We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #90 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Thankfully, this hotel was already booked, as we would not have found it being tucked away off the street if we were just looking. Good value for room although the parking is a bit steep, thanks to tripadvisor however we had a voucher for $15 off the parking which only made it $15 a night to park. Thank you tripadvisor. If you walk down the street you can get on the tour bus around Washington, which is a must if you wish to see everything. The reception staff were great and could not be more helpful, good business centre, good room, spacious and clean and good breakfast with a nice selection of foods including hot bacon, cheese and egg rolls. A very nice touch was the coffee machine in the lounge area serving unlimited coffee etc all day long. A very good hotel in an excellent location, would definately come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzannejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel location was great. Only a minute away from Georgetown's main street. The location was conveniently tucked away, so there was no excess noise pollution. Lincoln memorial park was not too far away, about 20 minutes by foot.

The room (suite) was well maintained, plenty of space and clean. Everything we needed was there. The internet connection was fast and reliable. The only downside was the ventilation noise during winter. It can get quite noisy. The main door too needs a quick fix because it does not shut quietly without slowly closing it.

The service level was expected. Fast, responsive and friendly.

The continental breakfast assortment was good. Enough variety for the day's start. However, some items could be left out or better quality products procured (the hard boiled eggs and mozzarella stick) because the quality was too synthetic. The availability of hot beverages all day was definitely a plus.

Overall, the hotel was consistent and quality very good. Would definitely recommend it and would be glad to come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heilouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We could not have found a more convenient location to end our bicycling trip from Pittsburgh to Washington, DC. After one carefully takes the C&O Towpath/trail to its near end (at the end of lock 2 just before lock 1) to 29th Street and turns right, the hotel in one block down on the right. There couldn't be a better location with the added plus of M Steet nearby with its shops and restaurants.
The suite was spacious and reasonably modernized with a small kitchen. We thought this was a pretty good choice. A thunderstorm struck just after our arrival and caused a water leak in the hall outside of our room and flooding of our bathroom floor. We mopped up the floor with our bath towels and notified the front desk. Someone promptly came up and suctioned the water and brought new towels. We thought that was very good service.
Then, we noticed the toilet was wobbly and loose and the air conditioner fan ran all night, but the bedroom did not cool down. The next morning, we informed the front desk and when we returned from touring, everything was fixed and we enjoyed the rest of the stay.
The evening before our departure, I noticed one of the diet Cokes I had placed in the refrigerator was icy. I immediately checked and turned down the control that had been turned to high. I noticed I was too late because two of the diet Cokes had exploded. C'est la vie!
We had a great vacation and enjoyed our stay anyway. With a little more training of their staff to proactively prevent the above experiences, I think the Georgetown Suites could easily be marketed to cyclists making the Pittsburgh to DC trek with one one modification. The bikes need to be allowed in the guests' suite. We have stayed at Hiltons and Westins and have always kept our bikes in our room. Biking is becoming increasing more popular. The bikes are expensive and easily stolen out of garages in large cities. Advertising this accommodation in the Greater Allegheny Passage/C&O Towpath Trail Book would be good for business! The hotel is a good value for the area.
Steven and Diana

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel is very well located just off Georgetown's main street. Buses are a short walk away and further 10 minutes or so will find the Foggy Bottom Metro station. The suites are big, bright, clean and have a full kitchen although they are probably overdue for a renovation. Breakfast is included and it's about chain-hotel average. Parking is available on site but costs a hefty $30 / day premium. The wireless internet worked well and the staff were friendly and helpful. Parking aside, the clincher for this hotel is excellent value for money considering the location and facilities.

Room Tip: Much more economical parking is available at other nearby garages - all within a short walk of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is not a elegant place to stay, but rather a really practical one. The rooms all have full kitchens, which make it possible to have breakfast as well as other simple meals in the hotel, rather than having to go out to restaurants all the time. In addition, the hotel offers breakfast (included) in a breakfast area by the lobby. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms clean and the amenities pleasant. My only complaint would be the dark, rather old-looking hallways. The hotel is also well located: just three blocks off M Street, the main street in the Georgetown, so you are in walking distance to many restaurants, shops and even the bus stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEK-PTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room here was fantastic. Very large, with a comfortable king size bed. The kitchen facility was a great help and the complementary breakfast was excellent! The staff were all very friendly and helped us out a number of times with finding our way to attractions. Would definitely stay again, just wish there was a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just left the Georgetown Suites after spending 4 nights there. Loved the roomy accommodation. We don't usually eat a big hot breakfast so the continental breakfast was well and truly adequate for us. The staff were very friendly and always available to answer all our queries. Transport was close by with buses running from the end of the street. We also caught trains to all the attractions and the short couple of blocks walk was easy. We ate at the Little Viet Gardens restaurant which is at the end of the street and the food was wonderful. Try some of their cocktails and at $7 they were well worth it. We also ate at Il Canale, a couple of streets away. We used the half price card which the hotel gave us and had a fabulous meal of pizza and pasta. Tip - get there early as there ended up being a queue. There are lots of restaurants nearby and the main street at night was a hive of activity. Go for walks off the main street (M street) and have a look at the interesting homes. A short walk to the water for a relaxing walk.
All in all a great place to stahy

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thanks for your sharing your positive reviews of Georgetown Suites! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was nice that you shared tips on nearby restaurants, also. There are so many nice ones to choose from in the area. We hope to have you back as our guest next time you are in DC!
Pam Welliver, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#120 of 141 in Washington DC
61 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,612 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
596 reviews
Dupont Circle
Georgetown Inn West End
Georgetown Inn West End
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
119 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £86 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing