We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our DC stay even better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HI Washington DC Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I bicycled into DC and stayed in a private room at the hostel. Not only is it in a great location and so much more affordable than any hotels in the area, it was fun to stay there. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We met and talked to nice and interesting people of all ages from throughout the US and beyond. We joined one of the free, daily activities and were hosted by a gracious gentleman who accompanied us to the Kennedy Center for a free concert.
The breakfast was another plus, and if you care to you can prepare other meals in the large kitchen. The hostel was clean and comfortable, and the shared bathroom was well set up. We had good storage for our bicycles as well. If you are looking for luxury you won't stay here, but if you are more interested in people and places than in a big TV in your room, this hostel is a great choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PIAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

PIAustin: Thank you for all of your kind remarks! For only staying with us for a week, you sure did a lot! Manny, a volunteer here for over 20 years, hosts the Sunday Free Concert event at the Kennedy Center. I'm so glad you were able to meet him. And John, at Breakfast, is a veritable HI-DC legend. He ensures that everyone who comes to breakfast meets new people and makes new friends.

It's a treat to read a note from someone who was able to use our free covered bike parking. We get cyclists throughout the year, but for some reason we don't see that many postings from them. Thanks for breaking the "cycle!" [I know, silly pun. But I just couldn't resist!]

Everything you wrote about what we offer is right on. We're not a 5-star resort by any means, but we do everything we can to offer great experiences, friendly staff and volunteers, an unbeatable location, a wide range of amenities and events, and a good night's rest in a fun, clean, and safe home-away-from-home. Cheers! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The hostel is very well located. It is near the museums and the white house. Has only one elevator to attend all the floors, the wifi does not work in the rooms. Good breakfest for a hostel.

Hostel com boa localizacao perto das principais atracoes turisticas. Ha somente um elevador para atender todos os andares, o wifi nao funciona no quarto. Possui um bomcafe da manha para um hostel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Igor_Perdomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Igor_Perdomo: I'm glad you found much of your stay to your liking, specifically our location and breakfast. I'm sorry that some of the amenities didn't work out for you. Our Wi-Fi should reach all of the guestrooms; we have wireless routers on every floor. I will check them to make sure that they are working properly. Thanks for the heads-up! Thanks for sharing about your stay! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for a week. The location was great, free breakfast, heaps of complimentary tours, free wifi and the TV room was a nice touch. Great place to make friends and really experience DC.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brisbane L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Brisbane L L: Thank you for the lovely note and the PERFECT RATING! We're all super-psyched that you had a great time in our city and at our hostel. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed 3nights in HI Washington, Staff is really nice, and mostly the "breakfast man", he's funny !!
I stayed in 4beds, facilities are shared with the floor, was enough showers and toilets.
It is clean and nice. and there is elevator if you have heavy luggage.
The breakfast is good, bagels, cereals, bread, juice, milk, tea, coffee, peanut butter, jam, butter.

Location is close to subway, museum, place to see and places where you can eat. A Safeway is close by.

Good deal to staying in Washington DC

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyCaUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

AmyCaUS: Thanks for the nice note! John, at Breakfast, is renowned for helping strangers to meet one another during breakfast. Glad you like the cleanliness and other features of the hostel, too! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Overall, this was a great hostel. It had everything you needed in abundance, the kitchen is huge and you never have to wait for appliances. The lounge and other common areas were a great place to charge your phone and chat with fellow travelers. The front desk people would help you out of you asked them questions about the city but they weren't too friendly otherwise. The bunks are comfortable for hostel standards, and the lockers in room and in basement were great for storing things while you were away. Also, the security is pretty tight there- so it was nice not to have to lie to my parents about that:)

I have a few suggestions to make this hostel a 5/5. First, as a few people have already mentioned, there is a zero alcohol policy which, makes you feel like you're being treated a bit like a child. Changing this would change the atmosphere and make the adults in the hostel have a better time! Secondly, I went on the Monuments Walking Tour and it was pretty awful, not for a lack of trying, our guide was really friendly but not the most knowledgable. We had so much walking to do that we couldn't stop at monuments for more than 3-5 minutes without losing the guide, he didn't have a noticeable sign so finding our guide in the crowds was REALLY difficult. Moreover, there were no bathroom breaks (our guide didn't even point out the bathrooms!) This tour would have been 100 times better if there was a bus that took us back to the hostel at the end of the tour, it was almost 10:20pm by the time we finished and took another 1/2 hour to walk back. I did like the fact that we went to several monuments I wouldn't have gone too on my own so it was worth it!

Overall, fantastic stay! Had everything you would need and a relaxed atmosphere! Oh, and HI DC has a very basic free breakfast every morning that tides you over until lunch. Will stay again next time I'm in the DC area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordic_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Nordic_gypsy: Thank you so much for all of your inputs! There is some great information in there. I am a bit concerned about the friendliness issue. Usually, we get high marks as our team genuinely enjoys helping hostellers. I will speak with them to see what happened. My apologies.

The ideas you have for the tours is truly excellent. We are already developing a strategy strategy for bathroom breaks and Guide visibility. The general knowledge part is probably a training issue, which I think we can address pretty quickly. To be honest, the bus idea is probably a non-starter. We offer free tours and events; if we had a bus, then we would have to charge money for them. Totally not what we're going for. We want to have as many cool, fun, and free events as we can.

Thanks, again, for all of your insights! Super-helpful! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hostel has some great facilities. I stayed 3 nights, in a mixed gender room. The communal bathrooms are a little dated (especially the showers) but clean nevertheless.

The common room seemed to be pretty quiet most of the time but there is a pool table and a cards room as well as computers. The wifi is fantastic, worked even in my room on the 7th floor!!

There's not much going on in the evenings but they do offer tours etc of the city.

Free breakfast is awesome, bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, fruit and juice. John the breakfast monitor is a legend! So funny and cheerful, just make sure you tell him "good morning" in a language other than English or you might find yourself the centre of attention in the breakfast room, introducing yourself to everyone on your table..

The front desk staff are all really cheery and ready to help you with anything you need.

All in all enjoyable stay at the hostel, not my favourite HI but well run nevertheless. Only downside would be the lack of organised evening activities.

Room Tip: Lower floors if you can because the elevator is appallingly slow, and taking the stairs to the 7th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Bogisz: Thanks for the grand review! We're jazzed that you like the cleanliness, amenities (we just upgraded the Wi-Fi, so glad you enjoyed!), tours, breakfast, and staff friendliness. You are spot-on about John. He is phenomenal!

We do pretty well at meeting our goal of having at least one (1) activity per day. Sometimes they are during the day, and sometimes they are in the evenings. It's all about our uber-cool cast of Volunteers and what they are able to do. Generally, we have about four (4) evening events per week -- pub crawls, night monuments tour, dinner nights, etc. The rest are more day-oriented, like some of our other tours, Sunday concerts, and such. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Awesome!! The hostel is great for single travelers. It is right in the heart of the city and everything is a small walk away. The breakfast is good. Meeting fellow travelers and making friends is one easy task if you are staying here.The beds are in good condition and don't squeak all night. I would recommend this one to you for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCn2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

KCn2487: Great stuff! So glad you enjoyed. You made our day! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 142 in Washington DC
1,889 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Washington Hostel
#5 of 46 in Washington DC
164 reviews
Adams Morgan
HighRoad Hostel DC
HighRoad Hostel DC
#2 of 46 in Washington DC
84 reviews
Duo Housing
#6 of 46 in Washington DC
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Washington DC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Washington DC Hostel

Address: 1009 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: £21 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Washington DC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at HI DC is like visiting your friends in the nation's living room! As a non-profit organization dedicated to cultural understanding through travel, we're excited to warmly welcome everyone. Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together budget travelers from around the world in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Trip Advisor's Green Leaders Program, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your HI Washington DC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing