We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another stunning sculpture!”

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Half-day Washington DC Sightseeing Tour by Coach
Ranked #15 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another stunning sculpture!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I particularly loved this piece of work. I liked the pathway between two rock faces and the great man stepping out from a partially hewn piece of stone. Coupled with the tablets - all containing small snippets of his speeches - this was a fantastic and fitting tribute!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,807
    973
    256
    50
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Honor Flight Bus Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We drove past the M.L. King memorial but due to time restrictions we were unable to stop. We viewed the memorial from the Bus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulara, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite monument”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This monument is truly moving and reading his words on the walls touches one's humanity. This was my favourite of all the Washington monuments. What an inspirational human being. May he rest in peace. Go see it, it's worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tjikatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Powerful Reminder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The MLK, Jr monument was our finale on our family "MemorialS Day". Weekends are great for parking in D.C., so we easily found free parking in the parking lot that is along the tidal basin across the water from the Jefferson Memorial. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.National Memorial is a short walk from this parking area.
This memorial is quite impressive and meaningful on lots of levels. I was a child of the 50s; grew up in segregated Florida...a teen and young adult during the Civil Rights Movement, and suffered the terrible assassinations of the Kennedys and Martin Luther King, Jr. My own attitudes grew and evolved along with most white Americans of our time. The older I got, the more I genuinely, deeply appreciated the mission of Dr. King for his people and for people everywhere. You walk through an area of broken walls...tall and thick and strong, but broken...and into an open, beautiful area overlooking the water. Dr. King's ideals are deeply engraved in the walls surrounding this beautiful memorial. Words of a man inspired by his God. Strong, powerful words that brought about amazing change in our country. The likeness of Dr. King is carved in stone...much larger than life. A powerful statement in my mind about the everlasting value of his dream for our world that is much bigger than all of us.
People of all races and origins were visiting the site, but there was just something different about the Afican Americans who were there. They seemed to drink it in to a degree that I cannot, with a deeper understanding. An elderly woman sat still on a bench with a radiant smile that felt so warm and loving; a group of women celebrating their 30th birthday laughed and posed and celebrated life. A 30 something professional man, dressed in a suit and dress shoes on this Saturday, walked and read each quote in reverence. Meaningful beyond measure for all of them.
Very, very special for all of us.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ghm172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I visited the MLK, Jr. Memorial on yesterday evening. It is beautifully down and I felt at peace in the Memorial. I plan to bring my family back soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing