We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This property Exemplifies the Ritz! Especially the Club Lounge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California, USA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This property Exemplifies the Ritz! Especially the Club Lounge.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I are huge Ritz Carlton Hotel fans and as we travel extensively to Ritz Carlton’s all over the United States. Wherever we travel to, we always are seeking to make reservations at the Ritz. As such, we have stayed at the Tyson Court and Pentagon Ritz on several occasions while visiting Washington DC. This was our first stay at the Washington DC Ritz. After our three night stay, we now feel this is our favorite of the three. This property exemplifies what we have come to enjoy about the Ritz. The location is wonderful as it borders Georgetown and it is in walking distance of some great shops and restaurants. The staff is exceptional! We stayed on the Club Lounge Level and we found the staff in the Lounge to be wonderful. A special praise to Beri Sali and Curtis Johnson, who went out of their way to tend to all our needs while we stayed. They truly go above and beyond to make sure that you are enjoying yourself. We saw them being as attentive to other customers as well.
The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms were oversized (which we love a larger tub and sink area). I am not sure if this is just on the club level rooms, but our tub and shower were separate (which I always appreciate). The furnishings were up to date and the cleanliness of the room was superb.

The Sports Club connection/partnership with the Ritz and it is a large and well equipped workout. I did not use the spa, so I cannot comment on that.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business as well as pleasure. We were here for both and found the Ritz exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club Lounge Level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
The Club team is indeed wonderful - and I am so happy to hear that they made your stay special. We are excited to renovate the club lounge this summer.
We will also be renovating our luxury suites and the Spa and pool at our Sports club.
We are always trying to improve our facilities and create a wonderful experience for our guests.
I would love the opportunity to meet you on your next visit to the hotel - Please feel free to contact me. I can be reached at: 202-974-5502.
Thank you again for being our guest and taking the time to comment about your experience.
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    251
    95
    37
    25
See reviews for
253
186
45
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly and they provided outstanding service. Food excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent meeting rooms. Clean and comfortable bedrooms. Handled concerns immediately. Nice little additions daily. Great concierge. Three blocks from Metro. Second stay here. Will come again. Everyone in our group appreciated the consistency of service.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeepCano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay.
I am glad that you found our location to be convenient - as you mentioned we are really in the central hub - close to the metro - the museums - Georgetown and Dupont Circle.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your Dining and Meeting Experience as well.
Thank you for making The Ritz-Carlton you home when you travel to Washington DC - I hope to meet you personally on your next visit!
Warm Regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first time staying at a ritz carlton. The hotel and room were very nice. The service from the staff was outstanding. My only complaint was the 9.99 daily charge for wifi. You would think at the rate of the room, free wifi would be included.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mcord76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore County, MD
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I attended a two day conference held at the Ritz Carlton. I was asked to attend at the last minute so I was not able to sleep at this hotel but I spent the day as a meeting guest and it was perfection.

The attention to detail is impeccable. As you walk into the lobby the lightly scented candles add an instant elegance. Along the staircase toward the meeting rooms the one wall is filled with Dale Chihule's decorative glass. The meeting rooms and bathrooms were always spot on clean, well lighted, and true to the Ritz, you dry your hands with real cloth hand towels.

The meals were all delicious which really started with the presentation. Every detail had been thought of - superbly elegant. The food was a feast for the senses. The hot chocolate was amazing--creamy, and delicately rich, but not so much that you needed a drink of water right away. The asparagus was perfectly seared and tender, the shrimp spring rolls bursted with flavor, the Israeli couscous salad was colorful and so amazing and I could go on and on.

While I didn't get to stay in a room, and the rate tends to be out of my price range, I cannot say enough about how fabulous my day visit was. If you are attending a meeting or if you are a meeting planner or simply thinking of treating yourself to an elegant trip you cannot go wrong with booking this property. Plus, the location is fabulous.

Kudos to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

When you book a room at the Ritz, you have certain expectations about the service and room experience. You'll find this property meets those expectations.

Service throughout the stay was spot on. Gracious, curious, efficient.

The rooms are lovely, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMFRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Ritz is located near the Washington circle and within walking distance to the White House and the National Mall area. I went here on a business trip with a group and could not see as much as I would have liked to. Also the bitterly cold weather restricted the walks around town. The rooms here are quite spacious compared to the NY hotels. They also have a club lounge area which we were given free access to. The club lounge served you breakfasts and light snacks/desserts throughout the day. We enjoyed all our meals, especially the variety of cheese served for breakfast. The staff is also courteous, as you expect from a place like this. All in all, a very good place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudhanshu r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A really superb hotel just off "K" St. lobbying row or close to the Capitol. Not overwhelming on the outside but very, very nice inside. It's a smaller RC with cozy places for drinks, a meeting, or for your business group to stay. Super service and RC renown facilities. Walk to a Don Shula's. Too bad Blackies closed a few years ago. Was a tremendous restaurant. You can walk to many DC sites...or drop down to GWU.

Room Tip: Get one facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing