We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Very nice hotel in a great location. The McPhearson Square metro stop is about a block away. The White House is just around the corner. You can walk to the national mall in about 10 to 15 minutes, and we also walked to China town for dinner. We had a King room, and it was very large, and had big HD TV. Bathroom has a sparate shower and tub. Service was great, I had no complaints and would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkr1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,197)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,451 - 2,457 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed here from 2nd to 8th September. The staff were really helpful, nothing was too much trouble, the room was great, the food was excellent, the location was good for the metro, 5 mns walk from the White House and 20ish minutes walk to memorials and Smithsonian museums.
If you want to eat outside the hotel I'd thoroughly recomment the Old Ebbitt Grill just 5mns walk away - grate food, quick service and top value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabinbagonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We loved our stay here… initially, after checking in, we asked for a change in our room… the first having several questionable stains on the carpet floor, any concerns however were quickly gone after the attentive service and getting settled in. Although we had a small corner room, the suroundings were comfortable and cozy. We loved the bathroom… and since I wasn’t feeling too well during our stay, it was great having such an awesome bed to rest in. It was cold/rainy during our stay, so we particulary enjoyed sitting in the lobby/bar area and enjoying the complimentary coffee in the mornings.

I agree with the hotel’s #1 ranking for DC… it’s in a great location, close walking distance to the metro and also to the main monuments.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011Bruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I stayed at the Sofitel in Washington, DC for a few nights. The hotel was just plain wonderful. The staff was super-nice and always helpful, and the rooms were perfectly clean. The hotel has a distinctly European feel to it. You really will feel like you're in France, and forget that you're actually in Washington, DC. In the bathroom there is a bathrobe and a pair of slippers. Housekeeping even knocks on your door in the evening to give you a free bottle of water. The rooms themselves are well-insulated and very quiet. Even my room was sort of near the elevator, I rarely heard anything. And in the rare times that I did hear elevator sounds, it was very muffled and barely noticeable. Also, the location is very good. It's a short walking distance to the White House, and it's just a block or so away from the McPherson Metro station.

The only downside to this hotel, and it's a minor one, is that rooms do not come with a microwave (so unfortunately, no TV dinners for me). However, If you specially request it, the hotel staff will bring a refrigerator up to your room free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamsterama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Recently spent six nights here. Superb personal welcome on arrival with an extremely friendly and knowledgeable reception. We were upgraded to a suite which was spotlessly clean with great amenities and the most comfortable bed that we have had in a hotel. Free business centre with use of internet and printer which was very useful. Location great - handy for all the major museums and attractions. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliottFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We spent 2 nights with our young children (7 & 9) at Sofitel on the recommendations here, and were not disappointed. Beautiful, very clean, well-run hotel, centrally located and quiet. Comfortable beds, and surprise, a very good restaurant. We read all the reviews of restaurants in the area and they were all very mixed, so we decided to try the restaurant hotel. We had a nice table in the outdoor seating area, and ended up coming back for lunch the next day. Gracious service and solid meals both times.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We had a lovely time in this hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite and enjoyed the extra room. Room service was efficient. Beds comfy and bathrooms well appointed and clean. Parking is pricey but it is downtown Washington. One block walk to the White House which we toured. Trendy bar and very friendly and well trained staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,895 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £178 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing