We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This was our first trip to the US and we were fortunate to have work paying for the hotel otherwise we wouldn't have been able to afford the hotel. We have however been lucky enough to stay in several other 5 star hotels and resorts around the world and this was right up there in standard. It's pricey but then that's the way it is in the US if you want somewhere decent to stay and you couldn't get a better location if you wanted to fit in some site seeing around the monuments and White House. We walked everywhere and loved every minute of it.

The hotel is beautiful with that french style you can't beat. We also stayed in the New York one which was equally as lovely but the rooms in Washington were bigger as was the ensuite. Both have very good gyms

We just can't say enough about the two Sofitel Hotels we stayed in - they and the staff were fabulous. We would love to go back

Room Tip: Go for a room as high up as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibraltarwgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    791
    153
    63
    20
See reviews for
668
1,293
185
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Spent 5 nights in Junior suite - room very nive - bed and pillows great - view terrible into alleyway....was OK to good. About 3 blocks from White House - Use the metra to get around - cheap and easy! Don't eat breakfast directly across the street !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
294 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

$450/night. No coffee/tea maker. View looked into a dark alley. Excellent breakfast. So expensive. Then they charge you for internet. No newspaper delivered.

Room Tip: Demand a room with a view looking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpatter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel for your visit in Washington D.C. I do apologize you seemed to have a less than satisfactory stay with us. For your next visit I would like to inform you that we have complimentary coffee makers and hot water kettles upon request, and we offer complimentary coffee and tea in Le Bar in the mornings. We offer delivery of newspapers such as the Washington Post, New York Times, Financial Times and Wall Street Journal to your room, and we have them also available for guests in the restaurant and bar. We have a lovely selection of Luxury rooms that have a street view into downtown Washington D.C. so be sure to request one for your next visit. We are happy to offer complimentary internet for guests 24 hours a day in our business center. I hope to welcome you back again to enjoy these amenities!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I recently stayed in the Sofitel for an extended weekend, and while I have no major complaints I don't understand the rave reviews either. The hotel is convenient located near Lafayette Square, and the staff are very pleasant. The room, while convertable, was a bit drab (all shades of beige) and had no free wifi in the room, which I found rather cheap given the rates charged. There is also no coffee machine in the room, and no newspapers made available. (Once again, something which they could easily offer given the rate). The soap was not change once, after three days for two people. As I said, I have no major complaints, but I have certainly stayed in nicer hotels for much less.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to know you enjoyed our convenient location. Next time you visit be sure to take advantage of our complimentary newspaper delivery to your room. We would be happy to send you a coffee maker or hot water kettle to your room, or you can enjoy complimentary coffee and tea in Le Bar in the mornings. Our business center is open 24 hours with complimentary internet and printing services. Our rooms are serviced daily and turndown service is offered in the evenings, so I am very sorry you experienced otherwise. We hope for the opportunity of welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I recently took my daughters on a trip to Washington DC and chose the Sofitel hotel on line with little thought. I am very glad I did. It is well located, only a few blocks from the Whtie House but on a relatively quiet street. The staff was very acommodating from the front desk when we had initial problems with our room to the concierge who gave very helpful advice and directions. The room service was also excellent with excellent food.
My teenage wanted to take the bed home it was so comfortable. I cannot say enough!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

The Sofitel at Lafayette Square is a marvelous hotel. The staff is wonderfully helpful and fluent in several languages. They provide you with maps and show you where metro stops are or other sites of interest. We lost a camera and they called the next day to let us know they hadn't found it, but could they help with anything else? (We found the camera somewhere else.) They were sincerely interested in us and extremely friendly. The hotel is located within short walking distance of the National Mall and other sites and close to metro lines blue and orange. Inside the hotel is a marvelous little bistro where we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. Room service provided us with a great late-night meal. The rooms are very luxurious feeling and extremely quiet, even though you are in the middle of a very busy city. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We went on priceline to get a cheaper rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyloumcgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2011

the hotel staff was excellent! we enjoyed the restaurant, ici, very much for breakfast and dinner. The bar and lounge was excellent, with very good staff. The only complaint was that one night the people in the room next door argued almost all night so that was not pleasant as I could hear them through the walls!

we would stay at this hotel again as it had a wonderful location, also!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing