We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Washington DC
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hay-Adams(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capital Hilton(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
W Washington D.C.(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,318)
Filter reviews
3,318 results
Traveller rating
2,214
848
166
69
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,214
848
166
69
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite housele barluxury roomlafayette squareroom serviceebbitt grillcity viewturn down servicecorner roomjunior suitetwo blocksbed was very comfortableconcierge deskmini barhotel barwonderful hotelnational mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,274 - 1,279 of 3,318 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We loved it...was our anniversary ( we are old folks - married 44 years) and we were greeted by a wonderful lady ... she could tell we were still madly in love 44 years later and she kindly gave us an upgrade. She was full of smiles and could not do enough for us. Our room was fantastic!
Everything was clean and immaculate ... beautiful...wonderful...
We stayed at the Sofitel in Paris and it was the same way. I believe that they train their people to be kind and gracious and have beautiful smiles...and the rooms to back them up. Favorite Hotel all over the world.

Room Tip: Close to everything in Washington DC. Can't miss.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Happy Anniversary again! How wonderful to to celebrate 44 years together. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it extra special. We wish you 44 more years of being madly in love, and hope to welcome you back for your 45th anniversary!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location of this hotel near the White House, close to a metro line, and within easy walking distance of the mall is excellent. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. As others have remarked, the internet was a bit slow but it did work. The coffee maker in the room, which we requested after learning about this possibility from a previous reviewer, made a terrible coffee with a metallic taste and the coffee had to be thrown out. I believe that the coffee maker had probably been cleaned but not rinsed out properly. Fortunately drinkable coffee was available at the bar downstairs and could be brought back to the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillandKathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have passed on your feedback to our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, and I can assure you that we will look into quality control of our coffee machines. They are intended to be an additional convenience of course, and should be of the utmost quality. I am happy you enjoyed the other aspects of your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Centrally located, not far from the White house... Beutiful room, fantastic food and service second to none, Anna the guest relations manager was really helpful and greeted us with a huge warm welcome..and although we have visited Wasington twice before she came up with new ideas and places to visit and excellent restaurants... We are currently planning another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Electrician22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

It was such a pleasure to meet you! Thank you for your kind words and I certainly hope to welcome you back for visit number four. I will start planning your unique intinerary! :)

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Centrally located, excellent food, and the most wonderfully comfortable bed. My room had no outside view but it had everything else you could need. The only downside was the internet access which was slow and unreliable but at least you don't have to pay for it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank PangeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for choosing Sofitel in Washington D.C. As I share with many guests that ask, you can enjoy the comfort of our beds at home because everything is available online at SoBoutique. That said, you will have to come visit more often! I have shared your feedback with Jean-Christophe Gras, our General Manager, and I am confident he will look into the internet connectivity, as that is an important factor for many guests.

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews