We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place wants to please!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This place wants to please!”
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Every person we encountered was friendly & helpful. This was a much nicer place than we'd normally stay, but the cost of the room had been paritally paid for by a company we do business with (we were in DC for a bicycle lobbying event and one of our suppliers, Trek, was helping dealers with the cost).

The room was large, the bathroom nice (could have used a fan though), and the beds... at last. a hotel with beds and pillows so comfortable you can easily sleep. What a concept!

My daughter was thrilled by the fact that the staff spoke French if you'd like (she speaks French quite well, me quite dreadfully), but there was no issue speaking English. Or very, very bad French. :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chain_Reaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    791
    153
    63
    20
See reviews for
668
1,293
185
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We went down to DC for a wedding and selected the Sofitel because of its central location to the wedding venue and the White House (we were lucky enough to get a tour). The hotel itself is just lovely, quiet elegance, fabulous service. When we had a problem with our room safe (it was locked and it would let us put our code in) they immediately addressed the issue and upgraded us to another room. Complimentary coffee is available in the lounge in the morning. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have both separate showers and tubs. L'Occitane amenities are provided. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtwsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I enjoyed staying here with my family. Rooms are very comfortable, and the location is convenient for walking. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, AR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We chose Sofitel based on a friend's recommendation. It was wonderful. The staff was very attentive and professional. Since our return I have also recommended it to friends. The food was excellent ! The location is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Spacious room with beautiful appointments and great amenities. Walking distance to White House, fabulous spas, shopping, and gourmet restaurants. The staff are VERY attentive and helpful. I come back every year and would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattaypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

What a terrific hotel! Super nice staff who treated myself and my associate very well, and a beautiful room! I even took photos to send to my family. I was impressed with how quiet the heating/cooling was. I slept well, and liked the size of the room. Nice ipod dock and TV. Clean bathroom and shower.
Down sides were the VERY LOUD garbage truck that came on Tuesday morning at 4 a.m.... and continued until 5 a.m.! Also, they were doing some sort of upgrade to the television, and I had few channels on night that I was there. When I had a problem with my ipod dock, I called for service, and immediately a service man came up. It was fixed quickly, and right afterward, the desk called to check on me. That was nice. There was no coffee maker in the room, but the coffee in the bar downstairs was fresh and delightful.
After I got home Sofitel sent me a survey about my experiences. I mentioned the garbage truck. Imagine my surprise when the next day I received a personalized response saying that they would address the problem! Honestly, I don't know what they can do about it. I mean, they have to collect the garbage, right? But I thought it was really cool that they actually read what I wrote.
My associate wondered if we were the only people on the floor because it was so quiet. We were next to each other and never heard one another, despite playing music and TV rather loud. That was remarkable!
My associate had pet allergies, and that was a down side, since the hotel is pet-friendly. But luckily she didn't have any bad symptoms. They don't designate pet or non-pet rooms, apparently.
Overall, it was a very nice place, and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Washington D.C. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy our personalized service and comfortable luxury rooms. We appreciate all feedback and are very sorry you experienced noise from outside of the hotel. We do in fact allow small dogs cats but all rooms where a pet has stayed are specially deep cleaned afterwards in order to take care of our guests who may have pet allergies. I hope you are able to join us again soon and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel is a 1 block walk from the White House. It is new, clean, and perfectly located. We walked to all the major sight seeing spots - monuments, Smithsonian, and others. The front desk ( Kathleen ) was very nice and got us into a room early. The conceire helped me tremendously ( Cynthia ) when I needed to figure out if I should take a cab or rent a car for a day to see clients about 30 miles away. She found an Avis within a mile ( walking distance, again ) that worked best for me. She was patient and thourough in helping me. It was my first time staying at a Sofitel, but if all are like the DC hotel, I'm going to stay there more often.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drstox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing