We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Ranked #110 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel is old, the facility is far away from the residence inn chain we were used to stay, noisy A/C, the room smell bed, the elevator is old, the rooms are really big enough and the neighborhood is good but the hotel is outdated.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Mismad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavia S, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Mr. Mismad,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Residence Inn Dupont Circle. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Although our staff and and management team work extremely hard to provide friendly and personalized service to our guests, our hotel is due for its 12 year renovation this year. I am glad to inform you that our public areas and suites will be renovated this year. In regards to the the AC and room smell , we do inspect all rooms prior to our guests arrival and report any deffects to engineering. I hope you did give us a chance to fix the AC during your stay. Please feel free to contaact directly if you would like to discuss your stay further. We have addressed the issues you mentioned with our staff and hope you consider our hotel in the near future.

Respectfully,

Flavia Sampaio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

My adult daughter and I spent 3 nights at this property. It was 2.5 blocks from the DuPont Circle Metro, 2 stops from the National Zoo, lots of wonderful restaurants, secure parking, nice breakfast, helpful desk staff, and large comfortable rooms. The DuPont Circle neighborhood is full of interesting architecture, and shops. As always, the Residence Inn properties include refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes, and kitchenware. A full service kitchen is great for families and those who may want to eat in after a long day sight seeing in DC.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this Residence Inn four times so far, for a week at a time, and have reservations for several more stays, and so you can tell up front that we like this place and feel it offers excellent value. The hotel is just west of Dupont Circle, right off Rock Creek Parkway, and convenient to the Metro which I take to go to work. The hotel is a typical Residence Inn with kitchen facilities in each room, but the rooms are variable in size and layout, with some having a separate bedroom while others being laid out studio style and more like a larger hotel room than a suite. Rooms on the street side (north side) are noisier than the ones on the south side. This is an older facility and is run under license from Marriott. The service staff are very friendly and helpful. By our second stay we were being greeted by name by most of the staff. While the amenities are similar to other Marriott Residence Inns, the furnishings are a little more worn than others we have stayed at, and the gym facility is not conducive to exercise. There is a complimentary buffet breakfast every day and complimentary dinner three days a week, again pretty standard, but there are things that vegetarians can also eat, as well as people who don't eat red meat, which is a great improvement over many other places that we have stayed at. And of course there are many places to eat in the Dupont Circle area. Overall a great value especially at corporate room rates, more expensive but still a good value at rack rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDS724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My husband, baby and I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. The staff was so helpful and friendly. By the time we left, it was starting to feel like home! It is close to some great restaurants, a grocery store is right next door and the metro is a quick walk. The hotel was always immaculate and having a laundry facility on each floor was particularly nice, in our case.

I would recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The typical Residence Inn is an average hotel so I feel this rating is in-line with expectations. The hotel is in close proximity to Dupont Circle and all that it has to offer. The rooms are average with a little bit more space than in other hotels. We stayed for only 1 night although this hotel is ideally suited for those staying multiple nights to take advantage of the sitting room and kitchen. Staff were fine, but nothing stood out. Agree with other reviews that it is good that the elevator requires a room key to function as this does add a level of security.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The staff members are very helpful. The gym was nice but not all of the equipment was working. The rooms were decent, what you expect at a Residence Inn. The laundry was conveniently located on my floor. Hotel is a few blocks from the Dupont Metro station. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tawana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This was a great stay in DC. The hotel has breakfast, and the suites are very comfortable. They are similar to what I have come to expect from the Residence Inn brand. This hotel was surprisingly better in the area of security. The elevator requires room key insertion to use the elevator for the hotel rooms, and in the late evening, requires the room key to open the lobby door. The only small issue I have with the hotel is that the evening reception is only available Monday - Wednesday, even though Washington is heavily visited. I feel it should at least be available on all business days of the week. The hotel is only 3 blocks from the Metro station, which can take you everywhere in the city. Great location and good service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VLSchaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
218 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, D.C. Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
549 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,392 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle

Address: 2120 P St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1009
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £101 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing