We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect from the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect from the Ritz”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

No complaints whatsoever. You certainly get what you pay for when you stay at the Ritz. The rooms are large, comfortable, and, most importantly, very clean. The bathroom is large with a separate soaking tub and the towels are thick and soft. The staff is extremely welcoming and helpful. The gym is large with plenty of equipment, but there is a fee for use during your stay.
The neighborhood is just outside of Georgetown and walking distance to several attractions and many restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    251
    95
    37
    25
See reviews for
257
186
45
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband, 2 young children, and I stayed at this hotel for 13 nights late June-early July. We had the Club Lounge plan. Our stay was a good one mostly due to the great and friendly service offered at the Club Lounge. I am sad to say that I forgot their names but there were 2 Ethiopian women in particular that made us feel welcome each time. The hotel itself was nice, clean, and efficient as expected of any Ritz except that the LA Fitness next door did not allow our children to use the pool. Also, there were no activities or anything fun for our kids to do in the hotel. It was a work trip for me and I would have appreciated more venues for them within the hotel. All in all, good experience. Would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

the gym attached to the hotel has the best sports bar, the staff is very courteous, overall a wonderful experience, the champagne in the mini bar was so good, i go back to stores looking for the brand..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumitnanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is the second time at this Ritz. Its a bit more "traditional" than the Ritz in Georgetown. I've stayed at both. The real highlight of this property is its proximity and availability of "The Sports Club/LA right in the same building. This is a fantastic health club and the same elevators to the Ritz go to the Health club. I spent the whole day there. There is a nominal $15/day charge however...well worth it.

This Hotel was wonderful as expected with luxurious rooms, wonderful staffing and a great new restaurant by Eric Ripert downstairs.

The only issue may be the location which seemed a bit of a distance for walking to Georgetown or other sites, BUT that's why there are Taxis!!

I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask if upgrades are available upon check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We came here with our 2 dogs on our way home from South Carolina. It was also our wedding anniversary. When walked in they offered us champagne, a hot towel, a snack and a treat for our dogs. We got to our room and it was beautiful. They had rose petals in a heart shape on the bed, a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries for our anniversary. We never had that done for us not even for our honeymoon when we stayed at Hard Rock Punta Cana. Now thats service. Plus they didnt even charge use a pet fee which this was the only hotel I found in the area that didnt charge the fee. Most of the hotel charge a fee up to 200.00 for 1 night. Loved this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Property was beautiful. Staff were very accomodating. Always had coffee in the morning, and juice and cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is the best place to stay in DC even though it lacks a reliably first class restaurant. The staff is uniformly excellent: friendly, correct, completely service oriented.

The rooms are nicely appointed and have great beds, perfect linen. Bathroom is spacious and has very nice amenities.

The gym is world class by any standard even if there is a modest cost for using it.

Strongly recommend the Club level. While in most hotels this is a kind of sham at the Ritz, there is a real breakfast, nice mid-day treats and wine in the late afternoon.

It is expensive and definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Club level or get access to the Club especially if you are with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Marriott, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing