We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pretty good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

They upgraded our room as we were on our honeymoon which was nice. The staff were all really friendly. The room was clean and modern.
The air-conditioner vent was on the wall beside the bed so the noise was quite irritating at night.
The location is in a very safe area, but food choices are hard unless you know where you're going. It's walking distance to the DC sites in our opinion (relative term obviously) and all flat.
They have a small 'business centre' aka computer area with and the staff assisted us in printing for no additional cost.
The pool area is in the basement and doesn't really feel like the kind of place you'd go to read a book as it's quite dark and basement feeling, but the gym is really well equipt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    223
    77
    23
    6
See reviews for
191
108
30
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The location of this hotel at 1600 Rhode Island Ave, NW puts it 1/2 a mile from the White House, near enough to walk to all the Smithsonian Museums and also close enough to Georgetown to walk to all of its sites: Dumbarton House and several others. It has valet parking for $30 per night and a restaurant. There is not an included breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well organized. Exercise room is fine. I did not try the restaurant, which seems to be a full serviced one. I do not want to wait.

But there was some minor smell which I did not like. The room key stopped working twice. Each time, I had to get them rekeyed downstairs. Room temperature could not be properly controlled even after the check-up of a worker. Room window faces a big wall. Since I did not spend much time there, it was fine. Pretty far away from nearest Metro station.

Room Tip: Elevator is a bit noisy if your room is too close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here while visiting our daughter in DC. We wanted a clean, comfortable hotel that did not cost a fortune. We also needed to be able walk to most DC attractions(we are walkers). That is exactly what we got.
Room was quiet for the first 2 nights but we had late partying neighbors on the third night. There can be street noise in DC.
Large, clean room and polite staff. No continental breakfast.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudsrest57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriswaldsinTennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I travel to DC often and there are several hotels in this area, and I've stayed at several of them. The Courtyard is clearly my favorite and there have been no surprises. Always clean, quiet and good service. The new remodel is very nice as well.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

a well-situated hotel for a business or pleasure visit to the nation's capitol. Lovely new renovation with attentive first-rate staff. Well-attended on-site restaurant that we did not visit, alas. Well-appointed lobby area with computer access and small alcove areas complete with individual TVs.

Unfortunately the morning trash removal noise outside was the only fly in the ointment...it is the city, we must remember!

Room Tip: Perhaps requesting an upper floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here one week for a work related visit. Nice hotel, in a good location, modern, safe and clean. It's only a few block north of the White House. It's directly across the street from the Australian embassy. Safe area that's very busy during the day but at night it quiets down and there's not enough noise to keep you awake. Nice restaurant on premise that does breakfast lunch and dinner. They also have a little Starbucks kiosk in the morning. They have a nice selection from their "market" for any late night snacks. I'm not sure how parking works because I didn't have a car. They are also within blocks of the metro but plan on walking for 15-20 minutes for that. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowsarered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, D.C. Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Property: Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Embassy Row, conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, is a great choice for business, leisure and convention guests looking for sophistication, style and world class Marriott service. Stay within minutes of myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall, to the Capitol Building. Experience local DC neighborhoods, like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot, or take a quick metro ride from one of three nearby stations. The Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes comfort. Our luxurious, spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious little assurances of a familiar name. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with a playful and progressive cuisine to help satisfy roaring fans. The Courtyard uniquely fuses style with savvy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing