We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofitel Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #17 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sofitel Washington DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Wonderful vacation in DC at the Sofitel! This is a great hotel in a perfect location! We arrived early and Matthew gave us a warm welcome and quickly arranged for an early check in. Toufik waited on us several times at the restaurant and made us feel so special. We traveled with our 8 year old grandson and the staff catered to his every whim. Warm cookies and milk were delivered the first night, we enjoyed handmade caramels at the front desk and were sent home with a box of croissants! The only downside was a mix up with a "hold" on our credit card for incidentals, that was corrected by bookkeeping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonL0651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your special trip to Washington D.C. with your grandson. It was a pleasure meeting all of you and I am thrilled to know you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are wishing you a wonderful Holiday season and a sparkling 2014!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,088
    787
    152
    63
    19
See reviews for
665
1,287
185
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay; our first trip to Washington. The hotel is beautiful and our room (#820) was perfect! Luxury room with 2 queen beds, separate sitting area with a sofa bed and comfortable chair, coffee table and a flat screen on a turntable viewable from anywhere in the room. When we checked in, the front desk reps (both a man and woman) said they had a great room for us - boy was that the truth! Germain was our concierge and he went out of his way to assist us in our touring and anything we needed. We were lucky to have been approved for a White House Tour and were unsure of the entrance location, Germain to the rescue! The White House is a 3-5 minute walk! All the staff were welcoming and made our trip a great experience. We loved Le Bar and were in there every night for cocktails. Thank you Sofitel !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clareeScottsdale_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. And a tour to the White House? How lucky! I have passed on your kind words about Germain to our team and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here during our tour. After the Bellagio the room in this hotel appeared quite drab and the view from our window was a building site at the back of the hotel. We had to ask for the shower to be looked at, which was sorted very quickly when we were at breakfast. The first night the water was off as work was being carried out. The corridor smelt of chemicals. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is literally 2 minutes from the Whitehouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital. We are certainly more of an Art Deco style, luxury and intimate hotel compared to the large scale glitzy hotels of Vegas, but we find that that is our charm in downtown D.C. I am glad you were able to enjoy the location, and trust that you were not negatively affected by the brief overnight work that was done on the water pipes. We are constantly improving and upgrading our facilities, and are confident that our guests will benefit from these efforts. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back on your next trip to the US.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just spent a week at the Sofitel hotel in Washington DC and I would not stay anywhere else. The hotel was amazing. Great clean rooms with comfortable beds. The shower is amazing and is separate from the tub which is always the plus. The concierge staff is the best. They were always able to if d us a great restaurant and a table. We had Cynthia and Cameron booking dinners or tours for us everyday and night and they never disappointed. Truly the best concierge staff I have ever met. They worked every time to find us the perfect restaurant or tour and always went above and beyond. They are absolutely amazing and completely first class!

The only reason I gave the hotel four stars instead of five was for the food service. We ordered room service a few times and our order was wrong. We also ate breakfast in the hotel a few times and often had one small issue, like the staff forgetting someones order. With both room service and breakfast we told the staff of the mistake and they always took care of it right away, so don't let this change your mind about staying here. It truly was a great experience.

The workout facilities are great as well. Plenty of equipment that is great shape with fresh filtered water and apples.

I can't wait to return to DC and stay at the Sofitel again. The staff is amazing and the location cannot be beat! Super close to everything!

Special thanks again to Cameron and Cynthia for taking care of us. Our trip was amazing and you both played a huge role in that! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Fly into Reagan if you are staying in DC, really close and twenty minute ride from airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexidee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for choosing us! Our Concierge Team is the crème de la crème, that is for sure. Thank you for your kind words, I will definitely be sure to share it with the team. Please know that your feedback is very important to us, so our F&B Manager will be sure to look into this regarding the service in iCi as well as In Room Dining. Like the rest of your experiences, dining should be one of the most memorable and we will see to it that you will notice a difference on your return visit!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The location is perfect for visiting the major attractions: 5 minutes walking from White House!!! You feel special at the hotel and the personnel does everything to make your stay perfect. Also very good breakfast and restaurant, also for children and teenagers. Large, clean and comfortable rooms, very good room service and very quite atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuliano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. Although we pride ourselves in providing luxury accommodations for our business guests, we are by no means exclusively a business hotel. From the room accommodations, with doubles and connecting options, to the variety in the outlets for kids meals and special requests, we strive to make families feel just as welcome. Aside from the close proximity to the tourist attractions in D.C. you may also find that we have some surprises for our "petit" guests as well... (Chef Bitauld's chocolate chip cookies are magnifique!)

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have the privilege of staying often at the Sofitel in DC and have never been disappointed. From the moment you enter, the door staff , concierge and front desk greet you and make you feel welcome. The décor is art deco with a hint of modern. Check in is quick and most times the rooms are ready if you arrive early I recommend the corner rooms when available as the layout is conducive for two people to stay without getting in each other’s way. The bathroom is well stocked with amenities, and a separate bath and shower is in every room. The beds and linens are exceptional and Sofitel takes great pride in the vendors they use. The breakfast is superior for a hotel restaurant, and I consider it an excellent value, for French pressed coffee, pastries, and preserves that come with the meal. There is also a healthy breakfast menu available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel Washington D.C. and Accorhotels. As a regular with us, we truly appreciate you sharing your feedback, because after all, who knows the property better than our guests who have made Sofitel D.C. their home away from home? We pride ourselves in forming personal connections with our guests. I imagine you have experienced the familiarity that comes with staying often, as well as the attention to detail of your preferences, whether for a coffee machine in the room, a top sheet, or even for a room allocation request on a high floor or outside view etc. We look forward to welcoming you "home" soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is superbly located within a short walk from the White House and close to the Mall with its Museums, Memorials and parkland as well as the major government buildings. A short hop by taxi from most attractions in Washington and near many good restaurants.

This is a luxury hotel ideally located so you can expect to pay a lot but if you can afford the cost it is well worth it.

The bedroom was large with an attractive modern decor with large comfortable king size bed. Accor pride themselves on their superb bed specification. The bedroom was well lit from lamps and naturally with windows along the long wall and the bed facing out towards the windows. There was good blackout with the curtains. A slight noise was audible from the road but this was not enough to disturb sleep. The hall leading to the bathroom was on the opposite side to the entry door which meant you had a comfortable area for dressing next to a large wardrobe. A nice touch in our room was a small recess suitable for the suitcase to be placed on a rack.The bathroom was four piece with separate shower to the bath. It felt spacious and luxurious. The was great attention to detail such as the two reading lamps above the bed in addition to the bedside lamps. The rooms are quiet apart from the major fault that the bedroom doors do not have anti slam or cushioning resulting in heavy and load closure of adjacent guestroom doors. Did not cause any problem when we wanted to sleep.

Service at reception was quick and polite even when under the stress of a large number of people waiting at the reception desk. There were always two or three receptionists. The concierge were so helpful giving sound advice and assistance in booking where to eat locally.

The lounge and bar was sometimes very busy, noisy and crowded due to functions but at other times it was a pleasant place to relax after a hard day. The furniture did however showsigns of wear and need of replacement. OK for a normal hotel but not in a 5 star hotel. The staff service were mixed in the bar with some good service and some mediocre especially when we arrived at the end of a long day in Washington to ask if tea was being served. We were not amused when we were asked if it was for take away with a little condescending edge until we confirmed we were guests at the hotel. Should not happen.

The breakfasts were a delight with excellent service and "alors" if you ask you can find full fat yoghurt in an american hotel. The Indian waiter was particularly good. Beware breakfast is expensive and extra to the room cost but it certainly sets up the day well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thorough review of your stay with us. It seems you have come expect a high standard from Accor properties, as you should, I am pleased to know we met those expectations. As you mentioned, we pride ourselves in the comfort and luxury of our accommodations, and in the warmth and genuineness of our service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing