We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice if You can afford it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice if You can afford it”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Near White House. Otherwise boring area. Very high standard. Excellent breakfast and service. If You like luxury and have the budget....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pekkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel for your visit to Washington. I am thrilled to know you were able to enjoy our proximity to tourist areas like the White House and National Mall, as well as our effort to provide luxury service to our guests. Next time you come to visit, please speak to us so we can point you in the right direction to the restaurants, lounges, nightclubs and other entertainment venues like the Verizon Center, movie theaters and bowling allies that are just minutes walking from our hotel!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,129
    805
    159
    64
    21
See reviews for
680
1,309
188
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

After a fantastic stay at the Queenstown (NZ) Sofitel, I had high hopes for the DC branch. Have to say it didn't quite meet the mark.

Good: wonderfully spacious room; plenty of space in the bathroom; large comfy bed; impressive selection of toiletries; very close to the metro; circulator and the tourist attractions, reception and concierge were pleasant and helpful.

Not so good: checking in, the bed only had a really thick cover and no thin blanket so it was sweltering hot till we asked for one the following day (and got two since they remade the bed properly); the aircon didn't function correctly so the room was very hot one night; aircon was really really loud even on low; no kettle or tea or cups in the room; room service took forever (when calling again after 30mins, was told they were very busy); poor service at breakfast (but attentive service at dinner); area can be a bit desolate at night and there's construction next door.

Wouldn't stay in the DC hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and thank you for your loyalty to the Sofitel brand. I am happy to know you were able to take advantage of some of our luxury amenities and enjoyed the spacious guestroom. We prepare our SoBed's in the French tradition to include a luxurious feather duvet without a top sheet. We offer extra sheets, however, to all guests that are more comfortable with them, and we can also accommodate our beds for guests who may have allergies to down covers and pillows. Along with the complimentary coffee and tea offered in Le Bar each morning, we have coffee and tea kettles available for the guestrooms upon request. We also have Concierge and Guest Relations assistance available to provide a tailored guide to local restaurants and sites that you may enjoy around our prime downtown location. I certainly hope you will be able to join us again to experience all that we have to offer.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was the last stop on our trip and we had 3 days here - the staff from the very start treated you with complete attention - your every need is catered for here - and as for location you wont get any better - from Jermaine on the door right the way through.


we had room 504

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dublin_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Sofitel is a wonderful brand and their hotels continue to never disappoint. The location of the Sofitel in DC is fantastic. 5 Min walk to the White House. 2 Min to the Metro. Our room was what you would expect for a big city hotel. Meaning rooms run small in larger metro cities, but all in all I have no complaints. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful with making reservations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwd316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stay at the Washington Sofitel during holiday weekends when the city is abandoned by Congress and the hotels run special rates. I am always greeted as if I am arriving royalty and have on several occasions been given upgrades. Last time they asked me which Shakespeare play I was in town to see, so I guess they have a way of remembering loyal (not royal) guests and their interests. Rooms are always clean and well serviced. Very modern if you enjoy that. I happen to like the neighborhood and also the comfy bar area downstairs. I don't usually eat breakfast, but once it was included in my rate and it was the best I have been served in an American hotel. Ah, the French when it comes to food! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don't like the junior suites which are face the air shaft. Pick a large bedroom if you want s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildernessBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The room was really great, breakfast is excelent! Kind Staff, like always! And it is near the White House! There is no reason why you should pay more to stay at other hotel...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sicarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Relaxing, attentive staff, a bit expensive but you are in a big city. Clean quiet rooms. Great location relative to getting around in the city. Nothing but positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,869 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
3,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing