We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #18 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, FL.
1 review
“Couldn't have picked a better hotel!”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Just came from celebrating New Years in DC! It was our first trip there visiting from Miami and we chose this hotel strictly from other positive experiences we've had following Trip Advisor recommendations. The service, location and amenities could not have been better.
As others have mentioned the hotel is a block from the White House and roughly 1.5 miles from the National Mall, all within walking distance. Both the hotel and our room were very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was wonderful and it was extremely quiet at night, which made it all the better. The room service both for housekeeping and dining were excellent. Make it a point to order food to the room or visit their restaurant as their food and presentation are among the best. As for the service, everyone from the doorman to the room service attendant were very polite. One of the managers in particular (Vincent) was extremely attentive and really made our vacation that much better. He exemplified why this Sofitel is so highly regarded. Thanks again to the hotel staff for making this trip so memorable, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bismarck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,125
    803
    154
    64
    21
See reviews for
676
1,304
187
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The location is great.
The hotel employees were gracious and welcoming. The concierges were very helpful.
A room service order of coffee came with unrequested croissants and mango juice.
The corner room was clean except for some very obvious carpet stains that should be cleaned.
The bed is very comfortable.
We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvice52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Great location, beautiful hotel, fantastic staff! Hard to beat location one block to White House. Great friendly staff. Clean roomy rooms. Awesome food. I cant think of a better place to see DC.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevadanorthclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I felt this hotel was an average hotel trying to be a four-star hotel. The doorman was a delight. The rest of the staff were quite stuffy.
We paid the extra for a deluxe, city-view room. Our room was on the 10th floor with two windows. One window showed the building across the street. The other window was not really in the room, it was in a little alcove that had no purpose other than the window. So you had to stand literally in a small corner to be able to view one block of the "city." I was very disappointed with our "city view."
Also, the room had a distinct, unpleasant odor that stayed the two nights we stayed.
The honors bar refrigerator was jammed full of items you could buy, but with no room to put anything of your own in. And you were told in advance that if anything was moved you would be charged for it.
The location is two blocks from the White House, but nothing else. Very isolated from restaurants or activities.
The bathroom was delightful, very elegant. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. And the room was very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candyp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I have stayed at the Washington Sofitel twice in the past two years and I would give it the highest recommendation. The rooms are luxurious and very clean. They are serviced twice daily. There is a large HD TV with a good variety of channels and a Bose clock radio. The separate shower is a pleasure. In the evening, bottles of Evian are provided. The location near the White House is very central. Everything is within walking distance including galleries, museums, the Mall, shopping, the arena and many restaurants including two of my favourites, Central and TenPenh.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finsth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We love this hotel for its excellent service, friendly, yet discrete, hospitality, great food and good location. We fantasize about our eggs Benedict and room service steak fritte on the trans-Atlantic flight to DC. All the staff from the receptionist, doorman and porter to the concierge go the extra mile for guests without being asked to. The rooms are stylish and tasteful and the bathrooms spacious and well appointed. There is no other hotel for us in DC, and this is one our very favorite hotels in the world. We have been coming here for years and the excellent experience has been consistent throughout.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTravelerCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I have wanted to stay in the Sofitel, Washington DC, for a long time, and finally did with a 2-night stay on December 11 & 12, 2009.

It has a convenient location location location as well as notable service service service. What more can you ask from a hotel?

Our room was 312, overlooking H Street and 15. Not a remarkable view, but good just the same. The windows are very tall, going almost to the floor, and wide, letting in good natural light. The bed was fantastic. Clean. Comfortable.

Wide too was the room itself, but not so deep. We kept bumping into each other as we went around the bed.

The bath was well-appointed, with separate tub and shower. Marbled. L'Occitane toiletries. Spacious. Inviting.

The room and bath were both spotless. I did notice that the door had caused some marking on the carpet, but that is insignificant to me.

The hanging space in the closet was surprisingly small. I didn't measure, but thinking back I would guess about 24 inches (61 cm). Sufficient for one person in the summer with no coats, but rather tight in winter with two guests and additional cold-weather garments.

The service is outstanding! I could name several names, but I will only mention two. Cristolf--at the front desk during check-in--and Chef Olivier. Christopf (sp?) was more than gracious. Amiable, inviting, inducing in us a sense of welcome to a very high-class hostelry. He's the kind of person you'd love to have as a friend.

We met the chef after mentioning how delicious our food was one night while dining in the bar. Our attendant, unbeknownst to us, went and brought the chef to our table. Olivier is also gracious as well as talented. We enjoyed meeting him and thought this was a good gesture on our server's part.

During the stay we encountered no problem. We met no sour employee. We were displeased in no way. The staff is top-notch and truly personable.

By the way, being greeted in French throughout the stay was an added, delightful treat for someone who did not progress past saying, "Welcome to my humble chapeau."

Value? Well, I will let you decide. Français hospitalité does not come cheaply.

Bottom Line: A completely enjoyable stay and I do plan to return. It's kind of nice having the Obama family sleeping just around the corner. Nice neighborhood. I wonder if their attendants were any better than mine? I doubt it!

Added Note 1: The bar was hopping Friday night with young attractive patrons. I don't know if this was due to some special holiday party or if such a beautiful crowd is typical on a weekly basis. Because of this one-time observation I am checking "Nightlight" in the trip description options.

Added Note 2: Why do expensive, up-scale hotels charge for internet connections? That question and the meaning of life continue to puzzle me.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,260 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,837 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,971 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing