We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussie family review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights from Sept 14th after finding a great price online. Location was AMAZING, so close to The White House( 1 1/2 blocks away) and metro station within 1 block.

Very clean, very quiet. Our family of five (2A and 3C aged 14yrs and two 11yr olds) had a room with 2 double beds and a lounge that folded out. For the amount of time we spent in our room(we slept here that was it!) it was fine but if your family needs to be in the room for longer than minimal time then this room type/ hotel may not be for you.

Would definitely stay here again if the price is right

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,024 - 2,030 of 3,229 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

My Girl friend and I stayed at sofitel washington lafayette square for 2 nights. The room was clean and well maintained. It is in a good location short walk to the white house. We got to the hotel at 8am and our room was already ready, which was great. All staff were really freindly. upon check out we got M&Ms from the mini bar but didnt appear on bill, we told the receptionist we had got them, she gave them to us for free because we were honest which was nice. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the Sofitel and were very satisfied.
Our room was well appointed - lovely king bed and duvet. Spotlights on the headboard with flexible adjustment were great for reading in bed.
Lovely shower.
My only criticism is that like many higher end hotels they do not provide coffee making in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again, and let us know that you would prefer a coffee maker on your room as we have them available to be sent complimentary upon request.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have stayed at Sofitel Lafayette Square in D.C. several times, and each time it has been a perfect experience. We always choose a luxury room or a junior or prestige suite if the price is right. The rooms we have inhabited are very well appointed, clean and very comfortable (the only exception was a "Superior" room where friends stayed, which I can confirm had a very hard bed for some reason, quite the opposite of what we have experienced in the other rooms). Service at this hotel is top notch. The restaurant is excellent, and there is a very nice bar across the lobby hall from the restaurant.

The location is incredible, just a block from the White House, an easy walk to major attractions in D.C. and very central if you are there on business.

Be sure to eat lunch or dinner at least once at the Old Ebbit Grill a couple of blocks down the street - a classic, historic and delicious place to dine - but make a reservation!

On our most recent visit Oct 3-4, they upgraded us from a Prestige Suite to the Presidential Suite (where President Sarkozy of France was the last guest before us). Wow! Of course, this was an unusual event, but it was an unsolicited generosity on their part. Also, we brought friends for whom I accidentally booked the wrong date, and the hotel figured out how to get them a room in spite of my error and the fact that they were booked. They really went the extra mile.

Room Tip: Go for the Luxury room, not the Superior, or a Suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel was truly excellent! From Moneim (not sure of the spelling) in management in the dining area - to his staff - Marvin, Cecelio, Jennifer, and Corentin... the service was excellent!

Also, the doorstaff was wonderful - Jaman (also unsure of the spelling)

All of these people were genuinely interested in my comfort and feeling of support away from home.

My room was beautiful and comfortable.

I look forward to my next stay in DC, and am hoping very strongly to stay again at the Sofitel!

The housekeeping staff was not intrusive, but always available!

Merci bien! et, a tres bientot!
Amanda

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandalee862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our second stay at the Sofitel. Great location, easy to walk to white house, restaurants and all the museums at the Smithsonian.
Beautiful design of lobby and rooms. Beds are super comfortable. Doorman is very attentive (sorry I forgot his name). We stayed in a junior suite this time. 2 adults slept in king size bed in large private bedroom while 2 kids slept on sofa bed in outer room.
Here were the minor service issues which they need to work on:
check in is 3pm. We arrived around 3:05 after a long car ride from NY. Rooms were not ready due to late departure of IMF guests so the front desk offered us free snacks in Le Bar until room was ready. They asked for our mobile number so that we could receive a call from them when the room was available. After 45 minutes and some delicious French fries, we left Le Bar and asked front desk how much longer. They said they weren't sure so they continued to store our luggage for us and we told them we were going to walk to the museums. One of the front desk people advised us that they would send up milk and cookies for our kids later that night as an accommodation, we never saw these cookies or milk the entire weekend.
At this point it was after 4pm but we managed to squeeze in a visit to the Smithsonian.
We returned to the Sofitel around 6pm and asked the front desk if the room was ready. They seemed surprised that I would ask and I explained that they never called us on our mobile to alert us.
Room was great. Before leaving for dinner I checked the sofa bed to find that it had no sheets or pillows and none in the closet. I called the front desk and they said they will send someone up so I gave them a time and sure enough, when we returned from dinner that night the sofa bed was made. I was a little surprised that they didn't do turn down service on our king bed, but only some hotels offer that. We called for an extra pillow and that arrived before the kids went to bed.
Nice touch is that they offer foam or feather.
I asked about room service for breakfast and the evening serviceman said we should have had a card to fill out, but he brought us one since it was missing.
We put it on the door for an early delivery around 8:45.
At 8:30 we received a call that they didn't have Belgium waffles. Not a huge deal but with 15 minutes notice I wondered when they discovered the missing batter? One of my kids was disappointed but had pancakes instead. Very delicious food!
On 2nd night, no turn down service for sofa bed or our bed but at least the sheets were on the sofa bed.
Overall, great stay. Would like more than 1 bar of soap in bathroom. Hotel was great about giving us evian water to use in the 1 cup coffeemaker. The only other option is to walk all the way to the bathroom with a cup of water at a time to make coffee.
There are no soda machines or candy machines in hotel. Only a very expensive mini fridge of items in the room. We walked to CVS for a $1 dollar chocolate bar instead of the $7 candy bar in the mini fridge.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fam4ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay with us. We appreciate you choosing the Sofitel in Washington D.C. It is our priority to provide our guests with luxury service, and extreme attention to detail, so I am sorry to learn that you experienced otherwise. Our housekeeping and front desk teams work very hard to ensure rooms are ready by 3pm for guests just like yourself who have traveled a long way. As you experienced, it is sometimes more difficult when we are completely booked to turn them over as quickly. We offer to securely store guests luggage while they explore the downtown area attractions or relax in Le Bar, and follow up with a phone call when the room is ready, so I apologize that there must have been a miscommunication and you were not called. Each night we provide turn down service in the room, and the sofa beds can be converted during the day, and then made up in the evenings. We do not leave sheets and blankets in the room, as the Housekeeping staff comes to prepare the bed for your convenience. I hope you welcome you and your family back again soon, and I will ensure you get those milk and cookies!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Everything about this hotel was perfect from the location, to the rooms, to the staff, to the bar, and to the amazing restaurant. The hotel is just a short walk from the Whitehouse, and close to a metro station. The rooms are well appointed, stylish and functional. The beds are amazing and the rooms are sound proof so that noise from outside is not a problem.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinpng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,147 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 142 in Washington DC
3,100 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £161 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing