We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Flawless Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
368 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Location, Flawless Service”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Consistency of product and customer experience seem to be the unstated hallmarks of Sofitel's brand and the Washington DC property is no exception. Great service from the front door to the front desk, spotlessly clean property, and great amenities. Location could not be better for exploring the Museums on the Mall and the nearby restaurants. Rooms are on the small size but more than make up for it in cleanliness, comfort, great bathrooms with separate showers and tubs, and very clean fixtures. Would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to AccorHotels! As a seasoned Sofitel traveler, it means a lot to know that you found the familiar luxury accommodations at our property to live up to your expectations from our sister hotels. We hope to welcome you back to Washington soon, and thank you again for choosing us.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,112
    798
    154
    63
    20
See reviews for
673
1,299
186
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here for three nights in December. The rooms were quite comfortable and the room service was excellent. Their restaurant was decent as well. You also can't go wrong with a place that has free coffee!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your "staycation" in the city. I am pleased to know you found your visit be be comfortable and that you enjoyed your dining experiences. I hope you will be back to join us, either for an overnight stay, or even just a visit to Le Bar!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Hard to find fault with anything here, the rooms are spotless and comfortable and the facilities are excellent. The breakfasts are superb, the staff friendly and helpful, and the hotel's location is ideal for easy access to the White House and downtown DC. Would recommend this to anyone and would happily stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Washington D.C. for your visit to our Nation's Capital! I am thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, all while enjoying comfortable accommodations and luxury service. Please do join us again!

Cheers!
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent 2 nights here in January
Excellent location handy to the White House and tourist locations.
The hotel is close to the hop on and hop off bus and Subway.
The room was clean and well appointed
The free Coffee and Newspaper was a nice touch
The staff were helpful...
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! You mentioned many of the prime amenities that our guests most enjoy, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
251 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel has almost all what it would need to be ranked at the top: ideal location, very friendly and effective staff, spacious and well furnished rooms, and a good (very good) restaurant. The only little minus is that the rooms could do with a bit of maintenance. In my room the bathroom had sliding doors with frosted glass, which indeed looks very nice ... except that these are almost impossible to close, and certainly impossible to close properly. Now, being alone this is at best a minor annoyance - but, had I been together with a companion this would have been somewhat more embarrassing... And, many room doors did not close properly (including mine), resulting in plenty of slamming and therefore unnecessary noise. A bit of a shame, for a hotel which would otherwise deserve top marks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take your feedback to heart, and I am happy to say that we are constantly refreshing and updating our guestrooms and public areas to maintain a contemporary and comfortable environment for our guests. Hopefully you will return in the near future and be able to enjoy these upgrades!

Merci,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I booked a "staycation" to treat myself to a luxurious evening, anticipating a wonderful room service experience in the morning. I have done this on several occasions at this hotel and found their room service to be outstanding. This trip however, was a grave disappointment. Eggs ordered over easy were well-done and the replacement which I switched to scrambled soft, was also over cooked and the bacon and coffee (French press) were cold. I ordered the breakfast which comes with a basket of pastries which were not delivered because the room service expeditor cancelled the basket because I declined the toast. At almost $40 with service charges, this was truly a damper on the experience that I anticipated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy5351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
First and foremost thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel, and for choosing us as your staycation destination. We know very well how important it is to be able to relax and unwind every once in a while, and we are here to help you treat yourself. That said, I apologize that this last visit did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us. As you mentioned, you have always enjoyed your experiences with us, and I can assure you that this was an unfortunate exception that will not reoccur on your next stay. That said, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to personally take care of your reservation.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We travel to DC frequently and normally stay in the Dupont Circle/Foggy Bottom area. We will stay here from now on. The staff at the Sofitel was amazing! So helpful and nice! The room was perfect. Wonderful big bathrooms with rain shower heads. Free coffee and newspapers in the bar in the mornings and a nice restaurant.
The location can't be beat. We were able to get around by Metro most of the time and the McPherson stop is 1 block away. Loved my 3 night stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTMNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
As a frequent traveler to Washington, we know you have a choice of accommodations, so I thank you for selecting us for this visit. With Dupont Circle and Foggy bottom not so far away, I hope you will consider now us your home away from home in the city.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,807 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,247 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing