We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
417 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Just enough off the beaten track to escape the masses, but less than 5 min walk to the White House and then on to the National Mall. Rooms are a good size and very clean. Reception is warm and professional. Easy to get a Super Shuttle from Dulles ($28 return). Well worth the stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisZA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,087
    785
    152
    63
    19
See reviews for
664
1,286
185
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
429 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

There is much to commend this Hotel:stylish interiors, spacious rooms and bathrooms, the excellent personalized service(starting with welcome upon arrival), the outstanding location. It is also a great place to meet, with a busy bar with outdoor seating. A minor snag is the inroom TV does not have the international news channels such as BBC.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

this was the first time I had ever stayed at a Sofitel, and I liked it quite a bit. It offers everything you would expect from a four-star hotel, and is comparable to other hotels in this category (e.g., Westin, Kimpton, Le Meridien). Lots of European travelers - I think this is a well-known French brand. I had breakfast twice at the hotel restaurant, which was quite good. I recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgd721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

You can walk everywhere from the hotel
The bar is cozy and nice
The room are decent sized, well equipped, amazing bed, big bathroom with good products
Super clean
Appreciated the silence in the room vs. a busy city
The staff is really helpful and friendly
Little touches of sophistication everywhere
Kind attentions
Well recommended

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms - slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jro0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and booked a Luxury room (King bed). Am a platinum member but there were no available upgrades however they did supply the usual welcome drink vouchers and a welcome gift which consisted of pastries, sparkling water and a welcome note. The staff were courteous and helpful when required. The room itself was large, clean and well maintained. No coffee facilities but there was complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings in the bar; also free inroom wifi included. I didn't checkout the facilities of the hotel. The hotel is less than a five minute walk to the whitehouse, across the road there is a deli which is great for a cheapish breakfast and a few restaurants closeby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ll1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip and we were very impressed with the hotel.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to king suite which was huge and they also sent a cake and water up to the room which was nice of them.

The rooms were well appointed and clean. The bathroom had a tub and a separate shower which was very nice.

They adhered to the request of a feather free room. The pillows were quite soft and could have done with being a little firmer.

The location of the hotel sets it apart from all others, it is a couple of minutes walk from the White House and a few minutes from the subway (McPherson Square is the closest).

There are some good restaurants near the hotel but at night time it was a little limited for bars etc. The hotel was very quiet at night and the staff were very nice and always assisted in any request we had.

The room was stocked with complimentary water and we asked for a fridge and a kettle which was in our room on arrival.

I have stayed in many Sofitel hotels around the world and this hotel did not let the chain down.

If you want to be near the monuments this is the best hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryLaurence121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great location. Clean room. Great bathroom. Starbucks one block away.
Washington seems to be an easy city to get around, so this is a good hotel to stay
at.Just put your do not disturb sign on, as they do a mid afternoon mini bar and a separate top up the complimentary water service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing