We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sofitel hotel is to be preferred over the out of date big name hotels in the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2009

The hotel staff is wonderful. They went out of their way to accommodate every need and desire. The rooms have been recently refurbished. The thought and detail that went into them is splendid. Traveling to Washington frequently, I prefer the contemporariness of the Sofitel to the often times dilapidated rooms of the large and better known hotels in the area. If you are a frequent visitor to Washington, you will especially enjoy the personal service of this boutique hotel when the staff remembers you from earlier stays.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenrikNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,493 - 2,499 of 3,229 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

The hotel is very good. The room and bathroom are very big. The bathroom has sink and shower together.

The bedroom is clean and the beds are comfortable

the hotel is about five minutes walking from the white house althought there is no much life there on sundays.

they have a business center with 2 computers with free internet.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscarMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The location of this hotel is just perfect for sightseeing. Stayed 3 nights in a very nice and quiet corner room with comfy bed and large bathroom with L'Occitane products. Reception staff and concierge were courteous and kind, always ready to help. Our only minor complaint is that housekeeping weren’t as attentive as in other Sofitel hotels we have tried (they forgot to give us turn down service and did sometimes replace shower gel with shampoo and so on), but they kept the room spotlessly clean and that’s what really matters. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Did not want to get out of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in...in a hotel!!! just arrived from Alaska...at night...slept until noon the next day...stayed for 3 days...absolutely beautiful hotel and hospitable staff

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brumbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I stayed at the Sofitel DC for a week while on business and had a very enjoyable stay. Here are the pros and cons, as I saw them:

-Rooms: The rooms are very elegant and well appointed. I had a King size bed and there were individual reading lights on both sides of the bed. For a hotel in a historic district, the rooms were also larger than you might expect.

-Location: The hotel has a great location near the White House and downtown DC area.

-Value: I booked on Priceline.com and got a great rate.

-Room service: The hotel has an extensive (but expensive) room service menu. They also had one of the fastest room service delivery times that I've encountered.

-Dining areas: There is an outdoor bar area that was very nice.

-Friendliness: All of the staff was very friendly.

Cons:

-One of the individuals answering the room service line had some difficulty understanding English.

-I had an individual mistakenly knock on my door as I was getting ready for bed to deliver some toiletries that were apparently supposed to be delivered to another room.

-Unlike most hotels of this caliber, there was no complimentary newspaper at the door in the morning.

-Accessing the Internet was an additional $9.95/day.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would gladly return, particularly given the price. However, the hotel does fall a short of doing the "little things" that would earn it a 5-star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JPinJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here, the first time we liked the hotel but had some problems with poor service, especially at breakfast. This time, service at breakfast was still not quite there but was much better than on our last visit.

I would not hesitate to return here and have already recommended this hotel to friends. The rooms are lovely, spacious, very well equipped and very quiet. The bathrooms are luxurious and the food is excellent. Rates vary but generally you can get really good value for money.

What tops it off though is the location - one block from the White House so everything is on your doorstep!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We got this hotel from Hotwire. What a score! We LOVED this hotel! Everything was amazing! Aftewr driving 10 hours to get to DC we arrived to a comfortable room with a cozy bed, flat screen TV & more! Excellent location to all the sights and restaurants. The only thing I could complain about was the breakfast....too expensive for what you get, but that's pretty standard at most hotels these days. The toast came cold & unbuttered and the butter was also cold so it didn't eeven melt on the toast. When we asked for softer butter and warm toast they came back with the same toast re-toasted, so now it's burnt and the same cold butter. Otherwise, a great experience overall! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,147 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#68 of 142 in Washington DC
3,101 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £161 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing