We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #121 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here very recently and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. In a wonderful spot in the heart of leafy Georgetown. We found the rooms a good size and clean, all staff extremely polite and the beds very comfortable.

Only a couple of negative points - the distance to DC centre is far and the taxi service was quite poor unless you were prepared to wait around for 20/25 minutes (they need to look into setting up a business link with a local taxi company) and the wifi was not complimentary, which is an expectation these days.

Would stay again though, with better taxi links.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKS129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Watch out as the roads around the hotel are all under construction. You'll need to go off campus for a good meal. Service is okay, but you are staying here for the location....on campus at a georgetown University.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank MomMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. $235.00 per night including the local tax. Definitely not a good value for money. Run down and tired looking bathroom in desperate need of refurbishment. Everything in this hotel is considered extra and you have to pay for it even commonly used WiFi.
Try to find an alternative hotel if you can.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shafighian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was visiting a freshman at Georgetown University and found this hotel to be very convenient and reasonably priced for Washington DC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely updated and clean. Small bathroom but adequate. Would recommend.
In room dining for breakfast was very nice. Ate the lunch buffet one day it was OK but we arrived towards the end of the lunch hours so the buffet was scant. But the soup and salad were good. Surroundings were clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PittsburghMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was a little hard to find being hidden on Georgetown's campus but had a great stay after that. The staff at the front desk were awesome and gave us multiple recommendations for restaurants. Rooms were clean and quiet. The beds were a little soft for my liking.

Room Tip: Hard to find. You must enter from the hospital side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I wasn't impressed. The rooms are tired and in serious need of a makeover. No dinner service at the restaurant (although you can order room service). Breakfast was terrible. The only thing that made up for a very mediocre visit was the helpful and friendly attitude of the staff. Of course, as other reviewers have mentioned the big draw here is that it is super convenient if you are visiting Georgetown University, although hard to find (it's not signposted from the street) But it is not expensive at all so I guess you can't have everything!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

In and ideal world leisure travel is limited to weekends and/or luxury resorts. However, a recent family event necessitated a trip to DC midweek. Sadly, our go-to DC hotel was sold out. Seeking to 1. Remain in Georgetown and 2. Keep the car in one spot, reservations were secured. Fast forward to check in: "YOU will be responsible for any damages to your room, initial here." Ok, I get it, this is a college campus, thank you for the preemptive scolding. I inquired about a taxi and late checkout. Not. Gonna. Happen. Taxi: Eye roll: "You need to give me an hour's notice and THEN the taxi could arrive between 45 mins and and 15 mins." In Georgetown? Really? Later, a quick walk to Wisconson Ave, solved this dilemma. When we returned to our room later in the evening, we turned on the TV and settled in for a nightcap. Soon, a knock came on the door, that we were "too loud". Really? Paper thin walls may conduct noise, of course. We whispered ourselves into bed only to be awakened by an incessent alarm for a non emergency. After this sleep interruption, early in the morning the lawn crew started thier work, just outside our "second floor", yet ground level room. At about 8:30 housekeeping put their key in the lock while we struggled for our robes. OK, I GET IT NO LATE CHECK OUT! When we left, I mentioned the all night alarm to the desk and was met with a literal shoulder shrug. At $250.00 for a closet sized room. I hoped to get a good night's sleep and maybe a whiff of customer service. As far as security, one of the two elevator's key card sensor was out of service. At this busy hotel, this allowed ANY person in the lobby to enter the elevator and roam the hotel. The rooms are teeny tiny. They charge for internet. However, we were in Georgetown and I found my car, unmolested in the crowded garage in the morning, and we were not charged for damages to the room...winning?

Room Tip: Stay above the second floor, which is actually ground level and adds to security and noise concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#96 of 142 in Washington DC
552 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
58 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
569 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 142 in Washington DC
243 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-2113
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £109 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing