We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at Sofitel for a long weekend before Thanksgiving and couldn't have been happier. The location, a couple of short blocks from the White House and a 10 minute walk from the Mall, was perfect. We booked a junior suite and although the view is lacking - other windows - it was very comfortable. Although its entry was directly across from the elevators, you didn't hear any elevator noise except in the shower…. which wasn't a problem. The staff was incredibly friendly, the bar was very nice and the beds were comfy. My only two nitpicks were: towels and amenities. The towels are motel thin and the toiletries were not very nice - especially compared to the Hermes Orange Vert received at Sofitel Munich. But those are minor and wouldn't prevent me from highly recommending this hotel. Thanks for a terrific weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel hotels worldwide. I am sure you have come to expect a high standard of luxury with your experiences in our properties, and I am pleased to know that we were no different here in Washington D.C. I have informed our Housekeeping manager about your feedback regarding the towels, and for your next visit, be sure to request Hermes products. Sofitels worldwide use the same bath amenities, Lanvin and Hermes brands, and here it is our suites that have the Hermes products. We are happy to accommodate!

Wishing you Happy Holidays and a sparkling New Year!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 3,219 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Centrally located in DC, where everything happens (i.e. not much). Tastefully decorated. We had a room on the 8th floor overlooking the street (very bright) yet very quiet. Service was attentive, breakfast was a little bit inefficient, but all in all OK. We had some issues whilst checking out, with a bill which was totally erroneous, but we could fix it quickly and efficiently. Would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollapParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Merci beaucoup! The nice thing about our location is that in the immediate blocks surrounding the hotel, we enjoy a quiet and peaceful environment, yet just a 5-10 minute walk in any direction, you will arrive at D.C.'s best restaurants, shops and tourist destinations. I am sorry there were necessary corrections to your bill, but I am happy that it was able to be smoothly cleared up. This sometimes happens if mini bar items are moved and the automatic sensor registers the item, for example. But we are always happy to make things right!

Bonne année et bonne santé,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The high rating is spot on. Beautiful hotel, small enough to get to your room quickly, very attentive staff, good food n the dining room, and quick attention to a minor problem in the room. 2 blocks from the White House. Good value; could have spent a couple of hundred dollars more per night and not gotten better room or service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for choosing Sofitel. I am pleased to know you were able to experience our service across departments and that you found it to be so attentive. I hope we will see you again in 2014, and until then we wish you a wonderful Holiday Season!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I'm a musician that travels all over the world and has stayed at great hotels. I got some good rest at the Sofitel DC. When in DC I'm working for Black Entertainment Television ( B.E.T ) doing a show for 2 weeks. My problem wasn't until I left DC the first week. I forgot a Playstation Vita in my room. We left about 5 a.m so no house keeping was going on at that time. At about 5:30 I realized that I'd left it so I called a told the the front desk my room number, what I forgot and where it was. They told me that they would tell house keeping to put it in lost and found, but not at the lost and found in there pocket. Yes they stole it!! I came back the next week to work and NO ONE KNOWS WHERE IT IS. So you mean to tell me " I leave at 5 a.m, call at 5:30, nobody has the key to my room but The Sofitel Hotel, house keeping comes in, and now I can't find my belongings. THE HOUSE KEEPING PEOPLE ARE THEIFS. NO RESPECT FOR PEOPLES STUFF. So I say don't leave anything or you will NEVER see it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Javert,

We take this quite seriously as we are a luxury hotel with a reputation for upholding the utmost security for our guests and their belongings. We have not had any situations in the past similar to your suggestion, and I am confident this case is the same. I would recommend you contact us directly regarding your stay back in July so that we may look into it further.

Thank you,
Jean-Christophe Gras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Service from this Hotel is excellent. Staff are very good and provide consistent service at a high level. Paul, Brian, Brita, Freedie are excellent in the restaurant and Allan does a really good job for customers in the Bar and Lounge area. Only gripe was that we had to wait about 2 hours for a room after having been on a 17 hour flight . Not pleasant. Staff did try and expedite room . Pity as we specifically requested an early check in

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I will happily share your kind words about our F&B Ambassadors with our team. I apologize that you had to wait for a room to be ready. Although we try our best to accommodate such requests, especially after such a long journey, it can sometimes be a bit difficult according to the occupancy and the room type availability. That said, I hope you will be back again to join us on your future travels, and we will ensure you have just as lovely of a visit.

Happy Holidays to you and yours,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Sofitel Washington was a great choice with easy access to national mall and surrounding restaurants, but also the metro station!

- Excellent reception, bell and door staff!
- Great rooms with modern decor.
- Very good acknowledgement of Accor Platinum.

Would happily return here!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Boeta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel and AccorHotels worldwide. We cherish our Le Club members, as we know you have a choice in hotels, and we strive to maintain the level of luxury service and accommodations you have come to know and love from Sofitel hotels. Now if only we could build a Sofitel property in Monkey Mia!!

Wishing you Happy Holidays,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,293 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,905 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £171 - £541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing