We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Friendly Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Location and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location of this hotel near the White House, close to a metro line, and within easy walking distance of the mall is excellent. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. As others have remarked, the internet was a bit slow but it did work. The coffee maker in the room, which we requested after learning about this possibility from a previous reviewer, made a terrible coffee with a metallic taste and the coffee had to be thrown out. I believe that the coffee maker had probably been cleaned but not rinsed out properly. Fortunately drinkable coffee was available at the bar downstairs and could be brought back to the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillandKathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have passed on your feedback to our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, and I can assure you that we will look into quality control of our coffee machines. They are intended to be an additional convenience of course, and should be of the utmost quality. I am happy you enjoyed the other aspects of your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,073
    784
    151
    60
    19
See reviews for
658
1,281
185
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Centrally located, not far from the White house... Beutiful room, fantastic food and service second to none, Anna the guest relations manager was really helpful and greeted us with a huge warm welcome..and although we have visited Wasington twice before she came up with new ideas and places to visit and excellent restaurants... We are currently planning another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Electrician22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
It was such a pleasure to meet you! Thank you for your kind words and I certainly hope to welcome you back for visit number four. I will start planning your unique intinerary! :)

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, excellent food, and the most wonderfully comfortable bed. My room had no outside view but it had everything else you could need. The only downside was the internet access which was slow and unreliable but at least you don't have to pay for it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PangeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel in Washington D.C. As I share with many guests that ask, you can enjoy the comfort of our beds at home because everything is available online at SoBoutique. That said, you will have to come visit more often! I have shared your feedback with Jean-Christophe Gras, our General Manager, and I am confident he will look into the internet connectivity, as that is an important factor for many guests.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
172 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Sofitel in Washington is perfectly located, right near the White House and the Mall. My room was super comfortable, not huge, but well appointed with a super comfy bed. Like many Sofitels, it's too big to be a boutique hotel and not big enough to be a full service hotel, but that's more of a comment than a complaint. For instance, there's not much of a lobby and you have to walk several blocks to buy newspapers and magazines (they do provide the main American dailies). If I had one complaint it would be that the gym isn't that well furnished, with just one all-purpose weight machine. Every contact I had with the staff was efficient and friendly. All in all, it's a great place to stay in DC for work or tourism, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. It seems you traveled from Paris, so for your next visit, be sure to request your newspaper of choice. We carry USA Today, Washington Post, NY Times, Financial Times, Wall Street Journal, Le Monde, Le Figaro, and have access to numerous international titles that the Concierge can print for you. Surely you should be able to enjoy a coffee in Le Bar and enjoy a daily paper of choice. I have shared your feedback regarding the SoFit equpment with our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, and I know he will be grateful to hear it.

Merci,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location, close to the National Mall, the Smithsonian, the White House and despite the cold weather just a brisk walk to all. If I could have packed the bed, duvet and pillows in my suitcase I would have. An amazing few nights sleep in a corner room. Views of the winter storm in a well appointed and spacious room. We love our coffee and noted in a previous trip advisor review that a coffee machine could be requested. Staff obligingly delivered a machine and kept our machine supplied with pods so we could drink coffee at all hours. After my pjs were inadvertantly scooped up with the towels, front desk staff good humouredly tracked them down (They were a gift and brand new so I was keen to have them returned). Room was spotlessly clean. We got a good deal booking directly through the hotel and would recommend a stay. Only one thing to beware of; if you move items in the hotel fridge they will be debited to your account. With a perchant for tidying I moved items around to neaten it, racking up items I hadn't eaten on my bill. Once again front desk staff kindly sorted this out. However, it's an efficient system if you do want to buy something late at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosebudsAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I can't blame you for loving our beds so much! In fact, many guests go online to SoBoutique and purchase all or some of the special elements. Enjoying a comfortable sleep allows you to be more rested for the long days of museums, tours and walking around the city! We hope to be your hotel of choice for your next visit to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing