We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Stay at the Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Amazing Stay at the Sofitel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I just got back from an amazing stay at the Sofitel. The staff was absolutely wonderful in every single way; they acknowledged it was my birthday and upgraded us to a suite, and Saturday evening there was a knock on our door with a surprise treat! We were also allowed to check-in early and after checking out they offered to keep our luggage and car until we were done exploring the city. The location is also perfect for sightseeing, though being from the area we decided to just relax instead. The Sofitel couldn't be better and I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krcbneu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your special occasion, and Happy Birthday once again! We strive to make all of our guests happy, and it is always nice when we can treat a birthday girl as she deserves to be treated! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,095
    790
    152
    63
    20
See reviews for
666
1,293
185
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Loved loved loved the hotel! From arrival 'till check out, the service was superb. Even though the room was not ready when we arrived and was giving the option to take a junior suite with one king size bed and a sofa bed (which would have been to crowded for us), our double bed room with a view of 15th street was well worth waiting for. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
The hotel is well located, being able to walk to the nearby memorials and the Smithsonian museums. It is definitely a little far to walk to the Capitol, but there are plenty of taxi around to take you.
And definitely have one of your dinners at ICI bistro on the first floor of the hotel. We loved the sea bass and the citrus cup so much that we ate there all 3 nightly dinners! The waitstaff and manager were so friendly and attentive.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would definitely try any other Sofitel hotels.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MOBR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. It seems you were able to take advantage of our central location in the heart of downtown D.C. As you mentioned you can walk to almost anywhere, and our metro station is an excellent way to save your legs some energy and get to Eastern Market, the Capitol or even the National Mall. You made an excellent choice to try out our restaurant as well - that citrus cup is one of my favorites! I have shared your feedback with Chef Loquet, and we hope you will be back to join us again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Location is second to none, right in front of the white house, very close to downtown and convention center. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful - during my stay, there was a snow storm and they were very helpful with the door, calling on taxi, and directions. I had to go for a convention, and most of the big hotels were fully booked at ridiculous prices. Very glad with this choice, would probably do the same again when in DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. You had a unique opportunity to experience a "real" winter in DC as we don't often get as much snow as we did this season. I am happy you were well taken care of and comfortable during your stay. It is important to be prepared in the elements! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel on your next trip.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed here with my family in late July, 2013. The night we came to DC, our flight was delayed and we arrived at the hotel quite late. Unfortunately, they had given our room away but I was amazed at their service. They immediately got us 2 rooms in a nearby hotel which was also 5 star. The next morning, they brought back all of our luggage, upgraded our rooms and gave us complimentary breakfast for the rest of our trip. The rooms were so comfortable, spacious and the beds were sooo cozy! The hotel is located in a prime area with the White house nearby. It is also within walking distance of Washington Monument :) I would like to specially thank Mr Al (the night manager)! He was a wonderful man and he made our stay very enjoyable. He was more a friend than manager and he made my family feel so safe and each aspect of our visit was amazing! He arranged a limousine ride for us one day and a great breakfast the other. It was such a great pleasure to great to meet him that I was quite sad when I left. Overall, this hotel is very cozy and spacious and located in a great area. The service is extraordinary and the stay is definitely worth the slight expense!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethishreyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have passed on your kind words about Alioune, our Night Manager, and how well he handled a less-than desirable situation. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, the service and accommodations. It has been a while since your trip, so I believe it is time to return again!!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hero, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We loved it...was our anniversary ( we are old folks - married 44 years) and we were greeted by a wonderful lady ... she could tell we were still madly in love 44 years later and she kindly gave us an upgrade. She was full of smiles and could not do enough for us. Our room was fantastic!
Everything was clean and immaculate ... beautiful...wonderful...
We stayed at the Sofitel in Paris and it was the same way. I believe that they train their people to be kind and gracious and have beautiful smiles...and the rooms to back them up. Favorite Hotel all over the world.

Room Tip: Close to everything in Washington DC. Can't miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Happy Anniversary again! How wonderful to to celebrate 44 years together. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it extra special. We wish you 44 more years of being madly in love, and hope to welcome you back for your 45th anniversary!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location of this hotel near the White House, close to a metro line, and within easy walking distance of the mall is excellent. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. As others have remarked, the internet was a bit slow but it did work. The coffee maker in the room, which we requested after learning about this possibility from a previous reviewer, made a terrible coffee with a metallic taste and the coffee had to be thrown out. I believe that the coffee maker had probably been cleaned but not rinsed out properly. Fortunately drinkable coffee was available at the bar downstairs and could be brought back to the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillandKathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have passed on your feedback to our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, and I can assure you that we will look into quality control of our coffee machines. They are intended to be an additional convenience of course, and should be of the utmost quality. I am happy you enjoyed the other aspects of your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Centrally located, not far from the White house... Beutiful room, fantastic food and service second to none, Anna the guest relations manager was really helpful and greeted us with a huge warm welcome..and although we have visited Wasington twice before she came up with new ideas and places to visit and excellent restaurants... We are currently planning another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Electrician22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
It was such a pleasure to meet you! Thank you for your kind words and I certainly hope to welcome you back for visit number four. I will start planning your unique intinerary! :)

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing