We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a university-based hotel, it's a great university”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #121 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Rockville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a university-based hotel, it's a great university”
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Note well the comments of mike110742 regarding lack of guest-controlled temperature in at least some of the rooms. In my case, I discovered too late that the climate unit would blow continually hot or continually cold, with no thermostat shut-off and no way to switch from one mode to the other. I wish I had seen that review before registering! On the first evening of my stay, my room had become over-cooled and I was unable to make the unit blow warm air. When I reported the situation, staff claimed that the problem was hotel-wide and would be fixed soon. In the meantime, I should simply turn the unit off. When, the next day, after several calls and an array of excuses, I insisted that something be done, I returned to my room after dinner to find that the unit had been switched to heat and, since there was no thermostatic shut-off, the temperature had soared to 97 degrees! Opening the windows and door eventually brought the temperature to a tolerable level. So beware!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler123999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    112
    82
    21
    18
See reviews for
68
28
19
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I had a GREAT stay at this property. It has been recently renovated and the rooms are updated, clean and comfortable. The staff is fabulous. Friendly, proactive, and attentive. I highly recommend it and I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 4Luvmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days at the end of March. I received a great price on priceline, but was worried that it was a little off the traditional tourist track. I had also read reviews about it being outdated. I was pleased with my stay.
Here is the current scoop: Beautifully renovated rooms are up to date. A free shuttle leaves from in front of the hotel about every 10 minutes on weekdays to the Dupont Circle Metro station. It couldn't be easier to connect with the Metro and from there DC is wide open. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Fresh fruit, cookies and newspapers were available daily. They charge for parking and wi-fi, but if you walk 20 feet from the hotel lobby to the Starbucks shop you've got free wi-fi! The hotel has a free guest laundry room available for use and even provided the detergent. Many low cost food options are in the adjacent student union building as well as a convenience store.
A taxi from Reagan International was $20. You could also take the Metro to Dupont Circle stop and hop the shuttle to the hotel for a cost of about $2.75. That is how we returned to the airport. The beds were comfy and the rooms quiet. We enjoyed seeing Georgetown.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I stayed here with my wife while attending a small conference sponsored by the Georgetown President's Office, so our bill was paid by the University. I was pleased that there were no issues at checkout -- often when I travel and the bill is being paid by someone else, there is confusion.

As others have noted the place is somewhat dated. However, it is in the midst of renovations. There is construction in the lobby and a note was left in our room telling us that everything is being updated and hoping we will stay again when the renovation is complete.

The location is ideal if you need to be on campus at Georgetown but probably not great for anything else. The hotel is literally located in the student union building which gives you access to a number of eateries, a food court, the GU bookstore, ATMs and so on. On the other hand, it is weird to see students walking to class through the lobby of your hotel and past the conference room where you are having breakfast.

Even after renovation the rooms will still be small and lacking any real view. The bathroom in particular is tiny and poorly designed and there is no closet in the room; the ironing board and iron hang from hooks in the bathroom. Unless they are planning to knock out walls and so on, this will remain.

The staff people were very friendly and very knowledgeable and they looked spiffy in Georgetown sweaters.

If you are visiting Georgetown University this is a great place to stay. If you are a tourist you probably would not book this place directly. If you are awarded this hotel through Priceline I suppose you could do worse.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Before i went i had read reviews about the hotel and was known with the downsides of the hotel. The truth is the rooms somewhat look like they haven't been renovated for a couple of years. Everything is sufficient, but not great. If you seek perfection, this hotel is not the hotel for you. For me that wasn't a problem. Everything i needed was there. I could control the temperature and switch of airconditioning. The room was kept clean daily. For 10 dollar a day wireless internet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Better than suspected were the nearby food options. Next to the hotel you have a starbucks, cosi, subway, pizza hut, kfc and within a ten minute walk you haven diverse restaurant options in georgetown.

Bij previous reviews i was curious about the options to get around. They were great. The university provides shuttle busses to different metro stations you can use without costs. In a five minute walk you can cath the dc circulator for 1 dollar a ride or the georgetown shuttle to metro stations for 1 dollar a ride. I didn't need the taxis, but if you want they are in front of the hotel all the time.

My stay at this hotel was in total very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbnmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

[Note to Priceline & other third-party guests] Like everyone else, 3rd-party customers read reviews and arrive with expectations; high attentiveness to guest needs is what distinguishes one 2-3 star from others. Third-party prices fill rooms, and provide the business with opportunities to sell services and win future customers. My advice to Priceline customers: pay attention to reviews, articulate your needs clearly (both in advance and on arrival) and speak directly and immediately to management if your expectations are not met. If basic room needs are unmet and you bought from Priceline, ask management for adjustment; if unresponsive, tell Priceline in writing; use snail mail to the company’s street address and direct to Customer Service VP. I’ve found them responsive. Talk to local management directly and pleasantly: they value meaningful guest feedback and often can use information you provide to correct persistent problems. Whatever rate you paid, be courteous and civil to a fault: it never helps to be confrontational. Commend with care what is commendable.]

I discussed both commendations and problems thoughtfully with management, and was heard. I did not ask for adjustment. A resolution to issues discussed below (some of them out of the hotel’s control) was offered by way of a partial refund, which I did not request but which the hotel was generous to offer.

This hotel has built-in issues, because it’s owned by Georgetown University, on the Medical Campus [great for walking but far, far from good public trans options] and managed once by Marriott but now under contract with Aramark Corporation. One must presume both entities wish to profit, but Aramark has inherited from Marriott some serious and long-term maintenance problems. Which leads us to . . . . . .

Positives: Great, supportive, warm bedding. Nice Bath & Body Works toiletries. Unfailingly pleasant staff, housekeeping and especially a maintenance worker who came many, many times to adjust the room temperature, see below. A comp bottle of water in placed in the room most days with coffee. No tea. A no-cost guest washer and dryer on 5th floor.

Not-so-greats, small-but frustrating things: nowhere near a Metro or other good, fast public transportation. It’s foot, or cab. Water and temp controls at bath are not intuitive; hot water supply on and off, and low temperature; tub drain leaks water: a bath you draw now will be drained out in 30 minutes. One seat in room, a desk chair with hydraulic controls that leak—set it up, in 30 minutes you will be 12 inches lower. Old TV, in a cabinet with one of two doors that auto-closes (it would have to be taped open).

What-the-hotel will not tell you, on its website or anywhere else: FOOD--5 minutes away, across the parking lot, a huge buffet-style cafeteria and grill and sushi bar called “The Epicurean,” open early (6 am) and closing late (10p or after). I was referred there by students in the “Starbucks” hallway adjacent to the hotel lobby. It’s not owned by Aramark, so competes with Aramark food. Reasonable prices and great food. FREE WIRELESS: not available anywhere in the hotel, but available in the Starbucks hallway off the lobby, apparently provided as a university service. The Starbucks is not a corporate store, so a Gold Card is useless.

The BIG bad ISSUE, also not disclosed: Guests (at least in some rooms) cannot control room temperature. This would not be an issue in summer, when the A/C is jacked to maximum. But at other seasons . . . . the valves that work the chiller and heater systems buried in the wall, are stuck in many or most rooms and must be manually manipulated. Result: room is overheated or overchilled, guest has recourse only by calling the staff to come or sometimes, by allowing in outside air. I speculate that this may violate health department regulations and that it could be a health hazard to elderly guests. After three calls to and visits from staff to “fix” matters temporarily, the front desk sent up a big plate of cookies and fruit, and I piled on the warm clothes.

Nasty add-ons: I request a refrigerator so that, for health reasons, I can control my diet. The charge for a mini that can be bought new for $85 = $25 per day. This charge was removed when I complained to management. Internet, fair quality: $9.95 a day, a new access code must be bought daily. Parking, $25 for 24 hours, controlled by the university hospital.

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank mike110742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere. But they offer a FREE shuttle that will take you to the Rosyln metro. The people at the hotel are not very nice or friendly. I called for directions becuase it is not easy to find and I had to hang up on the operator because she would not let me explain where I was. The room was okay. It smelled funny and the bathroom is VERY small. It was a quite hotel. there is alot of places to eat on the campus...because that is where the hotel is located. On a college campus behind a hospital. It was not loud. The bed was very comfortable. If you are in washington to see the sights this is a perfect place. we were rarely in the room, so this was a perfect place for us. No late night places to eat. And parking stinks! $25 day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
523 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#117 of 141 in Washington DC
51 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
516 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
215 reviews
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-2113
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing