We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cant say enough great things about this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I cant say enough great things about this hotel!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

excellent room size and bedding, great staff and service and they go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. location fabulous. We were in a junior suite and it was large enough for five. Bar waitress was a little forgetful but everyone else was amazing. we will be back. This is a quality hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanlynn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I am thrilled that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Our Junior Suites, as you mention, are an excellent spacious option, very private and quiet. I hope you will come back and join us again soon!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,129
    805
    159
    64
    21
See reviews for
680
1,309
188
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the Sofitel. The service is excellent from the bellman, concierge and reception. Excellent room , well appointed ( room 419) , shame about the view looking to the next office blocks. Good location. My son was impressed with the cookies and milk delivered to the room with a letter addressed to him to welcome him. Location is one block away from the White House. The choice of restaurants on the weekend is limited. The metro is only a block away ( Mc Pherson st)

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the street, this will avoid the office workers looking straight into your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassyOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit! I am glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our central location. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C. and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have been staying in various cities on an Eastern tour of the US, we are British. We could not fault this hotel, we just stayed in a standard room, which we thought was great but it was the attitude of ALL of the staff and the little touches throughout this hotel that really won us over. We would not hesitate to recommend a Sofitel Hotel to friends if they are all like this. Emily at the reception as we walked in was wonderful. Telling us just enough about the city and answering iany questions...try Joes across the street by the way it's incredible- Germain the concierge was genuinely helpful ,in fact everyone was but with more of a pleasant and sincere reserve not always noticeable in the US. There were of course they usual toiletries replenished everyday, plus cotton buds, plus cotton wool, plus nail files, plus complimentary coffee every day in the morning,plus bottled water everyday and dressing gowns...etc I expect you get the gist!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As with a previous reviewer, we arrived after 7 frantic days in New York to a quiet, relaxed area of Washington. This was our third visit but at 5 nights our longest and we could not have wished for a better hotel. The location was very convenient with the White House one block away and all of the other historical sites in walking distance as well as many great restaurants. It is also only one block from the closest Metro which is clean, efficient and economical. The hotel itself could not be faulted. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the room and bathroom spacious and immaculate and the bed was the best I have slept in since the last Sofitel we visited in Philadelphia. We were greeted with delicious macaroons on our arrival.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if we are lucky enough to re-visit the wonderful city of Washington DC.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Third visit here, it will remain our go to hotel in DC. Location, location, location, the Sofitel certainly has that. Washington Metro 150 yards away, the White House a five minute walk, at most.
The staff, as always, extremely cordial, adding the European flair, at times, by greeting you with, "Bonjour." Beautiful rooms.
We ordered room service several times, the food was excellent, delivered promptly and hot (something that room service food frequently is not).
We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived at the Sofitel Washington after a frantic time in New York City and Sicily..
It was great to arrive to the slower, more relaxed pace of Washington DC.
We were greeted warmly by all the staff we passed on our way to check in.
Check in was easy and although our room wasn't ready (we were early), the hotel happily took our bags, gave us very useful tourist information and arranged tickets for our afternoons adventures.
We could easily walk to a central point for bus tours and The White House was about 4 bocks away.
We had a double double room which was a very generous size. After spending 2 weeks in Italy, it was great to have very comfortable beds.
My only suggestion would be that the beds be made with a top sheet in the warmer months, as it got a bit warm at night and the aircon didn't go low enough for us (18.5 degrees).
We dined in the restaurant for breakfast. The omelette was delicious.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Everyone we dealt with introduced themselves and had plenty of useful advice.
Close to Macy's and a couple of really good restaurants. We dined across the road at Bobby Vans (because we didn't have the stamina to venture further on day 1) and what a find!
Thoroughly recommend staying at the Sofitel when you are in Washington, DC>

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had visited Washington DC this June and were absolutely floored by the service and hospitality at Sofitel. Our room, we were two adults with two kids aged 5 and 7, with two double beds, was large and we never felt constrained for space despite our open luggage. The bathroom and amenities were luxurious. Service impeccable with absolute no fault at all. The location is great with it's side entrance being just a 2 minute walk away from the White House. Highly recommended and i would blindly book a Sofitel hotel again, if available at our holiday location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,276 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,870 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
3,006 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing