We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter_Cairns_11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,192 - 2,198 of 3,277 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Trenton
14
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I have visited the Sofitel Washington four times this year. All of the staff go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable; all requests are fulfilled promptly. Many staff remember my name. The overall experience from the front door, to check in, Le Bar and ICI Urban Bistro is first rate. Rooms are on the small side, but well appointed. A great plus is ICI, where Chef Olivier Perret prepares terrific upscale bistro. During the past year, my spouse, business guests and I have dined at ICI many times, and have never been disappointed. The food and service are high quality, a value, and a real DC gem. My spouce who has lived in Paris, enjoys the French flair, the international staff, and the American "can do" warmth and positive attitude. Among DC's top hotels, this one ranks among the best.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Merci beacoup! It is always a pleasure to welcome back familiar guests, and as always I thank you for choosing us. Please be sure to come visit now that the Farmer's Market is back, because every Friday we offer the Fresh Farm Friday menu with a variety of fresh produce and cheeses that I personally hand select. We will see you soon, a bientot!

Best,
Olivier Perret
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I have stayed in many a hotel. The Sofitel Lafayette Square, to my mind, is one of the best -- if not the best -- I have ever stayed in. The location was great (it was a block and a half from the White House!), the hotel itself was uniquely elegant, and the hotel staff -- from the doormen to the front desk staff to the concierge to the room service personnel -- was simply outstanding. The service was just superb. I am glad I chose this hotel. And I hope to come back to Washington DC and to once again stay in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charliechan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

From Check in to check out and everything in between this hotel was number 1! We travelled around the states for 5 weeks and stayed in 7 4/5 star hotels (some much more expensive than the Sofitel) and this was by far the best. The staff are the most friendly and professional I have come across in all my travels. The rooms were beautiful including a gorgeous bathroom with floor to roof tiles and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The gym is great with all the equipment you need and in excellent condition. The location is perfect, a short walk to some major attractions. Will recommend this hotel to anyone heading to DC for either work or leisure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPD025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This hotel bed (pillows, bedding, etc) is the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Also, the room was so cozy and quiet (so quiet, that we thought perhaps we were the only ones on our floor...which was not the case). I lastly want to comment on how friendly the staff were. Room service was prompt and the food was very good. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This is a great hotel you will not be disappointed! You can't find a better location. The service (everyone was polite and friendly and helpful) was fantastic, the restaurant was great and they have a great bar. I contacted the hotel prior to our visit to inquire about any upgrades that might be available since I was going to celebrate my anniversary and birthday..thought I'd splurge a little more. The got back to me right away with a free upgrade and congratulated me on my celebrations. They also sent a nice bottle of evian and wonderful chocolates with a handwritten note the first night we were there congratulating us once again. It goes without saying that the rooms were quite nice and the bathroom were great. The beds were also extremely comfortable. The only tiny issue I had with the hotel was that the thermostat was set to not go below 65 degrees and I am pretty hot natured so this was a little uncomfortable at night when I was sleeping. When I stay again (and we will be back) I will just let the hotel know and I am sure they will accommodate me. Thanks to everyone at the Sofitel we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Just ask, the hotel is more than helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
12
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This was my first and last stay at your hotel. The A/C was not functioning even after I reported it and the staff "fixed it". The amount of money I paid for the room was not equal to the value. To top everything off, you even charged $10/day for internet access. REALLY ?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,171 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
3,150 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
2,354 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £159 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Accorhotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing