to DC. I am delighted to learn that our spacious suites and most importantly our service exceeded your expectations. We will be waiting for you with more refreshing mojitos!
Warmest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice spacious room, helpfull staff, room with kitchen, supermarket in two minutes walk. Metro station in few Minutes walk, walking distance of most washingtons musts. Nice area Georgetown, Nice restaurants in neighbourhood. Perfect for family. Very clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Rooms are quit and food temperature
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Emma V,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled that our spacious rooms, cleanliness, location and service exceeded your expectations. On behalf of my team we look forward to your return visit.
Warmest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great views, two rooms, kitchenette, wonderful location, & friendly staff all add up to making this a fantastic base for exploring the capitol. We had two families and kids and teens among our group and all enjoyed this hotel. Across the street from Trader Joe's, we were able to have breakfasts and snacks at the hotel, saving on restaurant costs. When eating out, we had a choice of many nearby Georgetown restaurants and cafes. Being close to the metro, we took day trips to Mt. Vernon, Maryland, and Virginia. In DC, we enjoyed the usual museums and a tour of the capitol, prearranged with our congressman.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor for better views. Reserve in advance as this hotel fills up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kekerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Kekerica,
Thank you for making Avenue Suites you home base during your recent visit to the Capital. I am elated to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that our amenities, room size, location and mainly our service had so much to do with that. On behalf of my team we look forward to welcoming you back from California very soon!
Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good service started before our arrival as we had to change our booked dates, very simple process and prompt acknowledgement with revised confirmation email.

We arrived in a thunderstorm and bell staff did wonders getting our bags inside and dry.
Check-in was simple and the staff were friendly. Given the appalling weather it was nice to leave the car to the valet to deal with - $40 well spent. Returned the rental car next morning and walked, cabbed or metro'd for the rest of our stay. (Would look for alternatives to valet parking in better weather).

Suite was comfortable and spacious with living area, separate bedroom (2 queens), bathroom and kitchen. We even had a view (well a glimpse really) of the top of the Washington monument above the skyline. Beds gave us good nights sleep and the room was acceptably quiet. Bathroom was large enough and a bath as well as a shower is a plus when travelling with children. The room safe was deceptive - it looked cavernous, but the top opening lid was very deep and caution was needed when closing it so as not to crush a laptop or iPad screen.

The kitchen was equipped with oven and cooktop, microwave, large fridge-freezer, coffee maker and toaster. An improvement would be the addition of an electric jug - as for hot beverage other than coffee you need to heat water in the microwave. There was only a limited selection of pots, pans, crockery and utensils but they were adequate for the basics. Ask the staff to point out Trader Joe's supermarket across the street - excellent selection of whatever you need to fill a kitchen.

We only sampled the hotel bar-restaurant one night. Attentive, friendly service and wonderful outdoor seating area with fire pits. If not self catering, there are many, many options just outside the front door in Georgetown

On a long vacation, access to the guest laundry in the basement was welcome. 2 coin operated washers, 2 driers and detergent dispenser. Reception staff happy to provide change in quarters to feed the machines. One of the driers struggled a little and seemed to be set a little too cool, but we forgot to pass feedback on the day.

Foggy Bottom metro station is only a couple of blocks away, cabs were easily found and the hotel is well placed for easy access to all DC has to offer.

This was a very convenient and suitable hotel for a family stay and we would stay again on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xkoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear xkoru,
Thank you for spending your vacation with us and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful stay and that our amenities, room size, location and particularly our service all exceeded your expectations. On behalf of my team we look forward to welcoming you back from Dubai very soon!
Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here! It was within walking distance of most Washington musts and had a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms had two queens and a pull-out couch with a kitchen great for our scattered breakfast schedules. Very comfy and clean, and I recommend it to anybody looking for a great stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Arya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Arya F,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write about it. I am glad that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you will be recommending us to anybody looking for a great stay! On behalf of my team we look forward to welcoming you back from Johannesburg very soon!
Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a great little find for a 3 night stay in Washington DC. The location was great, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the suites are a great size for a family of 4. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and if you are happy walking a little the attractions are all there. We only had 3 nights and definitely could have stayed a week as we were a little rushed. Would definitely recommend Avenue suites.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Silke,
Thank you for 3 nights with us during your trip to DC! I am thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed your stay based on our location, suite size, amenities and service. On behalf of my team we look forward to welcoming you back from LA very soon!
Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing