We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good staff good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice location, good staff good value”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice property that has been updated. Very accommodating staff and management. They have a pretty good restaurant on site. Nice location near some attractions and within walking distance to White House. Would go back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    243
    82
    24
    8
See reviews for
212
121
32
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for the quality you get for the price, it's only 1/2 a mile from the White House it can't be beat once you compare it to the hotels in the area. The staff is exceptionally friendly and very helpful and the room was clean. Free WiFi for (3) devices a lot of the Hotels charge for WiFi. We were on the 6th floor so the noise level was low.

The pool and hot tub are on the small size but it works all the same. On the down side there is NO microwave and NO refrigerator (You can request a refrigerator if they have one available you can use it) and the cost of food in Washington puts a sting in your wallet. The restaurant (Nage) at the hotel is expensive and a bit fancy for our taste. Ex: $14 for an Angus Burger and $24 for half a roasted chicken. We ordered pizza from Papa Johns one night and it is reasonably priced. We also took a toaster with pop tarts and bread/lunch meat for the kids to try to ease the annoyance of not having a microwave. I would have taken a crock pot if I had a small one for quick lunches like Hot Dogs and such. Make sure you take everything you need if you plan on having lunch in your room, we could NOT locate a grocery close to us. We could afford to eat out all the time but I can't see myself paying the prices that are requested it almost makes you feel like you are being taken advantage of knowing you have no choice.

The valet parking in Washington is expensive everywhere including this hotel. We opted out having the Hotel park for us and reserved a spot through Panda Parking on the internet at PMI parking garage on M street which is only a minute walk from the hotel for only $41 for 4 days. The only draw back is once you park your vehicle you can't use it until you leave but that's okay well worth the savings cost from Valet parking and tipping and who really wants to drive in DC!

I recommend using a Taxi it only cost us $10 one way from the Hotel to all of the sites including the Lincoln Memorial and the Smithsonian Museums. It was a great time We learned the city quickly and also learned how to save $$$ I'm hoping to pass on our experience and what we learned to keep cost low for a family on vacation

Room Tip: The Higher Floor the Lower the noise level
See more room tips
Green Features: In the morning there is a doorman who dances away and is so kind, you can't help but to have a smile on your face when you see this. The entire staff was exceptionally kind and very very helpful!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear H947,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our team and the rooms. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

I'm sure your tips will help families in the future! In addition, we also have microwaves available by request, and a grocery store not too far from the hotel. So on your next trip to DC (which I hope is soon!) we can point you in the right direction.

Thank you again for your feedback!
Alyssa R., Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here. The room was clean, we had a nice breakfast every morning with excellent customer service. Our waitress was Lorraine and she is the very definition of customer service. The pool was small but we weren't expecting one at all so it was nice after a long day for our kids to take a dip. Sure there are certainly fancier hotels in DC but you won't beat the value here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Shaddick,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed both your stay with us and your breakfast in our restaurant, Nage. Lorraine will be elated to hear such kind words from you! Next time you are in the area, she may even be around with her plate of freshly baked cookies in the evening.

Thank you again for staying with us,
Alyssa
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Overall it was fine. There was an issue, that was disappointing. On our first day, we noticed that one of the beds had hair inside the sheets and what looked to be a small blood stain. We called the front desk to have the linens changed. We were told that someone would come. Eventually a Housekeeping supervisor came and looked at the bed around 4:30pm. However, she did not change the sheets and said someone would be in later. When we got back to the hotel at 12:30am, the sheets were still on the bed. From that point we had to call Housekeeping an additional 3 times to have someone come up and change the sheets at 1:30am. We were told the delay was because only the person at the front desk was on duty.

Room Tip: Not that much to dine at around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory stay. Here at the Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row, we hold service at the utmost importance, and we are deeply saddened to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. In regards to the cleanliness issues, we would like to assure you that the situation has scrupulously been investigated with our housekeeping department and the appropriate steps to resolve the issue in the future are being put into place. That being said, we hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Regards,
Alyssa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location was great, convenient to everything. Room was very nice. Beware - parking was OBSCENELY expensive. They don't offer a parking lot to guests, and wanted 34.50 a day to valet your car. Restaurant in lobby was also very overpriced. We ended up eating outside for every meal after spending $24 on a few greasy chicken wings and chicken fingers from the hotel restaurant. No fridge in the room for my sons milk. They did have free water bottles in the room, which was nice. We asked for a crib in the room, and they brought us a folded up pack & play and left - didn't even set it up for us. I think it was because they were short-handed that night because the same guy that checked us in, was the one who dropped off the pack & play. When we opened it up, there was a candy wrapper inside. The staff tries, but I think this hotel could really try to include some more things for their guests...like a place to put your car after driving 4+ hours from NY!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MakingMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row.

I'm deeply disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to our parking charges and your restaurant experience. I have passed your comments along to the Restaurant General Manager in hopes that they will address your issue for our future guests.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Regards,
Alyssa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've stayed at this property quite a few times over the past few years, and it recently underwent a rather significant renovation in the lobby area. The look is fresh and modern--quite nice. Overall the hotel is modern, clean, and very comfortable. The attached restaurant Nage serves excellent food for breakfast/brunch, lunch, and dinner. The property is very close to Dupont Circle and other downtown DC shops and restaurants. The nearest Metro station is about a half-mile away (and a very easy, safe walk).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your DC travels; we realize you have many choices in the area, and we appreciate you choosing the Courtyard. We are overjoyed that we were able to meet and exceed your service expectations, and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
Alyssa
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pros: Central to the district where I once worked. Spacious suites, clean bathroom, bed, and very polite concierge.

Cons: Does not cater to the single business traveler in the attached restaurant. But it is walking distance to 18th and a small but decent selection of restaurants and shops.

Green Features: Recycling bin was unavailable, so I carried some of my empty water bottles back to Canada where we recycle religiously.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgarland_wetcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at The Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row!

First of all, thank you for choosing our Courtyard Hotel out of the many hotel options you have to choose from in the DC metro area. We take pride in our service, and I'm glad we were able showcase that through our helpful staff.

In addition, the recycling bin is a great idea. While we have taken other noticeable measures to become more sustainable, recycling within our guest rooms would be a great addition.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Alyssa
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
484 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3206
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row is a top choice for an Embassy Row hotel in Washington, DC. We are conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, making us a great choice for business, leisure, and convention guests looking a premium location. Our hotel also offers sophistication, style, and world class Marriott service, which is preferred by many corporate and leisure guests. Stay with us and stay within minutes of a myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall to the Capitol Building in Washington DC. Experience local DC neighborhoods like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot or take a quick metro ride from one of 3 nearby stations. Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes convenience as well as comfort. Our luxurious and spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious assurances of a familiar brand name hotel. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with playful and progressive cuisine to satisfy the most discerning tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing