We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some serious investment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #81 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Needs some serious investment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at the Georgetown Suites Harbour. The one with the tower corner. My room was a tower corner room. Right next to the freeway. Windows were old aluminum slider type - didn't keep any noise out. Woke up repeatedly during the night by noisy vehicles & equipment. A/C didn't keep room cool at all. Dingy hallways. The furniture is from the 1970's. Kitchen outdated & worn. Old formica countertop. Hardly any silverware or equipment. Only good thing was glassware. Bathroom was also outdated. Granite countertop added later, and made room cramped. Bathtub with sliding doors, right out of the 70's. Stain on sofa & worn out cushions.
Better options are available in the area.
If this hotel was revamped, it could be a great place. Only 2 1/2 blocks to the vibrant waterfront scene.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback. We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We are working on updating our property. We recently completed a total renovation and expansion of the lobby at our 30th Street location and plans are underway to complete the Harbour location in the upcoming year. We are in process of updating all of the kitchens including new flooring, cabinetry, appliances and granite counter tops and are about 70% complete. Older cultured marble bath counters are being replaced with granite and older shower doors are being replaced with heavy duty high-end units. We are in process of replacing old bed skirts with updated platform bed frames and changing out desk and table lighting. We are also excited to be working with a design team to assist with updating artwork, wall covering and color schemes in the guest rooms. We have also just completed installation of a new state of the art wireless internet system with 100mb upload and download speeds.

We do recognize the need to keep things fresh and updated, and I appreciate your feedback. Continuing this work is our top priority this year..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    417
    139
    48
    30
See reviews for
326
243
43
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel's main areas and rooms are hilariously 80s, from the faucet to the carpet to the absurd amount of wasted space. But I couldn't complain because for $300/night in Georgetown, I had a sitting area, fully equipped kitchen with huge table, and enormous king bed in a separate bedroom. It was all a great setup to catch up on sleep and get some work out of the way. I live in Georgetown but will return whenever insomnia strikes again. The only annoying thing is that there are two parts to the hotel - one on 30th and one on 29th - and they are not in any connected or synchronized. I went to the wrong one and had to trek to the other one for my room. I have stayed in both and they are the same in terms of quality and space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multipurposeone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for your comments. It's nice that you are able to escape without going far! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have two buildings that are a half block apart. The hotel confirmation shows the address of which building your reservation is in. I'm sorry for the confusion this caused. We are working on updating the decor of our guest rooms including new artwork, furniture and linens. We have plans to renovate the lobby of our Harbour Building later this year. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next bout of insomnia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family (wife and 4 year old girl) stayed at the 30th street Georgetown Suites for one night in May 2014. We were very happy with the stay overall and would be happy to stay there again if we had the need for a hotel in Georgetown.

The hotel is located between 30th and 29th street and is within walking distance of most things Georgetown. The location was perfect for our stay.

After nagivating the crazy confusing roads in DC, we arrived at the Suites at around 6pm. We didn't want to deal with parking and so our plan was to take advantage of the hotel reserved parking. Unfortunately, the directions on their website could be much more clear on how to take advantage of this (you should check in first to get the parking pass, then go find the parking garage). Once we figured the parking out, everything else was a breeze. The gentleman who checked us in upgraded us to a jacuzzi tub. He was very courteous and helpful and we couldn't have asked for better service.

The suite itself is fairly large (or at least larger than I expected). There's a living room, dining table, small kitchen, large bathroom (with previously mentioned jacuzzi tub and a large shower), a crazy large closet and a adequately sized bedroom. The only complaint we have about the room is the somewhat outdated and sparse decor. It didn't really bother us, but if you're looking for a modern or otherwise well decorated room this is lacking a little. Everything was comfortable and operational, so we were good to go.

The free breakfast was adequate. It had all the expected items.

We checked out early the next day in order to make a brunch reservation. Unfortunatley a few hour later we realized we had left our daughters favorite water bottle (one of those with her name on it) in the fridge. After returning to the hotel, they were nice enough to give us a new key card (even though it was after checkout) and we went up to get the bottle on our own.

Overall, I would definitely recommend Georgetown Suites. Just be aware of the parking situation (which honestly is not a big deal... if we had known ahead of time it would have been an non issue) and that the rooms are a little old feeling.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your detailed review. We appreciate your business, and look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

very nice room but outdated furniture...comfortable bed...very clean...great service! Especially Tina as soon as she found out it was our fifth anniversary she upgraded us. really nice experience, The hotel is in a great location and we hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco7724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for giving a specific mention to Tina. She is a long time employee and an asset to our front desk. We are making many updates to our suites including furnishings and artwork. We hope you will let us know what you think of the changes next time you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed several times in The hotel, and have been happy there earlier.

As we were four adult members of the famly, we decided to treat ourself with the two bedroom suite. It was expensive allmost 500 a night, but the occation called for it. I would NOT do that again. We had to go through the breakfast area and then through a back corridore to get in. The place was spacious and all right, but you expext a lot more for the price.

Dated lighting and furniture. Riling in the stairs were loose. Noice from the street. Entrance through the kitchen...I could go on.

We orderd a fruit basket, but they forgot. It came the next day after reminders from us. Two bananas and two apples from the breakfast area does not make a fruit basket for me. Yes they put som bisquets in, but we wanted fruit...

All in all: higher prices for lower quality.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elivth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We appreciate your comments. We recently renovated our lobby, and specifically built the hallway so the townhouse suites wouldn't enter directly in the middle of the lobby as before. We have plans to update the furnishings in our suites. We are in the process of replacing coffee tables, end tables and artwork in the rooms. I hope you will give us another try if looking for a spacious suite in a great DC location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was the only place in Georgetown where I could find a last minute room during the peak cherry blossom weekend. We came in for a visit to the university with our daughter and stayed in a huge 2 bedroom/2 bath suite complete with a full kitchen and DR/LR. One could say it was pricey (about $440 per night) but compared to a regular hotel room in the area I felt it was decent value for the spaciousness (it also included a sofa bed) and convenience (we walked to campus). Didn't need a car (and you don't want one in Georgetown!). It was clean, quiet, comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. I feared the "continental" breakfast would be the standard bagels and cereal, but there were egg/bacon/cheese biscuit sandwiches to heat in the microwave, as well as hard-boiled eggs and string cheese for those who crave protein in the morning. Chocolate croissants for those who choose to misbehave. Fruit and much more. I believe we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I'm so glad we could exceed your expectations for a last minute booking! It's great you enjoyed your stay in our spacious suite. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Highly alarmed to check into this hotel and find that they put me on a ground floor room on a city street. Not good for anyone but especially a single female. Front desk staff was nice but ineffectual and the manager refused to move me to a safer room on a higher floor. Yes, I realize things are busy, but in other cases like this something has always been worked out. (To be fair, they moved me from one from ground floor room to another, which ironically is right off the lobby and super noisy -- that'll teach me.) I would leave and find another place but everything is either sold out tonight or in a not good part of town. Have called two friends to see if I can crash at their place -- fingers crossed something works out. Been traveling for years and have never been treated so poorly. Check out the photo -- would you spend the night in this room? Wish me luck!

Room Tip: Based on the way I was treated, I would avoid this hotel. Other rooms might be nicer but they did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I'm so sorry that you were put in a room where you didn't feel safe. We want all our guests to feel safe and comfortable when they stay with us. It was a busy night for us, but we should have found you a room that could accommodate you comfortably. I apologize that we didn't provide you the excellent service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#117 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Property: Georgetown Suites
Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing