We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit dated”
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #84 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed two nights, while the location is good, you will find the decor a bit dated, the elevators slow and the parking an add-on of $30.00 per day which was a surprise as they did not mention it at check-in. They serve a so-so breakfast but it is included with your room rate. I think you can do better for the money but its as I said it's ok. Georgetown though is assume.

Room Tip: I would stay on a lower floor as there is no view and you will not have to use the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyGeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Georgetown Suites two nights. We were in the Washington, DC area for a college visit and then did some sightseeing. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating and the rooms and general areas were very clean. This hotel came with continental breakfast which was also excellent. Overall, this was a great experience and we would stay there again. The location was good too as it is positioned on a canal and the Potomac is about two blocks straight down the street the hotel is on. At the end of the street the hotel is on, at the river, there is a restaurant that has patio seating and an outdoor bar, which we sat and had a drink right on the Potomac. If you do not have a problem walking you can actually walk to the Washington Mall area. We ate at a restaurant called the Sea Catch which was within walking distance and was right on the canal. Everything we all ate was excellent and would highly recommend eating there if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mightymuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Excellent choice for Washington DC. A bargain during certain weeks of the year, or with an arrival on Saturday. Surprised that a well balanced breakfast was included, with things like espresso and croissants. The one bedroom suite was truly like a small apartment. Right in Georgetown, and a 10 minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro with access to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and you took advantage of the variety our continental breakfast offered! We hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel is a good value for Georgetown, but a tiny lobby and an inadequate number of elevators make it feel somewhat claustrophobic and overcrowded. Entrance is in a courtyard off the street, so it is easy to off load the car or taxi. Our suite was large, but only had a single bath for such a large unit. It was clean and fairly comfortable. Good breakfast, and the usual tight, over-priced DC parking garage (self-park). That said, if you want to be in Georgetown, this is a good location. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby (and lots of tourists) and the staff (there weren't many) were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankeeTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed over labor day weekend. Average price $85.50 per night. Great location. Spacious suite and quiet - except AC was bit loud. Breakfast was fair. Staff was friendly and helpful. Stayed at 30th street property and would highly recommend for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

The timing for your trip to DC was great! You were able to take advantage of the special holiday weekend rates we offered. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is placed in a noble area in DC, next to the M Street, close enough to some pretty cool shops. You have apple store, urban outfitters, zara and other cool places around. And you are in walking distance to georgetown university, hospital and the foggy bottom metro station.

The hotel staff is very nice, being very regardful with us. The rooms are pretty neat and very spacefull. The breakfast, though, could be better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Márcio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Pro's: attentive front desk, Georgetown location, kitchen
Con's: housekeeping, dated interior, slow elevators, no outlets near the bed, escort needed to unlock the gym

The housekeeping issues were pretty basic issues. There was no toilet paper on check-in and they failed to replace the removed towels. Each time a trip to the front desk was met with prompt, friendly service. Even when I needed an extra blanket for my son, the front desk went to the sixth floor to find one.

If a kitchen is an absolute must and you need to walk into Georgetown then this hotel will meet your needs.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank HoustonBSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thanks for posting your comments. I apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered. There is no excuse for that, and we will investigatate what happened. I'm glad you found our front desk to be helpful, and enjoyed our location in the heart of Georgetown. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
58 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,537 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#94 of 142 in Washington DC
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
1,764 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
578 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £96 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing