We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French atmosphere + US service = Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“French atmosphere + US service = Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Location is perfect - just around the corner from the White House. The staff greet you in French and many are indeed from France, which adds to the nice atmosphere. Not new but well kept, traditional, comfortable feel-good rooms and public areas. We were first allocated a room on a lower floor facing the backyard but managed to get a room on the 10th floor facing the street. Definitely worth the reasonable extra fee. Wonderful beds, Bose sound system, a very good flatscreen TV and lovely Lanvin toilet amenities. Very polite and good-humored staff. We enjoyed the outside bar, which not many hotels in DC have. - Oh and by the way: on the corner right across is Joe's Seafood and Prime Steak restaurant, and they have fresh stone crabs from Florida on the menu. My all time favorite! - For sure: The Sofitel is an excellent hotel choice and we warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up and facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestfriendintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital! I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the personal service we strive to provide to our guests. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,073
    784
    151
    60
    19
See reviews for
658
1,281
185
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Sofitel Washington is a great hotel right downtown in Washington DC. It's far less expensive than the other top rated hotels, but the best bargain in DC. Easy walk to the White House and the Washington Monument and Smithsonian buildings. The concierge was helpful with dinner reservations or any questions we had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdog308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital! I have shared your comments regarding your experience with our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, who appreciates all guest feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The room smells really good, the location is superb, exactly what I need, it's walking distance to almost every landmarks in DC, a block away from white house and lafayette square, the services were great and has very friendly staffs. It was perfect. Keep up the good work!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank D5TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the personal service we strive to provide to our guests. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Sofitel Washington is superbly located whether visiting Washington DC on business or pleasure.

I cannot remember the last time we stayed at a city centre hotel where the staff were so polished and approachable.

Our room was one of the executive suites and lived up to our expectations. Great beds, and really welcoming decor in a modern traditional manner if that makes sense!

We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was good and most enjoyable. The hotel is well priced for the facilities offered and standards attained.

If and when we return to DC, I think we would be hard pushed to better the Sofitel for quality, service and price. If it fits your pocket, I think it will tick your boxes!



Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Director of Guest Relations at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the personal service we strive to provide to our guests. While we are an excellent choice for business travelers, we pride ourselves in also catering to our leisure guests that choose Sofitel for the personalized service and to take advantage of the prime location, close to all of the tourist sites. I have shared your comments regarding your experience with our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, who appreciates all guest feedback. We hope to be your hotel of choice for any future travels to Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Fabulous hotel - especially for the price point. The service and staff were incredible. Location is perfect. Will definitely stay here again...and recommend to others. Easy walk to tourist attractions

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMD7964MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit! I am glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our central location. We strive to provide our guests with genuine, personal service, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and it is close to all Washington DC attractions, White House, Treasury, Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, The Smithsonian Museums and the National Gallery . I can say that I was the President's neighbor for a short time. The rooms we got overlook the street and it was quiet. The service and staff were friendly and helpful. The housekeeping needs to be improved. Sometimes I'm missing hand towels or floor towel. On the last night, we didn't receive any water bottles. They usually leave 2 bottles, which is greatly appreciated after a day of walking to the various attractions, by the night stand. I wouldn't recommend the restaurant there for dinner. The food was okay but for the price that it charges, you can find a better restaurant close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Guest feedback is imperative to maintain the level of personal service that we strive for. I have shared your comments regarding your experience with our General Manager, Jean-Christophe Gras, and I can assure you that he will address them with the necessary departments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing