We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
walton on thames
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in central location”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in may .the welcome was very good and check in efficient,
The room was a decent size with a very comfortable bed .
The lighting could have been better and the shower more powerful ,but all in all a nice room and very conveniently situated near all attractions.
The breakfast was nice,if a little pricey,
We had dinner there one night and the food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toothlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    791
    153
    63
    20
See reviews for
668
1,293
185
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tranby
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff treat you as royalty. The location must be the best in DC as it is next to the White House. My corner suite was beautiful and clean. Laundry service was good, and ice machines are available. Overall an excellent experience.

The two downsides were that my stay was pretty expensive, and more importantly, the WiFi was REALLY unstable. However, they also provide a cable you can use, and that turned out to work fine.

If you plan on taking advantage of room service, I really recommend the pan-seared salmon.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger and away from the elevators. The elevators can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights recently at the Sofitel in downtown DC and we were very happy with our choice. The location is very near the mall and all the main attractions and literally around the corner from the White House.
We originally booked another hotel a little further away, but after reading the reviews on the Sofitel and finding a great rate on their website, we decided to change our plans and stay here.
The staff is very friendly, professional, and accommodating. They provide the little touches that you expect from a premier property. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable mattress, and quality toiletries. The bar is a great place to relax after a long day of walking around the city. Very tasty cocktails, great service, and on our second night the server treated us to a couple of the very best macaron cookies...unbelievably good.
We really liked this hotel, and with its proximity to all the must sees in DC and really good restaurants, we highly recommend the Sofitel DC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcskinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Read reviews and am familiar with Sofitel properties, so I had high expectations. The front desk and door staff were very wonderful, but the wait staff was slow and surly, the room was just adequate, the TV took an engineer to figure out how to work (which I am proud to say I finally did), and the windows looked out into an unused office building. The location near the White House is fine, the guests (many from Europe) were from all over the world which was fun, and the general overall experience was fine. It just wasn't superior.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UniversalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience, as your feedback is very important to us. Our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, has addressed your comments regarding the service in our outlets, as this is atypical of our standards, and certainly not what our guests have come to expect when they visit Sofitel. Our Superior King rooms, ike the guestroom you stayed in, have the same lavish amenities and similar room layouts as the Luxury King rooms, but they face the interior for guests who prefer privacy and quiet. For your next visit, I recommend booking a Luxury king room since it seems a city street view is your priority. We would be happy to accommodate!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked a room for three nights in May 2014 for our first visit to Washington DC ever! The hotel is lovely, bait difficult to find parking close enough to carry our luggage so we used their Valet Parking service. Check-in was a breeze, our room was large and comfortable but because of the warm decor and lightening it felt cozy and private. The bathroom was almost as large as the room, with a rainfall shower, a bath and a wet room at the end, all of them fully equipped with fluffy white towels and Lanvin toiletries, so when deciding where to shower, we were spoilt for choice! The porter who delivered our suitcases explained that if we took something out of the mini bar for more than 7 seconds, it would be automatically charged to the room, so we did not even open the door to look in there! We got a call from downstairs within minutes of arriving to double check that we were happy with the room and to find out whether we needed anything. The bed was very comfortable and loaded with pillows and everything was clean and well kept. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macananina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel in great location. All staff were excellent and extremely helpful without being over the top. The rooms are nice, bathroom very clean and great shower, bed was massive and so comfortable! It was a delayed honeymoon for us and they sent us a lovely little congratulations cake to our room. Nice terrace areas to eat or just have a drink. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a first-rate boutique experience with a unique French flair, you will not be disappointed. The bedding was extremely comfortable, the rooms are quiet, the service is impeccable, where everyone's addresses you by name, and the experience will be well worth repeating.

Helpful?
2 Thank dttlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing