We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce room, poor acoustics, parking and access limited” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #117 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Memphis TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NIce room, poor acoustics, parking and access limited”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I could hear everything said and going on in the hall outside my room, and I could hear the person next door talking on the phone and watching TV. My room was set up for one person--no closet, but a cabinet with hardly roomto hang a couple of days' clothing for one person (room safe and ironing board were in the cabinet, too), and one single cup of coffee or decaf. During the summer, the food concessions attached (Subway, KFC, Taco Bell, Starbucks, and a few others) close before dinner so a walk to another building on campus at Georgetwon University or a cab to a restaurant may be needed. I took a cab from Regan National Airport; If there was a parking lot or garage, I never saw it. You will be on a crowded college campus next to the Georgetown hospital/med center. No fitness center was mentioned in the materials in my room, no refrigerator or microwave. The Black and Decker iron was the best I've used! This was my second stay. Federal agencies seem to use this hotel and conference center for conferences. They give government rate rooms and the conference areas are more than adequate for small conferences. Unfortunately, if coffee is not provided at your conference (it wasn't at either I attended), there isn't any available nearby. You don't have time to walk to Starbucks, stand in line to order and pay, and get your coffee before your break is over.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    107
    79
    21
    16
See reviews for
65
28
18
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Wednesday- Saturday stay to bring student home from DC program, have one day to relax, and visit GU.. We traveled without a car, did not do any sight seeing in DC. I was a bit concerned after reading some reviews, but I had none of the problems discussed in reviews. Air conditioning was great and it was very hot during my stay. We traveled with Ipad/iphone so did not have to pay for internet. We experience some chains still charge for internet, though it seems unreasonable.... Hotel has a printer for boarding passes, one located at front desk, another hidden away in the the business center located off the main lobby in the conference area... We booked through the hotel website, so paid the normal AAA rate. Had a nice view of campus from 5th floor room. Very comfortable, clean, updated room. It was easy to get a cab or car service from hotel. taxi stand directly outside hotel. The car service hotel arranged to Dulles was about the same rate ($65) 2 passengers would pay for a shuttle. Taxi i took from Reagan Airport to hotel was $18. Also used car service for event in Arlington. Driver was a pleasure and she made the ride much more interesting than the typical cab driver. GU Shuttle located just down a block from the hotel, we never used it, but seemed to be very popular. It was not obvious to me initially, but you could reach the student center (food court, bookstore, cafe, market) directly from the hotel lobby, never having to go outside.This was very useful considering the hot temperatures outside. Small student market for snacks, fruit,water, and priced at the normal rate. Across a path from the hotel the Epicurean Dining was perfect for dinner/takeout (salad, pizza, sushi, etc). Much better quality/atmosphere than expected from a college food court. We did not use Faculty Club Restaurant (located in the hotel's conference area), buffet opened for lunch and dinner. Noticed a "free" self service laundry room, on the 5th floor, though we did not use.. Hotel provided newspapers in the lobby and it seemed that apples where at the front desk in the morning.The hotel staff was very helpful, I asked lots of questions about walking directions since I initially had no idea where I was in relation to the campus and downtown. It would have been more helpful if they just offered the maps originally, but I guess they incorrectly assumed I knew where I was going. Very easy walk to downtown. Less than 15 minutes to Georgetown shopping area.Highlights from downtown: "old stone house" historic sight, Georgetown cupcakes ( pre-noon lines seemed shorter), Dean and Delucca market, experiencing the old townhomes/cobblestones walkways.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. Nice, clean rooms. Can be hard to find if you're not familiar with the area/location.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JMUDuke08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Two of my electronic chargers were stolen throughout my 2 week stay. On the second day of my stay my daughter's Ipad charger was stolen and on the 6th day my Tmobile cell phone charger was stolen out of my room. Don't leave your chargers out in the open, please hide them in your suitcases, because housekeeping will steal them.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willi098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

I would definitely stay here again and that's mainly because of the hotel's location! I'd recommend this place to people travelling without an automobile as you don't need one. As a guest at the hotel, you are free to use the University Shuttle bus which you'll find right around the corner. It was very realiable, running to and from there to the Metro Station at Dupon Circle every 10 minutes or less from early in the morning to late at night. I am a middle aged woman travelling with my 83 year old dad, if I'd been with my husband, we probably would have walked directly to the Metro (about 2 miles away) from the hotel. From Dupont Circle, you're 4-5 stops (all on the same line, the Red Line!) from the Capital, the Smithsonians and Union Station! If you want to travel for cheap, stop at Macdonald's at Union Station for breakfast for under $3! before you venture off as a tourist.

After a crazy day of sightseeing, being around thouands of people, etc., traffic, it was great to return to the peace and quiet of the hotel. On my last evening there, my dad was too tired to venture out, and I wasn't quite ready to settle in for the night; much to my delight, I discovered that Georgetown's shops and restaurants were a 15-20 minute stroll!

The only thing that I didn't like about the hotel was that they charged $10/day for wireless service; they do give you one free day so take advantage of that. The staff was very courteus and helpful, and the hotel was clean and quiet. There was a small gym on the second floor which was adequate. So, if you're going there to get out and tour D.C. and Georgetown, the hotel is perfect! I'd go back....

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

The hotel is a conference center and also directly across from the hospital on Georgetown University's campus. You should only stay there if you have hospital, University, or conference business. It is not for the sightseer/traveler and NOT for children. It lacks most amenities but it is still well-appointed, nicely furnished, and clean. It is a 3/4 mile walk one way to the main street nearby so keep that in mind although walking through campus and the beautiful Georgetown row houses is a treat. Watch the cobblestone sidewalks - they kill the feet! Because the hotel is at the end of an alley tucked into a corner, it is very quiet so a good night's sleep will be had by all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seekbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed for three nights in conjunction with a conference being held at the conference center. The location would not be great for tourists, but it was very convenient for the on-site conference. The rooms are small but very nicely decorated. Clean and comfortable bed. The fitness center had all new equipment but was very small and had no treadmill. As others have noted, I found the wireless internet to get slow in the evening and the a/c to have a mind of its own, but overall it was a very nice, quiet place. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWomanWhoGoesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing