We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the friendliest hotels I've ever stayed at”
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #77 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is wonderful! We booked for one week and had a one bedroom suite. We were meeting our daughter, who is studying there, for a holiday. We stayed in the 30th Street suites and really loved it. It has a laid back attitude and any query or request, and we did have some odd ones, was met with friendly advice or solutions. The buffet breakfast was ample and supplied fresh fruit, pastries, toast, juices and microwaveable hot food. Coffee and tea are complimentary throughout the day. The coffee was delicious and welcome. Our suite was spacious and cleaned each day even when we left quite late, our daughter takes an age to get ready! It has great facilities. The laundry was very useful and reasonably priced. It also has a gym but we didn't use it. Georgetown is the prettiest of districts with loads of restaurants and a bustling harbour area bursting with bars. The circulator is a very short walk away for a one dollar ride into DC. Well done to everyone at Georgetown Suites for making our stay such a stress free and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: If you need a laundry it is on the fifth floor. There is also vending machines there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClareBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday in Georgetown. Thanks for the nice comments on our staff. We do pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff. We love it when our guests share their positive guest service comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Unobtrusive, serviced apartment type- Stayed here around 3X in last year. roomy with free WIFI. Breakfast spread is decent for the busines traveller and for families ready for a day around town- Trader Joe's and Georgetown a short walk for covenience. Overall no complaints

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kundiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your repeat business. We appreciate your comments. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you have business in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Georgetown Suites May 22, 2014 for 3 nights first of all the location is fantastic a block from M street where stores and restaurants are everywhere is also about 4 blocks to the left of the hotel to the Potomac River where they also have great restaurants.

The ladies at the front desk are amazing! super helpful and professional the continental breakfast had fresh croissants and pastries every morning they had fresh fruit as well as a fruit salad, as well as hard boiled eggs, cereal etc... a perfect morning start the breakfast area was clean and bright.

the room was a suite with a king size bed with great linens.....clean and soft, the maid service was very good plenty of toiletries from bath and body and nice white robes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcoppiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is about the 7th time I've stayed at the adjacent hotels located between 29th & 30 streets and K and M streets in posh Georgetown. The rooms are always comfortable with a queen bed room and queen sofa bed needed for my daughter.

The hotel offers an excellent breakfast (gratis) and cooking facilities in the room we get, Very well located by tons of great shopping and dining and an easy walk to Georgetown University or GW. Management is very cordial and super friendly. The rooms are made up promptly and are well heated or air conditioned, depending upon the season.

I've been coming here for 4 years now and always find the same consistent level of service. Oh, did I mention the on-sight parking garages?

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the bay building and it was super sunny with two views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for your repeat business. We appreciate your nice comments about our service. We are glad you enjoy staying with us, and look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at the Georgetown Suites Harbour. The one with the tower corner. My room was a tower corner room. Right next to the freeway. Windows were old aluminum slider type - didn't keep any noise out. Woke up repeatedly during the night by noisy vehicles & equipment. A/C didn't keep room cool at all. Dingy hallways. The furniture is from the 1970's. Kitchen outdated & worn. Old formica countertop. Hardly any silverware or equipment. Only good thing was glassware. Bathroom was also outdated. Granite countertop added later, and made room cramped. Bathtub with sliding doors, right out of the 70's. Stain on sofa & worn out cushions.
Better options are available in the area.
If this hotel was revamped, it could be a great place. Only 2 1/2 blocks to the vibrant waterfront scene.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeCodRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We are working on updating our property. We recently completed a total renovation and expansion of the lobby at our 30th Street location and plans are underway to complete the Harbour location in the upcoming year. We are in process of updating all of the kitchens including new flooring, cabinetry, appliances and granite counter tops and are about 70% complete. Older cultured marble bath counters are being replaced with granite and older shower doors are being replaced with heavy duty high-end units. We are in process of replacing old bed skirts with updated platform bed frames and changing out desk and table lighting. We are also excited to be working with a design team to assist with updating artwork, wall covering and color schemes in the guest rooms. We have also just completed installation of a new state of the art wireless internet system with 100mb upload and download speeds.

We do recognize the need to keep things fresh and updated, and I appreciate your feedback. Continuing this work is our top priority this year..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel's main areas and rooms are hilariously 80s, from the faucet to the carpet to the absurd amount of wasted space. But I couldn't complain because for $300/night in Georgetown, I had a sitting area, fully equipped kitchen with huge table, and enormous king bed in a separate bedroom. It was all a great setup to catch up on sleep and get some work out of the way. I live in Georgetown but will return whenever insomnia strikes again. The only annoying thing is that there are two parts to the hotel - one on 30th and one on 29th - and they are not in any connected or synchronized. I went to the wrong one and had to trek to the other one for my room. I have stayed in both and they are the same in terms of quality and space.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank multipurposeone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for your comments. It's nice that you are able to escape without going far! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have two buildings that are a half block apart. The hotel confirmation shows the address of which building your reservation is in. I'm sorry for the confusion this caused. We are working on updating the decor of our guest rooms including new artwork, furniture and linens. We have plans to renovate the lobby of our Harbour Building later this year. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next bout of insomnia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family (wife and 4 year old girl) stayed at the 30th street Georgetown Suites for one night in May 2014. We were very happy with the stay overall and would be happy to stay there again if we had the need for a hotel in Georgetown.

The hotel is located between 30th and 29th street and is within walking distance of most things Georgetown. The location was perfect for our stay.

After nagivating the crazy confusing roads in DC, we arrived at the Suites at around 6pm. We didn't want to deal with parking and so our plan was to take advantage of the hotel reserved parking. Unfortunately, the directions on their website could be much more clear on how to take advantage of this (you should check in first to get the parking pass, then go find the parking garage). Once we figured the parking out, everything else was a breeze. The gentleman who checked us in upgraded us to a jacuzzi tub. He was very courteous and helpful and we couldn't have asked for better service.

The suite itself is fairly large (or at least larger than I expected). There's a living room, dining table, small kitchen, large bathroom (with previously mentioned jacuzzi tub and a large shower), a crazy large closet and a adequately sized bedroom. The only complaint we have about the room is the somewhat outdated and sparse decor. It didn't really bother us, but if you're looking for a modern or otherwise well decorated room this is lacking a little. Everything was comfortable and operational, so we were good to go.

The free breakfast was adequate. It had all the expected items.

We checked out early the next day in order to make a brunch reservation. Unfortunatley a few hour later we realized we had left our daughters favorite water bottle (one of those with her name on it) in the fridge. After returning to the hotel, they were nice enough to give us a new key card (even though it was after checkout) and we went up to get the bottle on our own.

Overall, I would definitely recommend Georgetown Suites. Just be aware of the parking situation (which honestly is not a big deal... if we had known ahead of time it would have been an non issue) and that the rooms are a little old feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your detailed review. We appreciate your business, and look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#120 of 141 in Washington DC
61 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,614 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Washington DC Georgetown, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Dupont Circle
Georgetown Inn West End
Georgetown Inn West End
#79 of 141 in Washington DC
121 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £87 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing