We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been worse.”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #128 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Baron Hotel although charming in an old worldly sort of way and really convenient to a great district, was ruined by its useless wifi connection or lack of it. My husband had deadlines to meet and study to do and I had commitments to work on online with too, so decent internet access was essential. We ended up sitting on the stairs to get a patchy connection. Very frustrating.
The room was bright and airy but unfortunately really noisy even though we were on the 4th floor, the road works at night didn't help but to be fair that was out of the hotel's control. I can sleep through anything but my husband found it hard and he had all day meetings each day. The lack of laundry facilities was a pain too, especially since we had been travelling some weeks.
However, if it's just a place to sleep that you require and you sleep easily and well, you'll be fine. The price is reasonable and the you can't beat the location.
We found the staff friendly and helpful and the lift worked for us although a little treacherous.
Treat people nicely and you get nice service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thebidlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I found the elevator so treacherous when it did work -half the time - that I usually climbed the many stairs to my room which was reasonable and clean and the size one expects in an urban B+B. The housekeeping staff were mighty nice, and so were the front desk people which was a real change from my stay two years ago. It is also reasonably good value for money. Breakfast is extra although coffee and tea are complimentary aorund the clock.

I was so concerned about the safety of the elevator that I did report it to the DC Municipality and told them to get their inspectors out there pronto.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxonian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We arrived at this hotel after booking it in feb and after travelling for 12 hours, to be greeted by a sullen man in a noisy reception next to a bar. He took a long time on the computer then said they had no rooms but he would get us a taxi to a sister hotel. We arrived at this hotel to be told they only had one room for the four of us ( 2 mature couples ) but could give us a family room to share !! We declined and he sent us to another hotel up the road that had two small rooms but we were so tired we decided to stay and speak to the management to complain in the morning. But nobody ever knew where he was and he never did contact us.It spoilt our stay in this lovely city and we would say never stay at the Baron hotel, we were glad we didn't as it looked very grubby.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was on a long business trip and took a day off in Washington D.C. which was a transit point for me. Booked this hotel which is conveniently located near main city attractions. That's it. I reached the hotel from IAD on a rainy September evening. The entrance was crowded with the patrons of Bier Baron Tavern. Anyway I could manage to crawl to reception with my 2 piece luggage and there was no one in the tiny reception area. After quite some time, a gentleman appeared and wasted some time to get me checked in. Because, he took my credit card and charged almost double the rate than what I booked with them. He however, corrected that when I pointed out the issue. I had to find my reservation confirmation from my luggage to make that correction happen. Not a good check-in experience at all.
Then I had to manage myself with the outdated elevator (which they call 'vintage', :-) ) with my luggage. The room, bed, toilet were clean and in excellent condition.
The free Wi-Fi is actually not workable. I found 4/5 Wi-Fi network with the name "Baron" and most of them were not connectable. Even the ones I could connect my laptop were getting disconnected every now and then. So, actually I could do nothing with that unstable connections. Total wastage of my time.
It was raining and dark outside. So, I did not take chance of other dining options around Dupont circle. I went to the basement tavern for the dinner and that was not as pathetic like the Wi-Fi experience. Actually, the food and the drinks were very good.
The price was on lower side but you can get much better value with this price in other hotels in Washington D.C. On the whole, it was an less than average experience for e.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taslimul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I thought the Baron Hotel was a very pleasant stay - The location was great, we were doing a quick trip on a budget so rented bikes just down the road & did our own 'tour' of the attractions. The hotel was handy to them all

It was a tidy room, very nice bathroom (compared to what we had seen in our other hotels on our travels..) I'd recommend this hotel to those on a budget definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As a couple in our late 20's, my spouse and I were looking for a place to stay close to the memorials/museums and with things to do within walking distance, the week before a friend's nearby wedding. It was a safe, very walkable area with plenty to do, at a price much cheaper than surrounding hotels, but weigh that with disadvantages below to see if the negatives would be things that aren't as important to you.

Advantages:
-very clean!
-Friendly and polite staff
-Close to major attractions for
less money than surrounding hotels
-Bier Baron below the hotel has a fantastic beer selection

Disadvantages:
-Horrible, lumpy mattress that made our backs sore, not hotel-grade at all
-Wifi not available majority of the time, and it was a 3G deadzone for verizon
-Free breakfast was choice of 2 cereals, old bagels, or doughnuts
-Bathroom entrance directly across from the foot of the bed with about a foot of space and a sliding door (awkward)
-Very little water pressure
-Tv on the side of the bed made it hard to watch

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a pretty good hotel in a pretty good location. I was very off put when i asked for a 4am taxi to the airport to find out that the front desk person called what appeared to be his buddy who has a car... charged me way too much but as it was very early had no choice!

Room Tip: away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericpianar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#131 of 142 in Washington DC
258 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#129 of 142 in Washington DC
331 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#123 of 142 in Washington DC
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#119 of 142 in Washington DC
1,857 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#107 of 142 in Washington DC
363 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#86 of 142 in Washington DC
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £61 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing