We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just above ok v”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just above ok v”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I stay at RC in Boston and also in Singapore
This is not quite as good as either.
Warm welcome at desk and usual rooms -wonderful food service in club lounge although other services (concierge ) not as good. No offer to help with anything other than food.
Took 2 meals one in the bar area. It was fine but not great. Service not good. Just sat down and was offered a glass of Chardonnay!! The Mohito I actually had was again just ok.
I took breakfast in the restaurant on last day. Please don't ever bother. Bad service ,tables not sparkling clean-just a general tacky feel. A little like a cheap hotel. No buffet and uninspiring a la carte. Waste if $42 !!! Starbucks just as good seriously !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    251
    95
    37
    25
See reviews for
253
186
45
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

It's been a few years since I've stayed in a Ritz Carlton so I was a little surprised at the decline in level of service and detail for my brief overnight stay.
It's a nice property and everyone was very friendly, but here is what takes you from a luxury experience down to three stars:
1. No one greeted my upon my arrival at the motor court in fact I had to hunt down someone to take my car. Then no bellman, even after standing around and it not being busy. So I grabbed up all my bags and awkwardly walked into the lobby myself. Not even someone to open the door for me. Odd.
2. My reservation was confused so three people had to figure it out at the desk before I could get my room.
3. The wifi instructions didn't work and my trip to the concierge to fix it was in vein. They "don't really handle wifi", but if I want to go back up to my room and dial O, someone can walk me through it. Really? How about you dial O while I'm standing there and get it taken care of?
3. The valet and bell desk was a hot mess when trying to get to a prearranged shuttle service. No one knew what was going on and they were all arguing with one another.
4. If you are going to ask me which paper I want in the morning, then it's nice if you give me the one I ask for. The USA today isn't the Washington Post. Says so in big letters across the top of the paper.
5. Unless they intend to shoot a Hitchcock film in my room, they should change the flickering, almost dead, fluorescent bulb in the closet. Trying to dress became a dizzying experience. How do they not see that upon cleaning?
Someone needs to bring management in for a service audit before this brand goes from Ritz to Ramada.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank trvljournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is for the business travelers out there who book at costly hotels like the Ritz Carlton to insure a good nights sleep.

Here on a Thursday evening. They had an event in their ballroom that played loud music you could hear in my room on the 7th floor till 1 am. There was then an afterparty in the hotel playing music that despite my sleepmaker on its loudest, was playing till well after 2 am.

And it took 3 calls to the front desk before they sent security to check it out.

This is understandable if this is Vegas or Cancun during Spring Break, but I will not stay here again for business in fear of another big event wreaking havoc on the sleep schedule.

Next time, I am definitely staying at a smaller hotel, ie. Sofitel, in which I know there will be peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigLeagueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I don't think the RC is at the top of its game and was tempted to give it three stars.

First, my room was just eh. Sad view of a courtyard. Furniture and furnishings are dated. The shower head in particular looked like it had been there since 1990. I opened up the little box with the shower cap - it was empty. I reached for the lotion by the sink - it was shampoo.

Second, although the bar area is fairly nice, the bistro looks like it belongs in a different hotel. I guess they want to keep it casual, but I was a little chagrined that I had arranged for a business breakfast there. It just doesn't say "power breakfast." The breakfast itself was similarly disappointing - bacon terribly overcooked, cold toast (and limited toast options), very weak coffee. Would have complained but you can't do that during a business breakfast.

Really would have expected more from a RC and would not choose to stay here over other options in DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Georgia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Service was great. Room was outstanding. Everything was done according to the way the Ritz-Carlton would want the experience to be! Check in process was very personal. Turn down of the bed was outstanding with mints. Newspaper delivered in a recyclable bag.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Newamica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

During a long weekend visit, we stayed here for 2 nights. We were traveling without a car, so the walk to/from the Metro was a bit long, especially considering we had to walk through a park with a number of homeless people and rats during the rain. The hotel itself was a great hotel. This was my husband's first time at a Ritz and I think the expectation was larger than reality. The hotel was alright, the rooms were small but the service, as always, was great. Nothing bad about the hotel, but the location and exterior are a little off putting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A smaller lobby and bar area than some other Ritz Carlton's but was cozy atmosphere. Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant attached served upscale food and was above average...2 bars: in hotel and restaurant

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing