We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has nothing to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #121 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Hotel has nothing to offer”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The hotel doesnt have any ammenities... There is no pool, no full size gym, no bar, or restaurant, no smaoking in entire facility, etc. If you want internet you will have to pay for it $10 a day and it takes 30 minutes to load simple youtube video...It is located between cancer center and campus graveyard...I am never bringing my clients and co-workers here- ever again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    113
    85
    21
    20
See reviews for
72
29
19
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roscoe, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Booked here on Priceline. Big mistake. The rooms are very nice, clean and the staff is helpful. HOWEVER...the pool is on campus and there is a 10.00/day charge per person. The internet-which is free in the student center in the building-is $10.00/day charge. The refrigerator is $20.00/day and a microwave is $15.00/day. If you are traveling with children you know that these options can be priceless, so adding these "amenities" can add $45-55/day to your stay. You can get a downtown hotel within walking distance to everything for that price. We did have convenient bus service outside of hospital (this hotel is attached to the hospital and student center) but be prepared to walk across parking lots and construction sites. NOT good if you have strollers, wheelchairs, young kids, etc. The walk from M street on the southside of campus is up a steephill not great with little tikes or strollers. FOOD-not told to you by staff or priceline, there is a Starbucks, Pizzahut/KFC/Subway food court all in the building with limited hours and a restaurant a building away that sells hot breakfast by the pound which turns out inexpensive. We had to ask staff to find out that all of these were open to the public and we did not need to eat at the 15.00/person buffet at the hotel. No restaurants off campus closer that 20 min walk. There is no shuttle to and from the airports so be prepared to spend $50-75 for 3 people in a taxi each way.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peafamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Rockville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Note well the comments of mike110742 regarding lack of guest-controlled temperature in at least some of the rooms. In my case, I discovered too late that the climate unit would blow continually hot or continually cold, with no thermostat shut-off and no way to switch from one mode to the other. I wish I had seen that review before registering! On the first evening of my stay, my room had become over-cooled and I was unable to make the unit blow warm air. When I reported the situation, staff claimed that the problem was hotel-wide and would be fixed soon. In the meantime, I should simply turn the unit off. When, the next day, after several calls and an array of excuses, I insisted that something be done, I returned to my room after dinner to find that the unit had been switched to heat and, since there was no thermostatic shut-off, the temperature had soared to 97 degrees! Opening the windows and door eventually brought the temperature to a tolerable level. So beware!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler123999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east coast
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I had a GREAT stay at this property. It has been recently renovated and the rooms are updated, clean and comfortable. The staff is fabulous. Friendly, proactive, and attentive. I highly recommend it and I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 4Luvmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days at the end of March. I received a great price on priceline, but was worried that it was a little off the traditional tourist track. I had also read reviews about it being outdated. I was pleased with my stay.
Here is the current scoop: Beautifully renovated rooms are up to date. A free shuttle leaves from in front of the hotel about every 10 minutes on weekdays to the Dupont Circle Metro station. It couldn't be easier to connect with the Metro and from there DC is wide open. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Fresh fruit, cookies and newspapers were available daily. They charge for parking and wi-fi, but if you walk 20 feet from the hotel lobby to the Starbucks shop you've got free wi-fi! The hotel has a free guest laundry room available for use and even provided the detergent. Many low cost food options are in the adjacent student union building as well as a convenience store.
A taxi from Reagan International was $20. You could also take the Metro to Dupont Circle stop and hop the shuttle to the hotel for a cost of about $2.75. That is how we returned to the airport. The beds were comfy and the rooms quiet. We enjoyed seeing Georgetown.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I stayed here with my wife while attending a small conference sponsored by the Georgetown President's Office, so our bill was paid by the University. I was pleased that there were no issues at checkout -- often when I travel and the bill is being paid by someone else, there is confusion.

As others have noted the place is somewhat dated. However, it is in the midst of renovations. There is construction in the lobby and a note was left in our room telling us that everything is being updated and hoping we will stay again when the renovation is complete.

The location is ideal if you need to be on campus at Georgetown but probably not great for anything else. The hotel is literally located in the student union building which gives you access to a number of eateries, a food court, the GU bookstore, ATMs and so on. On the other hand, it is weird to see students walking to class through the lobby of your hotel and past the conference room where you are having breakfast.

Even after renovation the rooms will still be small and lacking any real view. The bathroom in particular is tiny and poorly designed and there is no closet in the room; the ironing board and iron hang from hooks in the bathroom. Unless they are planning to knock out walls and so on, this will remain.

The staff people were very friendly and very knowledgeable and they looked spiffy in Georgetown sweaters.

If you are visiting Georgetown University this is a great place to stay. If you are a tourist you probably would not book this place directly. If you are awarded this hotel through Priceline I suppose you could do worse.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Before i went i had read reviews about the hotel and was known with the downsides of the hotel. The truth is the rooms somewhat look like they haven't been renovated for a couple of years. Everything is sufficient, but not great. If you seek perfection, this hotel is not the hotel for you. For me that wasn't a problem. Everything i needed was there. I could control the temperature and switch of airconditioning. The room was kept clean daily. For 10 dollar a day wireless internet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Better than suspected were the nearby food options. Next to the hotel you have a starbucks, cosi, subway, pizza hut, kfc and within a ten minute walk you haven diverse restaurant options in georgetown.

Bij previous reviews i was curious about the options to get around. They were great. The university provides shuttle busses to different metro stations you can use without costs. In a five minute walk you can cath the dc circulator for 1 dollar a ride or the georgetown shuttle to metro stations for 1 dollar a ride. I didn't need the taxis, but if you want they are in front of the hotel all the time.

My stay at this hotel was in total very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbnmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
530 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
52 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
531 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
227 reviews
Key Bridge Marriott
#27 of 51 in Arlington
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-2113
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing