We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - extremely noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed in the Courtyard during the Inaguration - Even in this busy time the staff was very upbeat, helpful, and polite. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The noise, however, ruined my stay - not noisy neighbors, but street noise. As a previous reviewer noted the windows provide absolutely no sound insulation. You might just as well be sleeping on this busy street with the windows open. In this day and age and given that this is a Courtyard Hotel it is inexcusable that windows haven't been upgrades to provide proper insulation. Bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper like me. The bar/resturant staff was plesant, but the bar had unusually short hours (closed at 11) which seemed strange and not in the best interests of their guests as I frequently like a nightcap before going to my room. This hotel has a great location, and If they would bother to upgrade the windows I would be a regular. As it is now, I won't return.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you definately don't want a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your previous stay in our property. I apologize for the traffic noise and I will make sure to pass your comment to our team. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

This was my second trip to the Courtyard, and I was again pleased with my choice. The staff is friendly and capable. I ate in the attached restaurant, Nage's Bistro, for breakfast and dinner several times. I ate at the bar on one occasion and in the restaurant on several visits. It can get crowded as it seems a hot spot for the evening with a small but unique menu. I had oyster stew one night which was excellent. I enjoyed a fine Malbec with a burger at the bar another night. Overall, a very good restaurant. I had a king bed room for five nights, overlooking the Scott Park. It was not noisy and I liked the view. My only disappointment was the disappearance of the superb self service coffee machine that I enjoyed on my last visit. The hotel, as others have remarked, is superbly situated. Taxis are always available and walking in this neighborhood is recommended when the weather is good.

Room Tip: you can ask for a suite, which gives a separate sitting room. I've had a room before which look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

I would like to thank you for staying with us once again. I will pass the great comment to our staff as well as Nage retsaurant. We are looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

For the price I do not think you can get a better location in DC. 4 blocks straight north of the White House on Scott Circle just 1 long block SE of DuPont Circle. No need for a car here. Walking distance to almost everything - or a cheap cab if you prefer. Our room was a smaller king with a view of the circle and it was fine for 2 of us. Other reviews have mentioned large sized rooms - so ask if you want one. Others have also mentioned street noise. We were on the 4th floor and yes there was noise - but it is the city so I expect nose. If you turn the fan on you wont hear any street noise at all. Windows can actually be opened which I liked. Bathroom was average size. Nice TV, no fridge or micro, but we did use the in room coffee. Bed was really comfy. Front dest service was excellent and quick. Doorman flagged down cabs for us (airport and theater trips) and was very friendly. We at dinner in Nage which was just ok. Service was friendly but the two person tab was $$$. Food was just so so . Free coffee and tea in the meeting room in the morning - which we took advantage of on chilly mornings. I would stay here again - you pay big for loaction in DC. We were very satisfied with what this Courtyard offered.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side would have street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siestaclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice comment about our staff especially our front desk team and our valet. I am glad that you find our property convenient to everything during your stay. We hope that you will provide us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

After reading mixed reviews about this property, I was pleasantly surprised. From check-in to checkout, the staff was wonderful. The property is clean and well maintained. Had a room on the 5th floor with a front view. The restaurant staff was friendly and the food was affordable and good (had breakfast and snack). The lobby has recently been renovated; I've added photos. I requested a late checkout and it wasn't an issue. The area is great, however there's a 3-4 block walk for public transportation. All and all it was a great stay. If I'm in the area again, we will definitely stay at this property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chill993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comment regarding our staff. Our staff is certainly one of our best assets - we are delighted to help make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. We look forward for your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My family and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for three nights. The staff was great as they made suggestions on where to eat as well as how to get to the nearest Metro stations. Our room had two queen beds and a pull out sofa. This was a big enough room for my family as we did not feel closed in at all.

The two nearest Metro stations are about a 10-15 minute walk (Farragat North-Red Line or McPherson Square-Orange & Blue Line). Restaurants are nearby on Connecticut Avenue which can also be a 10-15 minute walk depending on what you select.

We did have breakfast at the Nage Bistro which is inside the Courtyard Marriott as we selected the free breakfast option. There was enough on the menu for breakfast as my kids did not complain.

Overall, we had a very good expereince staying at this Courtyard Marriott.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your family make sure you reserve the rooms with the queen beds and pull o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelM998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for the great comment regarding our team and I am glad that we delivered a good service and a good experience to you and your family. We are looking forward to serve you again in the future. Thank you once again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My family and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for three nights. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a minor hiccup when we arrived with the room (tried to put my family of four in a room with only one king bed) but this was quickly resolved.

The room had two queen beds and a pull out couch. This was plenty of room for my family, we did not feel closed in at all. The bathroom is a bit tight, only one person can stand in the bathroom, vanity, closet area at one time. The beds were comfortable and pillows of typical Marriott quality.

I ate at the bistro downstairs one night. The staff was nice and the food great (lobster maccroni was AMAZING). The next morning, I went down for coffee and also had a great experience. Unfortunately after that, they closed the cafe in the mornings for renovations and only offered a sparce continental breakfast out of a conference room for $12.00. I decided to leave the hotel and get my java fix a couple of blocks away. It was more of a nusience than a real complaint.

I ended up spending a lot of time in the lobby in the evening after the children went to sleep and enjoyed the set up. The booths with the televisions was a nice touch. I actually brought down a bottle of wine one evening to enjoy while I studied and forgot a wine glass, the front desk manager actually went into the bistro and brought me a wine glass, once again showing that top-notch Marriott service.

Overall great experience!

Room Tip: Room 604 faces another building. Not a great view, but very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love2Go80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Nice large rooms with plenty of outlets for recharging phones, laptops, etc. Free Wifi. Within walking distance (10 min) to the Dupont Circle Metro stop and easy to get a cab from the Hotel. Great for a Washington trip. A minor negative is that the cable TV doesn't have comedy central.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
640 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
628 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row

Address: 1600 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3206
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £89 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row is a top choice for an Embassy Row hotel in Washington, DC. We are conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, making us a great choice for business, leisure, and convention guests looking a premium location. Our hotel also offers sophistication, style, and world class Marriott service, which is preferred by many corporate and leisure guests. Stay with us and stay within minutes of a myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall to the Capitol Building in Washington DC. Experience local DC neighborhoods like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot or take a quick metro ride from one of 3 nearby stations. Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes convenience as well as comfort. Our luxurious and spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious assurances of a familiar brand name hotel. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with playful and progressive cuisine to satisfy the most discerning tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing